Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 17:48:08
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Got in to a discussion on the Tactics board about this. We were talking about the DoG FAQ for mycetic spores.
Can an MC use a Smash attack doing DoG agaisnt a tank shock?
I said yes. You get 1 attack, you halve it and then round up to 1 attack.
He said he didn't think so becasue DoG is not a normal attack.
Looked through the forums, but didn't see this come up before.
RAW?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 17:49:29
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Dog allows you to use any weapon you have, including ranged, why wouldn't it allow you to use a special rule.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:15:49
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Well RAW if a MC does not have a carried CC weapon, he must use a gun on the DoG attempt.
"The Attack can be either a shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried, including grenades." P.86
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:17:29
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:Well RAW if a MC does not have a carried CC weapon, he must use a gun on the DoG attempt.
"The Attack can be either a shot from a weapon carried by the model, or a single close combat attack using any weapon carried, including grenades." P.86
If you don't have a weapon you're always treated as having one.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:23:39
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Right but you do not actually have one. so you can not be "using any weapon carried" as you are not actually carrying a CCW. Not that anyone would play that way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/10 18:24:13
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:25:19
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:Right but you do not actually have one. so you can not be "using any weapon carried" as you are not actually carrying a CCW.
Not that anyone would play that way.
Except I am. Well, I'm treated as if I am anyway. Any time you look at a unit and say "Does he have a CCW?" you will always be able to say "At worse he's treated like he has one." Therefore I'm treated as if I'm carrying one.
It's one of the things I'm glad they cleared up in 6th.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:50:08
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
DeathReaper wrote:Right but you do not actually have one. so you can not be "using any weapon carried" as you are not actually carrying a CCW.
Tyranids are always considered to be carring tooth and claw as CCW. All biomorphs and "weapons" just accentuate that. Its why we don't get extra attacks for having two CCW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:54:28
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Right but you do not actually have one. so you can not be "using any weapon carried" as you are not actually carrying a CCW.
Not that anyone would play that way.
Except I am. Well, I'm treated as if I am anyway. Any time you look at a unit and say "Does he have a CCW?" you will always be able to say "At worse he's treated like he has one." Therefore I'm treated as if I'm carrying one.
It's one of the things I'm glad they cleared up in 6th.
Right you are treated as having one, but that does not equate to actually carrying one. (Again, strict RAW and no one would play this way, just intended to illustrate a point).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 18:59:51
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:but that does not equate to actually carrying one. (Again, strict RAW and no one would play this way, just intended to illustrate a point).
But I am treated as carrying one. We know that because I am treated as being armed with one. If I'm armed with one I must be carrying it.
You keep your end of the argument going, I'll keep my end. I think yours fails, however, because at no time can you point at a model and say "There's no CCW there." You must treat every model as if it has a CCW.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:05:16
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It is an interesting issue since the rules do not specifically state the model does have a CCW. To be clear "If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon." No specific melee weapon, means it is not carrying a melee weapon, as one is not listed in its wargear. (Buy we pretend it uses something that acts like a ccw to attack with).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/10 19:05:37
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:09:15
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:No specific melee weapon, means it is not carrying a melee weapon, as one is not listed in its wargear.
Rules citation that "listed in its wargear" is the only way to fulfill "carrying a melee weapon"?
And actually, it has a Lash Whip which is a CCW biomorph.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:43:36
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Boston, MA
|
Can I put in that whether you need a listed CCW (you totally don't, everyone has a CCW, but whatever) is entirely not the point of this thread?
CAN YOU SMASH on Death or Glory? Personally, I want to say you can't but I'm having trouble find a rule justification for that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:47:53
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sir_Prometheus wrote:Can I put in that whether you need a listed CCW (you totally don't, everyone has a CCW, but whatever) is entirely not the point of this thread?
CAN YOU SMASH on Death or Glory? Personally, I want to say you can't but I'm having trouble find a rule justification for that.
DoG allows a Close Combat attack. Any model that has the Smash SR can make a Smash attack instead of a CCA.
There's no restriction in DoG saying you can't, so you can. It's pretty clear.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:49:46
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
Simply states you can make a single attack.
No matter how you read it, there is nothing that prevents a smash attack being used.
Which means LR's will stop trying to run over trygons and the likes :K
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 19:56:55
Subject: Re:Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
Kansas City, Missouri
|
I'd say yes, the text says that this is a close combat attack and smash says close combat attacks are what modify their attacks, It's still a really bad idea to tank shock a MC but orks could possibly kill it before it even gets it's attacks if it's weak enough and we roll well on the Deff rolla... Still, Yeah i would say you could because it says 1 attack, you choose to modify it to 1/2 an attack and it boosts back to 1 and has all the rules of smash still. Just makes sense really.
|
" I don't lead da Waagh I build it! " - Big-Mek Wurrzog
List of Da Propahly Zogged!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 20:05:59
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
DeathReaper wrote:Right you are treated as having one, but that does not equate to actually carrying one. (Again, strict RAW and no one would play this way, just intended to illustrate a point).
You keep using this word "actually". It's actually a little model with no capacity for any kind of combat whatsoever, short of being thrown at someone, perhaps for attempting pedantry and failing at it.
There is no meaningful distinction between "treated as" and "is" in a game that is predicated on make-believe in the first place. Is an otherwise unarmed model treated as being armed with a close combat weapon? Yes, explicitly by RaW. So, it can DoG. And it's no different than if it's treated as being armed with a close combat weapon due to that weapon being listed in its profile.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/10 21:44:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 20:28:49
Subject: Re:Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:I'd say yes, the text says that this is a close combat attack and smash says close combat attacks are what modify their attacks, It's still a really bad idea to tank shock a MC but orks could possibly kill it before it even gets it's attacks if it's weak enough and we roll well on the Deff rolla... Still, Yeah i would say you could because it says 1 attack, you choose to modify it to 1/2 an attack and it boosts back to 1 and has all the rules of smash still. Just makes sense really.
Even with the ork deff rolla, first the MC hits and resolves, But with the new damage charts would any MC still try to DOG? if you fail to pen, or glance (66% chance), you're gone. Even on a pen, you have a 33% shot at getting removed as well assuming ap2. Then even if you do stop a battle wagon you'll take the 2d6 S10 hits.
So sure, use you're smash, awesome idea  I'd also say it meets the criteria to do a DOG
Now PSA's on the other hand, which are neither weapons, nor modeled  I was really hoping 6th would clear up that debate, but oh well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 20:47:27
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Pyrian wrote:There is no meaningful distinction between "counts as" and "is"...
But the rule does not say counts as.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 21:05:03
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
NeoGliwice III
|
That """"logic"""" is horrible. You need to stop.
|
Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 21:46:43
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Pardon me. There is also no meaningful distinction between "treated as" and "is" in a game that is predicated on make-believe in the first place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 21:53:03
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
We interrupt this discussion to bring you this technicality:
Gloomfang wrote:Tyranids are always considered to be carring tooth and claw as CCW. All biomorphs and "weapons" just accentuate that. Its why we don't get extra attacks for having two CCW.
Actually only about 1/3 of the units have Claws and Teeth.
We now return to your regularly scheduled discussion.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/10 22:11:28
Subject: Re:Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
sirlynchmob wrote: Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:I'd say yes, the text says that this is a close combat attack and smash says close combat attacks are what modify their attacks, It's still a really bad idea to tank shock a MC but orks could possibly kill it before it even gets it's attacks if it's weak enough and we roll well on the Deff rolla... Still, Yeah i would say you could because it says 1 attack, you choose to modify it to 1/2 an attack and it boosts back to 1 and has all the rules of smash still. Just makes sense really.
Even with the ork deff rolla, first the MC hits and resolves, But with the new damage charts would any MC still try to DOG? if you fail to pen, or glance (66% chance), you're gone. Even on a pen, you have a 33% shot at getting removed as well assuming ap2. Then even if you do stop a battle wagon you'll take the 2d6 S10 hits.
So sure, use you're smash, awesome idea  I'd also say it meets the criteria to do a DOG
Now PSA's on the other hand, which are neither weapons, nor modeled  I was really hoping 6th would clear up that debate, but oh well.
I wouldn't be too worried about the hits that won't insta-kill the MC and still allow an armor save (which is probably going to be a 3+ or better anyway), personally.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 22:04:34
Subject: Re:Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
sirlynchmob wrote:Even with the ork deff rolla, first the MC hits and resolves, But with the new damage charts would any MC still try to DOG? if you fail to pen, or glance (66% chance), you're gone. Even on a pen, you have a 33% shot at getting removed as well assuming ap2. Then even if you do stop a battle wagon you'll take the 2d6 S10 hits.
So sure, use you're smash, awesome idea  I'd also say it meets the criteria to do a DOG
Mycetic Spores have no choice anymore - they MUST DoG against a Tank Shock. On the plus side, since they can smash, they've got about a 5/9 chance of penetrating AV 14, and it's an AP 2 attack, so a die roll of 2 or 4+ will stop most vehicles.
It's not a horrible chance, considering you're going to get run over anyway.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 23:10:06
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They do not have to DoG. They cannot move, but they can be moved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 23:15:10
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
coredump wrote:They do not have to DoG. They cannot move, but they can be moved.
Read the FAQ. They must DoG.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 23:16:32
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Beat me to it ...
Yea DoG or ... DoG
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 23:22:12
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The other thing to note is that you don't get the new Disembark rules for Mycetic Spores, either - no "within 6 inches" for them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/13 23:22:21
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/13 23:27:15
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Janthkin wrote:The other thing to note is that you don't get the new Disembark rules for Mycetic Spores, either - no "within 6 inches" for them.
I've been playing it that already - if you expected to get that buff from GW... :-)
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 04:06:41
Subject: Smash and Death or Glory
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
One of my buddies was not too happy when my Doom Spore landed 1" away from his guys and then he found out the spore didn't take dangerous terrain, before losing am entire squad of Dire Avengers to life drain.
Wraithguard made short work of him... :(
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|