Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:33:42
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:So it's easier to assault from a Land Raider that's exploding than a Rhino that's exploding. I guess that makes sense***.
***Note: Does not actually make sense.
It makes perfect sense, clearly assault vehicles propel them out the front in the first place so when it explodes it does so much more potently.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:34:14
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Tau got target locks back:
Page 28 – Armoury, Target Lock.
Replace this entry with “A model with a target lock can shoot at
a different target to the rest of his unit.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:35:44
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
One wonders why they lost Target Locks in the first place...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:35:55
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Q: If a model with a lash whip is slain by enemy models not in base
contact and at a higher Initiative step, when do the enemy models that
were initially in base contact and affected by the lash whip (and
therefore reduced to Initiative 1) actually fight? (p83)
A: The effects of the whip coils/lash whips take place at the
beginning of the Fight sub-phase and last until the end of the
Assault phase, so the affected models would still fight at
Initiative step 1 that turn. Automatically Appended Next Post: H.B.M.C. wrote:One wonders why they lost Target Locks in the first place...
That's easy. FAQ error.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:36:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:36:11
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
Page 48 – Leman Russ Battle Tank, Lumbering Behemoth.
Replace this entry with the following: “A Leman Russ follows
the rules for Heavy Vehicles on page 83 of the Warhammer
40,000 rulebook.”
Alright, extra guns are now hilarious and worth it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:36:25
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Page 85 – Wolf Priest, Wargear.
Replace “Crozius arcanum (power weapon)” entry with
“Crozius arcanum (power maul).”
Solved that problem. Automatically Appended Next Post: Q: Does a character with Saga of the Hunter pass on his Outflank and
Stealth special rules to a unit he joins before deployment? (p64)
A: Yes. Automatically Appended Next Post: Ooh and this is fixed:
Q: Can I attempt to use a Rune Priest’s runic weapon, a Wolf Tail
Talisman and make a Deny the Witch roll to nullify an enemy psychic
power?
A: No. You can only make a single attempt to prevent an
enemy psychic power, so choose your method carefully.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:37:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:39:12
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Big boost for Nids actually....So much information to process:
Q: The rulebook says that you halve your Attacks characteristic if
you perform a Smash attack. However, if a Monstrous Creature has
an uneven number of Attacks, (3 for example), but has charged that
turn, does it receive the bonus Attack for charging before or after
halving its Attacks? (p42)
A: You halve the model’s Attacks characteristic first, then
apply any additional modifiers. In the example above, the
model would halve its Attacks first (rounding up to 2), then
receive a bonus Attack for charging.
So many attacks on a Warpspeed Crushing claw tervigon...
Q: Flyers are entitled to choose whether or not to use the Skyfire
special rule at the start of each Shooting phase. Can Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures also do this? (p49)
A: Yes.
Woot! I cans shoot down flyers!
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:39:24
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Wow, the Eldar one is just weird. Warlock squads are still Characters, Fuegan gets smash, some powers are usable on Overwatch while some arent despite being "always on", Banshee exarch with Axe doesn't actually have an Axe instead she's required to take and pay for an Executioner, RoW and RoW cancel each other out, Banshees now explicitly have a Power Sword so they really and truly aren't supposed to fight Terminators, Star Engines only boost 6" now for same cost
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:39:33
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
They passed on addressing power weapons though. Automatically Appended Next Post: Looks like they addressed specific PW exceptions but left the big one (DCA) alone.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:39:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:40:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
No more triple-layer psyker protection for allied Guard blobs!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:40:40
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Banshees have power swords now. Hope no one converted axes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:40:58
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Humorless Arbite
|
Well, LR sponsons are going to make a big comeback. Big as in plasma cannon big.
|
Voxed from Salamander 84-24020
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:41:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Page 31 – Incubi, Klaives.
Replace this entry with: “Klaives have the following profile:
Range S AP Type
Klaive - +1 2 Melee, Two-handed Automatically Appended Next Post: Ooh, Lady Malys got nerfed. She just can't be targeted now.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:41:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:43:22
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
"HEY! GREY KNIGHT PLAYERS! GO FETH YOURSELVES!" - GW
Q: Is a Nemesis force halberd treated as a force axe that grants the
wielder a +2 Initiative bonus (and who therefore fights at Initiative 3)?
(p54)
A: No. The Nemesis force halberd follows the rules for
Unusual Force Weapons, meaning that the wielder strikes at
their normal Initiative +2 and at AP 3
Its not like halberds were listed as Axes or anything before... OR WAIT! THEY WERE!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:45:39
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Commissars won't execute Rune Priests!
Page 32 – Commissars, Summary Execution.
Change the first sentence to read “If the Commissar has joined
a squad chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard and it fails a Morale
test, the Commissar will summarily execute the squad’s current
commander – this is the Imperial Guard model in the squad
with the highest Leadership value.”
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:45:54
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
Also, Glaive Encarmines now can be axes or swords and Dante has an axe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:46:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Happygrunt wrote:"HEY! GREY KNIGHT PLAYERS! GO FETH YOURSELVES!" - GW
Q: Is a Nemesis force halberd treated as a force axe that grants the
wielder a +2 Initiative bonus (and who therefore fights at Initiative 3)?
(p54)
A: No. The Nemesis force halberd follows the rules for
Unusual Force Weapons, meaning that the wielder strikes at
their normal Initiative +2 and at AP 3
Its not like halberds were listed as Axes or anything before... OR WAIT! THEY WERE!
Since 6th came out, the common consensus was that all NFW were Unusual Force Weapons except Daemonhammers. The FAQ now makes that explicit. Automatically Appended Next Post: Black Templar Typhoons are fixed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:47:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:47:52
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
pretre wrote: Happygrunt wrote:"HEY! GREY KNIGHT PLAYERS! GO FETH YOURSELVES!" - GW
Q: Is a Nemesis force halberd treated as a force axe that grants the
wielder a +2 Initiative bonus (and who therefore fights at Initiative 3)?
(p54)
A: No. The Nemesis force halberd follows the rules for
Unusual Force Weapons, meaning that the wielder strikes at
their normal Initiative +2 and at AP 3
Its not like halberds were listed as Axes or anything before... OR WAIT! THEY WERE!
Since 6th came out, the common consensus was that all NFW were Unusual Force Weapons except Daemonhammers. The FAQ now makes that explicit.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Black Templar Typhoons are fixed.
Let me simmer in my rage for a bit. I don't see the problem with making halberds axes. It didn't break anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:49:01
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Page 49 – Fateweaver, Oracle of Eternity.
Change the first sentence to read “Because of the incredible
prescience of the Oracle of Tzeentch, Fateweaver and all
friendly units chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons within 6" reroll
all failed Armour, Invulnerable and Cover saves.”
I think someone already posted this, but jsut to reemphasize! Automatically Appended Next Post: Happygrunt wrote:Let me simmer in my rage for a bit. I don't see the problem with making halberds axes. It didn't break anything.
Except for the rules. Automatically Appended Next Post: Daemon Weapon got upgraded. Automatically Appended Next Post: Q: There is no Dark Angels vehicles reference section at the back of the
rulebook. Does this mean I should use the Codex: Space Marines
vehicle reference section instead (meaning my Venerable Dreadnoughts
are now Weapon Skill and Ballistic Skill 5 for example)? (appendix)
A: Yes.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:51:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:52:39
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
I think this means that I'm sitting out 40K 6th entirely or at least until most of the codices are updated!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:53:45
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
I am only seeing the old ones -_-
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:53:53
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Ghaz isn't horrible now?
Page 58 – Ghazghkull Thraka, Prophet of the Waaagh!
Change the third paragraph to read “Furthermore, for the
duration of the Waaagh!, all friendly Ork Infantry units
automatically count as rolling a 6 if they Run, and models with
the Slow and Purposeful special rule exchange it for Relentless
instead. All non-fleeing friendly Ork units become Fearless for
the duration of the Waaagh!”.
Relentless means S&P can fire overwatch, I guess... Automatically Appended Next Post: Alpharius wrote:I think this means that I'm sitting out 40K 6th entirely or at least until most of the codices are updated!
Why? Automatically Appended Next Post:
Refresh.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:54:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:55:12
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Martial Arts SAS
|
Alpharius wrote:I think this means that I'm sitting out 40K 6th entirely or at least until most of the codices are updated!
And why is that ? (truly curious, as this FAQ makes me want to try 6th edition)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:55:55
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
pretre wrote:Oh snap! They make it sound like it is player turn for the tabling thing:
Q: If you leave combat airspace with all of your Flyers and have no
other models on the gaming board at the beginning of your
opponent's turn, do you automatically lose the game? (p122)
A: Yes.
Q: If all of my units are either Flyers or embarked upon Flyers, will I
automatically lose the game as there are none of my models on the
gaming board at the end of Turn 1? (p122)
A: Yes.
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in
reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in
Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or
Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.
It's not explicit. The first question situation would mean you have no models on the table at the end of the game turn, as well.
However, the third question is a change, right? I thought previously units embarked on flyers (not drop pods) did count.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:55:57
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
How are you guys getting them? I still see only V1.0 FAQs.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:56:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Finally!
Q: What type of power weapon is a burna in combat? (p45)
A: A burna is an unusual power weapon when used in close
combat, therefore it is AP3.
Q: Can a burna be used to shoot in Overwatch and be used as a power
weapon later in the same Assault phase? (p45)
A: No. Automatically Appended Next Post: RiTides wrote:However, the third question is a change, right? I thought previously units embarked on flyers (not drop pods) did count.
They just made it easier to do an all embarked list and then told you you would lose.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 14:57:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:57:41
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:57:52
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Ha!
Q: Can Ork boarding planks, grabbin’ klaws and wreckin’ balls target
Zooming Flyers? (p93)
A: No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:57:59
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
The rulebook FAQ is down already
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:58:13
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Clear cache, Ctrl-Refresh, etc so on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|