Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 04:31:25
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Alright, so I was looking at this and it got me curious.
With a farseer casting, say guide, from inside a fortress of redemption at a friendly near by unit. Would you measure from the model, as though he was on the table top, or would you treat the fortress of redemption as a transport, and measure the range from the "hull" like normal? If you do measure from the hull, which part of the fortress would you measure from? His segment, or the whole building?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 04:39:21
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The building he is in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 07:30:30
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
WHere is the allowance for that?
There is allowance under "embarking" to measure from the hull of the vehicle, but i havent yet found something similar for buildings (entirely possible ive missed it!)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 11:00:40
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:WHere is the allowance for that?
There is allowance under "embarking" to measure from the hull of the vehicle, but i havent yet found something similar for buildings (entirely possible ive missed it!)
That was a question I also had. I found no allowance for it, other than that in all respects it acts like a transport (transport capacity, AV values, firing points, access points etc).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 15:31:02
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It isnt there otherewise multiple part buildings wouldnt work - you would be within 1"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 16:01:24
Subject: Re:Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Well, where else are you going to measure from? A firepoint?
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 16:40:23
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"
Perhaps you just arent allowed to use those powers?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 16:43:21
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It would measure from the building as it's treated as a vehicle for transport sake.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 16:47:15
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
BlueDagger wrote:It would measure from the building as it's treated as a vehicle for transport sake.
Again, please find arules quote for that. It is treated as a vehicle for some respects, but is NOT a transport vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 17:33:28
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"
Perhaps you just arent allowed to use those powers?
Except multi-part buildings are treated as seperate buildings, except adjoining building's occupants can assault each other.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 22:04:15
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
which does absolutely nothing for the effect I mentioned
You have 2 buildings as a multipart building. They are butted up against each other
Player As unit gets into building part A, then on the following turn Player B tries to put a unit into building part B. You are not allowed to move within 1" of an enemy unit, unless you are assaulting
If you take it that, despite no rules existing to state this, that you measure to a unit in a building by measuring from the "hull", player Bs unit CANNOT get into the building - the instant they embark they occupy the hull, by the same rule, and WILL be within 1" of the enemy
If you state that, as you have no permission to measure to a unit within a building you cannot do so, you CAN embark player Bs models.
See the issue now?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 02:07:15
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Page 92 has the rules covering that Nos.
Its too much to just quote here but measuring would be as a transport vehicle. 2nd paragraph.
Permission to enter adjacent sections is in the multiple part section.
OP.. Also note the Farseer is counted as embarked on a transport for your question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/02 02:09:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 14:18:54
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Fragile wrote:
OP.. Also note the Farseer is counted as embarked on a transport for your question.
Which pretty much means that he cannot cast non-shooting powers out, doesn't it?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 16:05:19
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.
Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 18:22:23
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Fragile wrote:Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.
Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.
Fortune, Doom and Guide from Codex: Eldar specifically state that you don't need line of sight to cast them.
Iranna.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 18:40:56
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:In which case you cannot have an enemy and friendly unit embarked in the same multipart building, as you would be within 1"
Honestly, your objection here, while very creative, is not to the specific question being asked, but rather to something else entirely. While I think your question is worth asking (and answering with "the rules exist so therefore it is possible"), I don't think it in any way can be taken to retroactively change the rules for embarking into buildings - which is very much an embarkation and therefore those rules do apply.
Although, I have to ask why it's never come up before, independently. Can you embark on a transport that's within 1" of an enemy?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 18:53:34
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Iranna wrote:Fragile wrote:Pg 67. DECLARE TARGET
If the psychic power requires a target, you must nominate it at this point. Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have line of sight to his target. This means that a Psyker embarked on a Transport can only target himself, his vehicle or another unit embarked on the same vehicle as the Psyker, Similarly, a Psyker outside a Transport cannot target a unit embarked within one.
Correct, Witchfire can be used as normal though.
Fortune, Doom and Guide from Codex: Eldar specifically state that you don't need line of sight to cast them.
Iranna.
Which still does not grant them permission to be cast from a transport.
Edit: it's not a question of LOS, but rather permissions.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/02 18:55:02
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 20:53:26
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually the restriction on casting psychic powers while embarked, is if you require LOS you can only target the psyker, his unit, or the transport. If you do not require LOS you can target any unit within range.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 22:01:15
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Hmmm, that does seem to imply permission. Course, the itchfire rules seem to imply denial of permission.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 22:08:43
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Page 67 tells us that you must have LOS to the target (unless otherwise stated) and you cannot draw a LOS from a vehicle. Witchfire powers have an exception to that rule. If a power does not require LOS then you can target a unit outside of the vehicle.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 01:18:20
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Happyjew wrote:Page 67 tells us that you must have LOS to the target (unless otherwise stated) and you cannot draw a LOS from a vehicle. Witchfire powers have an exception to that rule. If a power does not require LOS then you can target a unit outside of the vehicle.
Unfortunately, it doesn't quite come out and say that, tho, does it? It implies that non- LOS powers can be cast out of a transport. It implies that non-Witchfire powers can NOT be cast out of a transport. Which one should we believe?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 01:24:23
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker must have LOS to his target (emphasis BRB). This means he cannot target a unit outside of the transport (summed up).
Witchfire specifies that the Psyker must be able to see the target (a reminder for the bolded part above). The Psyker is then given permission to draw a LOS for PSAs by using a Fire Point.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 01:55:59
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Again, you're basing your answer on implications instead of a specific permission. Show me a statement that says a psyker can cast non-LOS powers out of a transport.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 02:20:01
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I have a Farseer with Guide.
Therefore I have 1 Warp Charge to spend due to Psyker (Mastery Level 1).
Therefore I have permission to cast Guide.
Therefore I have permission to choose a target within range (no LOS required).
There is no restrictions on any of these if embarked on a transport.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 02:27:30
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I agree with Happy. The rule says "Unless otherwise stated, the Psyker needs LOS.." then... "This means a Psker embarked...(restrictions)"
Eldar Psychic powers state that they do not require LOS, which then means you do not meet the requirements for the restrictions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 02:29:24
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 02:37:00
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Drakhun
|
And.... this is why I have moved on to WM/H and just sold all my Eldar.
Back on Topic though.
I would say based on the codex you can cast doom, guide, and fortune out of the building or a transport.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 03:52:07
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.
If its a PSA you can use it, if the vehicle has fire points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 10:27:22
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Fragile wrote:Happyjew wrote:Actually Mind War states it requires LOS, but as a PSA you cannot use it in a transport anyway.
If its a PSA you can use it, if the vehicle has fire points
Which Eldar vehicles do not have.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/03 11:34:53
Subject: Farseers and Fortresses
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
But structures, which is the primary topic, do.
|
|
 |
 |
|