Switch Theme:

Farseers and Fortresses  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





Alright, so I was looking at this and it got me curious.

With a farseer casting, say guide, from inside a fortress of redemption at a friendly near by unit. Would you measure from the model, as though he was on the table top, or would you treat the fortress of redemption as a transport, and measure the range from the "hull" like normal? If you do measure from the hull, which part of the fortress would you measure from? His segment, or the whole building?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The building he is in.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WHere is the allowance for that?

There is allowance under "embarking" to measure from the hull of the vehicle, but i havent yet found something similar for buildings (entirely possible ive missed it!)
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





nosferatu1001 wrote:
WHere is the allowance for that?

There is allowance under "embarking" to measure from the hull of the vehicle, but i havent yet found something similar for buildings (entirely possible ive missed it!)


That was a question I also had. I found no allowance for it, other than that in all respects it acts like a transport (transport capacity, AV values, firing points, access points etc).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It isnt there otherewise multiple part buildings wouldnt work - you would be within 1"
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Well, where else are you going to measure from? A firepoint?

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"

Perhaps you just arent allowed to use those powers?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

It would measure from the building as it's treated as a vehicle for transport sake.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 BlueDagger wrote:
It would measure from the building as it's treated as a vehicle for transport sake.


Again, please find arules quote for that. It is treated as a vehicle for some respects, but is NOT a transport vehicle.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

nosferatu1001 wrote:
In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"

Perhaps you just arent allowed to use those powers?


Except multi-part buildings are treated as seperate buildings, except adjoining building's occupants can assault each other.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




which does absolutely nothing for the effect I mentioned

You have 2 buildings as a multipart building. They are butted up against each other

Player As unit gets into building part A, then on the following turn Player B tries to put a unit into building part B. You are not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy unit, unless you are assaulting

If you take it that, despite no rules existing to state this, that you measure to a unit in a building by measuring from the "hull", player Bs unit CANNOT get into the building - the instant they embark they occupy the hull, by the same rule, and WILL be within 1" of the enemy

If you state that, as you have no permission to measure to a unit within a building you cannot do so, you CAN embark player Bs models.

See the issue now?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Page 92 has the rules covering that Nos.

Its too much to just quote here but measuring would be as a transport vehicle. 2nd paragraph.

Permission to enter adjacent sections is in the multiple part section.

OP.. Also note the Farseer is counted as embarked on a transport for your question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/02 02:09:31


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Fragile wrote:

OP.. Also note the Farseer is counted as embarked on a transport for your question.


Which pretty much means that he cannot cast non-shooting powers out, doesn't it?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.

Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Fragile wrote:
Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.

Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.


Fortune, Doom and Guide from Codex: Eldar specifically state that you don't need line of sight to cast them.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:
In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"


Honestly, your objection here, while very creative, is not to the specific question being asked, but rather to something else entirely. While I think your question is worth asking (and answering with "the rules exist so therefore it is possible"), I don't think it in any way can be taken to retroactively change the rules for embarking into buildings - which is very much an embarkation and therefore those rules do apply.

Although, I have to ask why it's never come up before, independently. Can you embark on a transport that's within 1" of an enemy?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Iranna wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.

Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.


Fortune, Doom and Guide from Codex: Eldar specifically state that you don't need line of sight to cast them.

Iranna.


Which still does not grant them permission to be cast from a transport.

Edit: it's not a question of LOS, but rather permissions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/02 18:55:02


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually the restriction on casting psychic powers while embarked, is if you require LOS you can only target the psyker, his unit, or the transport. If you do not require LOS you can target any unit within range.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Hmmm, that does seem to imply permission. Course, the itchfire rules seem to imply denial of permission.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Page 67 tells us that you must have LOS to the target (unless otherwise stated) and you cannot draw a LOS from a vehicle. Witchfire powers have an exception to that rule. If a power does not require LOS then you can target a unit outside of the vehicle.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Happyjew wrote:
Page 67 tells us that you must have LOS to the target (unless otherwise stated) and you cannot draw a LOS from a vehicle. Witchfire powers have an exception to that rule. If a power does not require LOS then you can target a unit outside of the vehicle.


Unfortunately, it doesn't quite come out and say that, tho, does it? It implies that non-LOS powers can be cast out of a transport. It implies that non-Witchfire powers can NOT be cast out of a transport. Which one should we believe?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have LOS to his target (emphasis BRB). This means he cannot target a unit outside of the transport (summed up).

Witchfire specifies that the Psyker must be able to see the target (a reminder for the bolded part above). The Psyker is then given permission to draw a LOS for PSAs by using a Fire Point.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Again, you're basing your answer on implications instead of a specific permission. Show me a statement that says a psyker can cast non-LOS powers out of a transport.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I have a Farseer with Guide.
Therefore I have 1 Warp Charge to spend due to Psyker (Mastery Level 1).
Therefore I have permission to cast Guide.
Therefore I have permission to choose a target within range (no LOS required).
There is no restrictions on any of these if embarked on a transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I agree with Happy. The rule says "Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker needs LOS.." then... "This means a Psker embarked...(restrictions)"

Eldar Psychic powers state that they do not require LOS, which then means you do not meet the requirements for the restrictions.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Drakhun





Eaton Rapids, MI

And.... this is why I have moved on to WM/H and just sold all my Eldar.

Back on Topic though.

I would say based on the codex you can cast doom, guide, and fortune out of the building or a transport.

Now with 100% more blog....

CLICK THE LINK to my painting blog... You know you wanna. Do it, Just do it, like right now.
http://fltmedicpaints.blogspot.com

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Happyjew wrote:
Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.


If its a PSA you can use it, if the vehicle has fire points
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Fragile wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.


If its a PSA you can use it, if the vehicle has fire points


Which Eldar vehicles do not have.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





But structures, which is the primary topic, do.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: