Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:44:24
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tau Disruption Pods now give SHROUDING.
That's a 3+ cover save (jink + shrouding) if the vehicle moves and the firer is more than 12" away and a 2+ cover save if the vehicle moved flat-out!
It's back to being the best 5 point vehicle upgrade in the game.
Hmmmm, mech tau seems really interesting now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:46:04
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
Here is a big one:
Q: Do you get to Pile In twice in Fight sub-phase if you fight at two
different Initiatives (i.e. a Techmarine with servo-harness)?
(p22/23)
A: No. You Pile In once, at your highest Initiative step.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:46:37
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
YOWZA Ghazgul makes slow and purposeful just relentless on the turn he wagghhss !!!!!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:48:45
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
pretre wrote:[
Btw, Pretre mentioned that they hadn't resolved the big question about power weapons. Since my group hasn't experienced any "big question" regarding power weapon (except boneswords, which are now FAQ'd), I was just wondering what he meant by that?
They did not say whether you can freely convert models with power weapons to any kind of power weapon. The lack of a ruling here is very telling as they further changed a number of units to have specific power weapons but left some alone and had some change to just power weapon. It seems clear (although it will still be debated) that you are free to model whatever you want.
Ah thanks. We always played it like that, had no idea it was a controversial ruling.
Any other big things this FAQ missed? Seems very comprehensive to me.
|
Saddened on behalf of all the Ultramarines, Salamanders and White Scars players who got their Codex rolled into Codex: Black Templars. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:50:41
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
reps0l wrote:In other words, if you can upgrade to a Power Weapon, you get to choose whether its a Sword, Axe, or Lance (as modeled) right? Sorry, I'm a simpleton and need things clearly spelled out.
That is my contention. That there is an allowance if you upgrade or have power weapon in your entry (and have not been faq'd to a specific type of power weapon like Banshees have), you can model any power weapon type legally.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:51:04
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Leth wrote:YOWZA Ghazgul makes slow and purposeful just relentless on the turn he wagghhss !!!!!
Don't see how that helps much. Means you can overwatch, and consolidate and sweeping advance.. but its not like Meganobz were going to catch anyone. You can run your meganobz on that turn... but if you're slogging meganobz, something's gone wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:52:04
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So it looks like they haven't covered the question regarding whether or not passengers placed from an exploding vehicle count as disembarking or not for the purposes of assaulting.
They really need to get that answered because RAW those models placed after an explosion CAN assault and it makes players NOT want to shoot at vehicles in certain cases because they know there's a chance if they explode the vehicle they'll free the squad up to be able to assault when it wouldn't be able to before.
Also, this questions is all screwed up:
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
I think they meant SWOOPING FMC's not GLIDING.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:53:22
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
yakface wrote:
So it looks like they haven't covered the question regarding whether or not passengers placed from an exploding vehicle count as disembarking or not for the purposes of assaulting.
They are not disembarked.
Page 426 – The Game Summary, Transport Vehicles and Their
Passengers, Explodes (Other Effects).
Change the entry to read “The unit takes a number of Strength
4 AP – hits equal to the number of models in the unit.
Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be
and must take a Pinning test.”
Automatically Appended Next Post: I actually mentioned that a couple pages back. It removes the argument that the summary overrules the rule section.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 15:53:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:53:56
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures.[...]
"Gliding" Flying Monstrous Creatures ?! ...
That doesn't make sense : I guess that's a typo mistake and they actually mean "Swooping" Flying Monstrous Creatures
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:55:02
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
I may have missed something, did they finally address boneswords?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:55:54
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
What needs addressing? I thought BS were perfectly clear. Automatically Appended Next Post: yakface wrote:
Also, this questions is all screwed up:
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
I think they meant SWOOPING FMC's not GLIDING.
E-mail the FAQ address. That should be an easy fix.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 15:56:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:56:37
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Yep anything that ignores saves in its description, continues to ignore all armor saves
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:57:09
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Yeah, they specifically did not FAQ all of those. Example: They faq'd a bunch of power weapons in Codex: Eldar but not mirror swords or power blades.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:57:39
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
|
Not sure if this is new now or not, but Smoke Launchers and Kustum Force Fields don't work against Impaler Cannons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:58:21
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
It is magenta, isn't it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 15:59:36
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
|
Hah, sorry, I meant from 5th to 6th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:00:07
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
pretre wrote: yakface wrote:
So it looks like they haven't covered the question regarding whether or not passengers placed from an exploding vehicle count as disembarking or not for the purposes of assaulting.
They are not disembarked.
Page 426 – The Game Summary, Transport Vehicles and Their
Passengers, Explodes (Other Effects).
Change the entry to read “The unit takes a number of Strength
4 AP – hits equal to the number of models in the unit.
Surviving passengers are placed where the vehicle used to be
and must take a Pinning test.”
Yeah, the point is this is the same question that has existed since 5th edition...we all know that you're not disembarking the models via the disembarking rules, but it seems really unlikely that GW would actually rule that these models don't count as having disembarked from the vehicle for the purposes of assaulting. Because like I said, if you don't rule that way it makes exploding vehicle a detriment, which makes no sense, as players will actually want to not shoot the vehicle to keep a unit locked inside it in some cases.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:01:38
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Oh yeah, sorry if I wasn't clear. I just meant that they closed that one loophole that was argued as to it being disembarking.
I'm not sure if they intended it to beneficial, but they just made it a bit closer to the raw that they didn't disembark, so can assault.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:01:51
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
|
"We didn't underestimate them but they were a lot better than we thought."
Sir Bobby Robson |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:02:50
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
I could have sworn I saw it ruled you couldn't assault out of an exploded vehicle unless it was an assault vehicle. I'll double check. Here: Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80) A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle. Ruled similarly on shooting: Q: If passengers disembark from a Transport that has suffered a Shaken or Stunned result, do they still suffer these effects in their next Shooting phase? (p80) A: Yes. I think intent is pretty clear here....But RAW is still that they could assault because of word choice.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:06:18
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:05:02
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
|
Broodlord still boned 1/3 of the time with rolling on the Biomancy chart. :(
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:06:21
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So am I right in understanding that tesla no longer arcs to flyers since only things that roll to hit work now?
It was really fun to shoot fateweaver and just arc to the entire rest of the army :/
|
5000 points (Blue rods are better than green!)
5000 points (Black Legion & Pre-heresy Sons of Horus) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:07:06
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
"When changes are made, the version number will be updated,
and any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in
Magenta." Automatically Appended Next Post: Hulksmash wrote:I could have sworn I saw it ruled you couldn't assault out of an exploded vehicle unless it was an assault vehicle. I'll double check.
Here:
Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy
turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle.
Ruled similarly on shooting:
Q: If passengers disembark from a Transport that has suffered a
Shaken or Stunned result, do they still suffer these effects in their
next Shooting phase? (p80)
A: Yes.
I think intent is pretty clear here....But RAW is still that they could assault because of word choice.
Yeah, they specifically ruled explode to not be a disembark with their errata, so it bones up RAW still.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:07:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:09:46
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Boosting Space Marine Biker
|
yakface wrote:
Tau Disruption Pods now give SHROUDING.
That's a 3+ cover save (jink + shrouding) if the vehicle moves and the firer is more than 12" away and a 2+ cover save if the vehicle moved flat-out!
It's back to being the best 5 point vehicle upgrade in the game.
Hmmmm, mech tau seems really interesting now.
I play Tau too, and this just seems way too good. Moving flat-out to block LOS to squads that have already fired is incredibly broken if the vehicle gets a 2+ cover save. Piranhas are also ridiculous now and very resilient.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 16:10:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:11:22
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc
Battle Barge Impossible Fortress
|
Rivet wrote:DE Incubi weapons are now AP2 as are Huskblades.
Didn't someone who interviewed Phil Kelly say that he said "Husk blade users will be very happy soon", when 6th came out and people complained?
That's my boy. Hope he does the CSM book justice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:12:39
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Tuebingen, Germany
|
Page 71 – Vehicles, Difficult and Dangerous Terrain.
Change the final sentence to “A vehicle that fails a Dangerous
Terrain test immediately suffers an Immobilised result from
the Vehicle Damage table, including losing one Hull Point”.
That´s new to me, loosing the hullpoint, too.
My poor Landraiders want Dozerblades. ^^
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:15:32
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So if they removed character from nobs does that mean they have no leader for los unless it's a special character or can we designate a nob to be the leader for purposes of los?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:16:38
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
You don't get a leader in a unit of nobz.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:20:31
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
UK
|
Leman Russ is now heavy?
GUNFIRE, HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 16:21:45
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Unless its a special character then. Well that stinks I figured they would fix that but I also figured they would let us choose a nob to be a "Sargent" type nob for the squad.
|
|
 |
 |
|