Switch Theme:

MSS and force weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
MSS to activate force weapons?
Yes, MSS activates force weapons
No, MSS does not activate force weapons

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

Happyjew wrote:
Xzerios wrote:
Assuming we meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule of the weapon, we may.


Last I checked, Necrons have no Psykers, ergo no Warp Charges. Therefore Necrons do not meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule.
And Grey Knight Vehicles, have no warp charge either, and cast their psychic powers just fine, apparently.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 NecronLord3 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
Xzerios wrote:
Assuming we meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule of the weapon, we may.


Last I checked, Necrons have no Psykers, ergo no Warp Charges. Therefore Necrons do not meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule.
And Grey Knight Vehicles, have no warp charge either, and cast their psychic powers just fine, apparently.


There are two ways of reading the psychic pilot rule as written in C:GK.

Method 1: (treated as being a psyker (mastery level X) and Leadership X) for the purposes of psychic tests and psychic hoods.
Method 2: treated as being a psyker (mastery level X) and (Leadership X for the purposes of psychic tests and psychic hoods).

By the second reading they are always psykers; but Leadership X only for the given situations. By the first reading, they are only psykers for the listed reasons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I side with the no force activation position.

MSS uses all the special abilities of a weapon, like a power axe or power fist. Doesn't say anything about psykers activating psychic powers, introducing perils of the warp and other stuff is far outside the scope of what MSS permits you to do.

Permissive rule set indeed and nothing is permitting using a psyker's powers in the MSS rule.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







And yet we have access to the Force Special Rule on the weapon. Do we not?
What does the rules for Force Weapons tell us to do?

Again, we have been given permission to any Special Rules on weapons only. Your weapons Special Rule tells us to use a charge. The MSS model can make the model/unit use a charge as once again, it was given permission by the Special Rule of the weapon. To say otherwise is to break the rules for MSS.

 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





Kevlar wrote:I side with the no force activation position.

MSS uses all the special abilities of a weapon, like a power axe or power fist. Doesn't say anything about psykers activating psychic powers, introducing perils of the warp and other stuff is far outside the scope of what MSS permits you to do.

Permissive rule set indeed and nothing is permitting using a psyker's powers in the MSS rule.

It's not a psychic power. Please, please, please stop referring to "Force" as a psychic power. It is a USR that is held by the weapon. The proof is that no psyker has access to this power without carrying a Force Weapon. Further proof is that it is listed in the weapon stats, and not the model stats.

Therefor, if it is a weapon ability, the MSS get to determine whether or not to use it. And that means, if there is a warp charge left to tap into, then the weapon can use the Force ability.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


There seems to be a mistaken idea floating around here about what Mindshackle Scarabs actually *do*. The victim (the model temporarily controlled by the MSS) is the one causing automatic hits on his own unit. Its just that these hits benefit from any abilities and penalties from his close combat weapons, which the controller of the Mindshackle Scarabs gets to choose which.

Now this has changed a bit from 5th to 6th edition, but the 'force' special rule is now very, very clearly a special rule that the WEAPON has. So again, the 'Force' special rule listed below is entirely a special rule provided by the weapon not a special rule generated from the model itself.

So again, here is the full text for the 'FORCE' weapon special rule:

FORCE
If a psyker inflicts one or more unsaved Wounds with a Force weapon, he can immediately choose to activate it by expending a Warp Charge point and taking a Psychic test (see page 67). IF the test is failed, or the bearer has no Warp Charge points to spend, then there is no additional effect.

If the test is passed, all unsaved Wounds inflicted by the Force Weapon that turn have the Instant Death special rule (see page 38). Deny the Witch rolls cannot be taken against Force weapons.

Force weapons have no additional effect against vehicles or model that do not have a Wounds characteristic.



So given that the above is an ability of the weapon the Mindshackle controller can absolutely choose to utilize that ability. By choosing to utilize the ability, the psyker must expend a Warp Charge (if he has one) and take a psychic test in order to activate the ability that the Mindshackle player has chosen to utilize.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

 yakface wrote:

There seems to be a mistaken idea floating around here about what Mindshackle Scarabs actually *do*. The victim (the model temporarily controlled by the MSS) is the one causing automatic hits on his own unit. Its just that these hits benefit from any abilities and penalties from his close combat weapons, which the controller of the Mindshackle Scarabs gets to choose which.

Now this has changed a bit from 5th to 6th edition, but the 'force' special rule is now very, very clearly a special rule that the WEAPON has. So again, the 'Force' special rule listed below is entirely a special rule provided by the weapon not a special rule generated from the model itself.

So again, here is the full text for the 'FORCE' weapon special rule:

FORCE
If a psyker inflicts one or more unsaved Wounds with a Force weapon, he can immediately choose to activate it by expending a Warp Charge point and taking a Psychic test (see page 67). IF the test is failed, or the bearer has no Warp Charge points to spend, then there is no additional effect.

If the test is passed, all unsaved Wounds inflicted by the Force Weapon that turn have the Instant Death special rule (see page 38). Deny the Witch rolls cannot be taken against Force weapons.

Force weapons have no additional effect against vehicles or model that do not have a Wounds characteristic.



So given that the above is an ability of the weapon the Mindshackle controller can absolutely choose to utilize that ability. By choosing to utilize the ability, the psyker must expend a Warp Charge (if he has one) and take a psychic test in order to activate the ability that the Mindshackle player has chosen to utilize.



Weapon doesn't have warp charge or leadership, that's model special rules. Weapon lets you use warp charges in combat, but it isn't the weapon that's causing the ID, its the model. Its not that I don't understand the rule or its changes in 6e, its that I really do disagree with your interpretation of where the model is separate from its weapon.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Lobukia wrote:

Weapon doesn't have warp charge or leadership, that's model special rules. Weapon lets you use warp charges in combat, but it isn't the weapon that's causing the ID, its the model. Its not that I don't understand the rule or its changes in 6e, its that I really do disagree with your interpretation of where the model is separate from its weapon.


But again, if a weapon's ability say, did a wound to its bearer in return for making it AP1 or something like that, would we still be having this conversation?

We all agree that it is the MODEL that has the warp charge and must take the psychic test, but the point is that the Mindshackle player gets to choose which abilities of the weapon to use and the force ability is an ability of the weapon. However choosing to use that ability means that the bearer has to expend the warp charge and take a psychic test in order to make that ability function.

Because basically what you're saying is that if a weapon ability has any preconditions at all in order to make that ability function, then suddenly that ability is no longer something that can be accessed by Mindshackle Scarabs despite what the MSS rules actually say.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal







By your logic then, your model with the weapon could never activate its Force Special Rule on the account that the weapon calls for model to expend a charge which is impossible because with your version of the Permissive Rule set, the weapon isnt given permission to do so.


So, which is it? Permission granted, or permission denied?

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Weapons don't have an inherent STR. So I guess since that's model based they're low/zero STR hits.

It's the weapon causing ID. In 5th it was iffy but I sided with the no-ID crowd. In 6th the ID is clearly a weapon ability and therefore can be used during MSS.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Happyjew wrote:
Just out of curiosity, who inflicts the wounds, the model with the Force weapon, or the model with MSS?

If it's the MSS model, then you cannot utilise the Force rule, as you are not a psyker. If it's the psyker, her [the psyker] gets to choose whether or not to activate.


Per the MSS rule it is the affected model that is inflicting the wounds. It is the MSS model that is choosing what, if any, abilities of the weapon that the affected model must use.

-Yad


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:
Xzerios wrote:
Assuming we meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule of the weapon, we may.


Last I checked, Necrons have no Psykers, ergo no Warp Charges. Therefore Necrons do not meet the prerequisites to activate the Force rule.


This strikes me as a misrepresentation of how MSS actually works on the affected model. MSS forces the affected model to strike his own unit. In addition it gives the 'cron player permission to invoke any ability that the weapon may have on behalf of the affected model.

-Yad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/21 13:17:10


 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Mandragora, Eastern Fringe

The core issue is where in permission begins and ends.

- The Overlord uses MSS on a Librarian, etc.
- Librarian, etc. fails MSS and strikes himself 2 times in a challenge.
- Fails his 4+ Inv
- Since all unsaved wounds would then trigger the USR of the weapon, the Librarian has to take a psychic test to determine if he dies or not.

You either get the whole rule or you don't get it at all. Why would you only get half of a rule?

Sautekh Dynasty 5000 pts
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Great Deceiver wrote:
The core issue is where in permission begins and ends.

- The Overlord uses MSS on a Librarian, etc.
- Librarian, etc. fails MSS and strikes himself 2 times in a challenge.
- Fails his 4+ Inv
- Since all unsaved wounds would then trigger the USR of the weapon, the Librarian has to take a psychic test to determine if he dies or not.

You either get the whole rule or you don't get it at all. Why would you only get half of a rule?

It's question of how two, separate rules interact.
For example, lets say I have Ordo Malleus Inquisitor with Nemesis Daemon Hammer that has not been upgraded to a Psyker.
Now, NDH still retains its "Force" USR and Inquisitor can "benefit from any bilities and penalties" NDH gives him. Problem is, because he cannot expend Warp Charges, he can't actually "activate" the Force weapon, even though he has the USR.

Argument for disallowing MSS to activate Force Weapon is basically same why Inquisitor can't activate his Force weapon: MSS does not allow Necron player to expend Warp Charges from the affected model and therefore, the Force Weapon can not be activated. Note that RAW this does mean that the hits still benefit from Force USR.
Personally, I'm not 100% sure which way it should be ruled, RAW or RAI.

(Now in 5e, it was clear cut thing: RAW you couldn't use MSS to activate Force Weapons, though some Necron players tried to argue otherwise to boost their army)
Edit: To be fair, as Rigeld pointed out, if one hadn't read Force Weapons rules in 5e diligently, one could have easily come to conclusion that MSS would have allowed Force Weapon activation in 5e and so me attributing malice to that interpretation was unfair.
Obviously if Necron player knew about the 'controversy' about it, then it's completely different thing.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/21 16:41:51


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Luide wrote:
For example, lets say I have Ordo Malleus Inquisitor with Nemesis Daemon Hammer that has not been upgraded to a Psyker.
Now, NDH still retains its "Force" USR and Inquisitor can "benefit from any bilities and penalties" NDH gives him. Problem is, because he cannot expend Warp Charges, he can't actually "activate" the Force weapon, even though he has the USR.

Correct. "Force" allows you to expend a Warp Charge and make the test, but since there's no charge to expend it can't be done.

Argument for disallowing MSS to activate Force Weapon is basically same: MSS does not allow Necron player to expend Warp Charges from the affected model and therefore, the Force Weapon can not be activated. Note that RAW this does mean that the hits still benefit from Force USR.

The Necron player isn't choosing to spend a Warp Charge therefore activating Force - he's choosing to activate Force which expends a Charge and forces the test.

(Now in 5e, it was clear cut thing: RAW you couldn't use MSS to activate Force Weapons, though some Necron players tried to argue otherwise to boost their army)

Please don't try to assign malice or greed where there's no basis for it. I try not to assign bias to either side of an argument unless it's obvious. Some people genuinely read the rules that way.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Luide wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Argument for disallowing MSS to activate Force Weapon is basically same: MSS does not allow Necron player to expend Warp Charges from the affected model and therefore, the Force Weapon can not be activated. Note that RAW this does mean that the hits still benefit from Force USR.

The Necron player isn't choosing to spend a Warp Charge therefore activating Force - he's choosing to activate Force which expends a Charge and forces the test.

Yeah, like I said, it's not what I'd call "clear cut" argument. I'm falling more to the "MSS allows activating Force Weapons" camp more and more.

rigeld2 wrote:

Please don't try to assign malice or greed where there's no basis for it. I try not to assign bias to either side of an argument unless it's obvious. Some people genuinely read the rules that way.

You're of course correct in this. I've edited my original message to reflect this.
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





This basically comes down to a paradigm- does the psycker 'push' a warp charge into the weapon, or does the weapon 'pull' a warp charge from the psyker.

I say the latter, and the reasoning has been simply laid out by Yakface, plain as day: the reason the warp charge is being used is because the USR, owned by the weapon, requires it. That means it is the weapon that is the originator of the need to use the warp charge, therefore the weapon is 'pulling' the warp charge from the psyker (where there is a charge to be pulled). Because the weapon is under the control of the MSS, then the Necron player makes this decision.
   
Made in us
PanOceaniac Hacking Specialist Sergeant




Great Falls MT

 DeathReaper wrote:
thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


"If a Psyker inflicts one or more unsaved Wounds with a Force weapon, he can immediately choose to activate it by expending a Warp Charge" P. 37

He = Psyker, the Psyker can immediately choose to activate the force ability, so he would never choose to when MSS is affecting him.



I do believe that a MSS'd psyker wouldnt choose to stab himself either, its why hes... mind... shackled...by a scarab

However, I do agree that the weapon has no quality to actually cause ID, unless the psyker has a warp charge to expend. If the psyker DOES indeed have one available, then my ruling is the MSS can cause the psyker to empower the weapon.

Fluff is not rules.

Being "mind... shackled...by a scarab" only produces the effects the rules say it produces and nothing more. this is because this is a permissive ruleset.

The MSS have no ability to expend a warp charge. The Psyker does have the ability, but even if he has been effected by the MSS he still can choose to not use the warp charge.

Does it say he can use a warp charge instead of a Psyker? If not then he can not, it is as simple as that.





I know, that was my point XD But anyways, am I misunderstanding the brotherhood of psyker/sorcerers rule in the BRB? I thought the unit collectively was a ML 1 psyker

When your wife suggests roleplay as a result of your table top gaming... life just seems right

I took my wife thru the BRB for fantasy and 40k, the first thing she said was "AWESOME"... codex: Chaos Daemons Nurgle..... to all those who says God aint real....  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Parma, OH

If the Psyker is being under the control of the MSS, and is able to use any abilities of the weapon, which Force is, The Necron player can expend a warp charge if there is one available to be used.

The Psyker is not under the control of his normal owner, The Necron Player at that stage is the owner. Otherwise they wouldn't include "If he is still alive, the victim returns to the owning player's control once all blows in that round of combat have been struck"

   
Made in us
PanOceaniac Hacking Specialist Sergeant




Great Falls MT

thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:


"If a Psyker inflicts one or more unsaved Wounds with a Force weapon, he can immediately choose to activate it by expending a Warp Charge" P. 37

He = Psyker, the Psyker can immediately choose to activate the force ability, so he would never choose to when MSS is affecting him.



I do believe that a MSS'd psyker wouldnt choose to stab himself either, its why hes... mind... shackled...by a scarab

However, I do agree that the weapon has no quality to actually cause ID, unless the psyker has a warp charge to expend. If the psyker DOES indeed have one available, then my ruling is the MSS can cause the psyker to empower the weapon.

Fluff is not rules.

Being "mind... shackled...by a scarab" only produces the effects the rules say it produces and nothing more. this is because this is a permissive ruleset.

The MSS have no ability to expend a warp charge. The Psyker does have the ability, but even if he has been effected by the MSS he still can choose to not use the warp charge.

Does it say he can use a warp charge instead of a Psyker? If not then he can not, it is as simple as that.





I know, that was my point XD But anyways, am I misunderstanding the brotherhood of psyker/sorcerers rule in the BRB? I thought the unit collectively was a ML 1 psyker[

When your wife suggests roleplay as a result of your table top gaming... life just seems right

I took my wife thru the BRB for fantasy and 40k, the first thing she said was "AWESOME"... codex: Chaos Daemons Nurgle..... to all those who says God aint real....  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
"If a Psyker inflicts one or more unsaved Wounds with a Force weapon, he can immediately choose to activate it by expending a Warp Charge" P. 37


He = Psyker, the Psyker can immediately choose to activate the force ability, so he would never choose to when MSS is affecting him.


I do believe that a MSS'd psyker wouldnt choose to stab himself either, its why hes... mind... shackled...by a scarab

However, I do agree that the weapon has no quality to actually cause ID, unless the psyker has a warp charge to expend. If the psyker DOES indeed have one available, then my ruling is the MSS can cause the psyker to empower the weapon.


Fluff is not rules.

Being "mind... shackled...by a scarab" only produces the effects the rules say it produces and nothing more. this is because this is a permissive ruleset.


The effect being that the 'cron player can choose to use any ability of the CC weapons carried by the affected model (paraphrasing a bit here but I think we can agree on that ) Yes?

thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
The MSS have no ability to expend a warp charge. The Psyker does have the ability, but even if he has been effected by the MSS he still can choose to not use the warp charge.


I agree with you that the MSS rule does not allow the 'cron player to expend a warp charge that the affected model may have. But you're wrong if you think that that is what MSS is doing when it affects a psyker bearing a weapon with the Force USR. All MSS does (in this scenario) is allow the 'cron player to have the affected model use the Force ability of the weapon. Once you can accept that, you ought to be able to see that the only way the affected model can use the Force ability of the weapon is to expend a charge and take a psychic test.

thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:
Does it say he can use a warp charge instead of a Psyker? If not then he can not, it is as simple as that.


It's not that the MSS is making the affected psyker expend a charge and take a psychic test, it's the Force ability of the weapon that is making the psyker expend a charge and take a psychic test. There is no 'choice' for the psyker to make. The Force USR requires the expenditure of a charge and a successful psychic test in order to activate it.

-Yad



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/22 13:37:13


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Parma, OH

Yad what makes you think the Necron player can't expend the force charge?

Looking at the rules, as it states the Necron Player is in control of the Psyker, how can they not have the ability to use the Force Charge if one is available?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Thimn wrote:
Yad what makes you think the Necron player can't expend the force charge?

Looking at the rules, as it states the Necron Player is in control of the Psyker, how can they not have the ability to use the Force Charge if one is available?


Because they're in control of the model only in very, very specific ways (those listed). So the controlling Necron player can't make the controlled model do anything that isn't explicitly granted by the rules.

However, choosing which weapon abilities to use is one of those choices and choosing to use the 'Force' weapon special rule does mean the psyker has to expend a warp charge and take a psychic test in order to utilize this special rule at the Necron player's command.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Thimn wrote:
Yad what makes you think the Necron player can't expend the force charge?

Looking at the rules, as it states the Necron Player is in control of the Psyker, how can they not have the ability to use the Force Charge if one is available?


Because all the Necron player is doing in this scenario is invoking the Force ability of the weapon. It's the Force rule that then requires the psyker to expend a charge and take a psychic test. It may seem like splitting hairs, but this is my answer to the folks who are claiming that the reason they are saying no in the poll is because they think MSS can't directly force the psyker to expend a charge.

-Yad

edit: ninja'd by Yakface

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/22 13:38:37


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Parma, OH

Because they're in control of the model only in very, very specific ways (those listed). So the controlling Necron player can't make the controlled model do anything that isn't explicitly granted by the rules.

However, choosing which weapon abilities to use is one of those choices and choosing to use the 'Force' weapon special rule does mean the psyker has to expend a warp charge and take a psychic test in order to utilize this special rule at the Necron player's command.


Ahh I see what you mean.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/22 13:37:29


 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




A player gets to choose to activate an ability or not. The loss of a warp charge and the leadership test are the obligatory actions after an ability is activated.

In the case of MSS the force ability of the weapon is activated like any other weapon ability. The player has to make the obligatory actions. He has no choice on this. But as some have said before me, just expend the warp charge on another ability.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

thakabalpuphorsefishguy wrote:

Fluff is not rules.


Try not misquoting me please.

Thanks

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut





I can't believe how either stupid, or stubborn, some people are, refusing to read anything they don't want to be the case.

MSS gives you PERMISSION to use the abilities of the weapon in question.
FORCE is an ABILITY of the force weapon.
FORCE tells you to expend a warp charge.
MSS gives you PERMISSION to use FORCE>to expend a warp charge.

I really don't see how you can just shut your eyes, and shake your head saying 'nopermissionnopermissionnopermissionnopermission'
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





JBrehaut wrote:I can't believe how either stupid, or stubborn, some people are, refusing to read anything they don't want to be the case.

MSS gives you PERMISSION to use the abilities of the weapon in question.
FORCE is an ABILITY of the force weapon.
FORCE tells you to expend a warp charge.
MSS gives you PERMISSION to use FORCE>to expend a warp charge.

I really don't see how you can just shut your eyes, and shake your head saying 'nopermissionnopermissionnopermissionnopermission'

Because many people are still in the 5th Ed. mindset, where the rules really could be interpreted either way, as "Force" was not a USR of the weapon.

However, in 6th Ed., ther eis absolutely no doubt. You've laid it out exactly right.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 azazel the cat wrote:
JBrehaut wrote:I can't believe how either stupid, or stubborn, some people are, refusing to read anything they don't want to be the case.

MSS gives you PERMISSION to use the abilities of the weapon in question.
FORCE is an ABILITY of the force weapon.
FORCE tells you to expend a warp charge.
MSS gives you PERMISSION to use FORCE>to expend a warp charge.

I really don't see how you can just shut your eyes, and shake your head saying 'nopermissionnopermissionnopermissionnopermission'

Because many people are still in the 5th Ed. mindset, where the rules really could be interpreted either way, as "Force" was not a USR of the weapon.

However, in 6th Ed., ther eis absolutely no doubt. You've laid it out exactly right.


Right you have permission to use Force. I wound a model with my Force Weapon. You decide to invoke the Force USR. You are then required to usea Warp Charge and take a Psychic Test. You do not have any Warp Charges. You cannot activate the Force property. If GW changes this that's all well and good, seeing as how I don't have any Force Weapons, nor do I play against any Necrons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Read the Force rule again. It uses the warp charge of the psyker that bears the force weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/23 10:14:38


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: