Switch Theme:

Do you have to be in range to be able to shoot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Charistoph wrote:
Zelarias wrote:
I was wondering if you can hail mary throw grenades if they're short and pray for the best for the scatter dice?

Does this fall under the same thing of not having a target and thus being unable to use them? Technically speaking the scatter allows for a range extension of sorts if you get lucky with it

The target still needs to be in range to even place the Marker. The Marker is placed over a target Unit model in range and then Scatter is determined.


Could I say I was targeting the ground to make a crater for cover and then the scatter takes it over to the unit?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Charistoph wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

And if the shooting sequence stops before any shooting is done, what then?

Still waiting on a quote to support the position that a unit with no models shooting, is indeed shooting and satisfies "unit shoots".

And I am still waiting on a definition from you supported by the BRB for . . .

unit shoots

model shoots

This will be interesting because there is no BRB definition for either.

But unless you have terms settled you are in no position to say one definition is dependent on any other.

Already provided, but we're not the ones trying to proove a difference of definition, you are. Present the quote, or at least a proper reference.


Provided where and by what quote?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FlingitNow wrote:
col_impact wrote:
Charistoph wrote:

And if the shooting sequence stops before any shooting is done, what then?

Still waiting on a quote to support the position that a unit with no models shooting, is indeed shooting and satisfies "unit shoots".


And I am still waiting on a definition from you supported by the BRB for . . .

unit shoots

model shoots

This will be interesting because there is no BRB definition for either.

But unless you have terms settled you are in no position to say one definition is dependent on any other.


Cool so there is no BrB definition for either of those?

So we fall to normal English where shoot means fire shots, which we do have a BrB definition of for models and therefore we no further definition of that for units again we have to use normal English. Therefore a unit shoots by one or more of it's models firing shots, no weapons in range thus means no shooting for the unit. Thank you for conclusively proving that Col. Can we now give up on your temporal impossibility arguments and agree to just follow what the rules say?


This is a game so English terms don't apply. The models do not actually pull out guns and start shooting BBs at other models on the tabletop. For a game it is perfectly reasonable for a nomination that a unit is shooting to count for 'unit shoots'. Similarly, it is possible that a die roll is the determiner of whether a model shoots. The important thing is to start with game definitions of each. And if we lack definitions then we infer based on how the rules of the game function, but make no mistake we are not dealing with any BBs being fired on the tabletop.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/01/20 01:23:55


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

I think this has gone around in circles for quite long enough.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: