Switch Theme:

Monolith Deep Strike Tank Shock  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gravmyr wrote:
If Deep Striking is movement as I think I have shown that the deployment is, is that not what is normal for a unit in DS Reserve?

Is DS the normal movement mode for any unit? No? Then no, it is not normal movement, even for a unit in DS reserve. It is very definitely ABnormal movement. If you disagree you are stating all units can make use of it, which is false.
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Gravmyr wrote:
If Deep Striking is movement as I think I have shown that the deployment is, is that not what is normal for a unit in DS Reserve?

Is DS the normal movement mode for any unit? No? Then no, it is not normal movement, even for a unit in DS reserve. It is very definitely ABnormal movement. If you disagree you are stating all units can make use of it, which is false.


This is a logical fallacy. Not all units can move 12" normally, however it is a normal movement for Jump units.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




JI can use JI movement through out the game. Can a DS unit use DS movement throughout the game?
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




I see nothing preventing that if it could somehow return to reserves. Why would the lack of (innate) ability to return to reserves preclude using DS again should it arrive there?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nothing - however it doesnt make it normal movement

Even if you think it is normal movement, given it cannot fulfil ANY of the required parts to TS it is unable to TS.
   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior




So, even though you couldn't make your point, I'm still wrong. Well argued.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You didnt manage an argument either. As nothing about your prior post has anything to do with defining normal movement.

And, no matter whether you think DS IS normal movement, you still cannot TS....so it is irrelevant anyway

Pointing out a pointless argument is not usually a waste of time, but if you want to keep arguing - go ahead.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

silentone2k wrote:
I see nothing preventing that if it could somehow return to reserves. Why would the lack of (innate) ability to return to reserves preclude using DS again should it arrive there?

DS is from reserves, to go into ongoing reserves and enter by DS requires specific premission a la the gate of infinity. Even then it is still not normal movement for that psyker.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/21 00:51:55


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Okay, 4 pages in and I've got a headache.

Tankshock replaces normal movement? right, so it replaces all movement restrictions with a new set, which basically boils down to point, move, hit. So if it replaces the 'normal movement' it would therefore overwrite the DS rules of place? So if you can't place......

Can someone please define how a piece enters play (as in the method of transport), because as someone pointed out, if I immobilise a TS unit, where does it stop? Droppod would hover in the air, Monolith, which teleports would be 1" on the other side of the teleport. Does anything dig? so thats 1" below the board. The reason I ask, because if it's not defined then you can't base RAW off of it, it's immediately RAI.

Cheers

Andrew


I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Essentially there is no way to claim DS is normal movement, no way to fulfil TS requirements EVEN IF you decide to claim it is normal movement, and that still doesnt alter that you dont get to "arrive" until after you mishap, meaning you haven tTS

its about the weakest possible argument - just a lot of handwving and hope
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: