Switch Theme:

Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





That's fine for the TO, but that's not a Snap Fire to-hit roll, so can't be equated - it's a house rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Aycee71 wrote:
I just skimmed this post but here is what happened to me. I was in a tournament a couple of weeks back and the TO there resolved that Imotekh's Lightning could hit fliers because they needed a '6' to 'hit'. They equated the lightning strike to Snap Fire because they both needed 6's.

Aycee

Well the LoTS rule does not have a 'to hit' roll, so I do not know what that TO was thinking.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 Crablezworth wrote:
Here's another thread http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/481504.page in which we're trying to figuer out how to resolve hits from a vehicle explosion. There are similar issues because the rulebook does not specify how to resolve wounding because it doesn't define it as a shooting/close combat/psychic attack. It's none of them, similar to imotehk's rule.
I took a look at that other thread, and I agree with the posters that said to allocate the wounds closest to the explosion, and if there are multiple models the same distance you'd have to randomize.

I don't think there are many (if any) similarities here. Whether a vehicle exploding is a shooting attack, a CC attack, or a special rule that causes hits is totally irrelevant to a Swooping FMC or Zooming Flyer. If it isn't a Snap Shot or have specific permission to hit flyers it cannot hit. With the vehicle you roll distance and the hits are automatically assigned to the models in range, the FAQ clearly states that things that hit automatically can't hit flyers that are swooping or zooming.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Or you could assume that it can hit flyers because there isn't any rules that say it cannot.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

jegsar wrote:
Or you could assume that it can hit flyers because there isn't any rules that say it cannot.

That is not how a permissive rule set works.

It has to say you can, otherwise you can not.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

jegsar wrote:
Or you could assume that it can hit flyers because there isn't any rules that say it cannot.


You have that backwards. The rules have to say you are allowed to do something, not say you cannot.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

The rules do say that you can hit them, specifically the special rules that generate the hits.

What some people question is whether or not the rules also say these special rules hits fall under the same category as those denied by the faq entry on Snap Shots.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

foolishmortal wrote:
The rules do say that you can hit them, specifically the special rules that generate the hits.

What some people question is whether or not the rules also say these special rules hits fall under the same category as those denied by the faq entry on Snap Shots.

Except the FaQ over-rules that.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Ohio, USA

As I said, some people question whether or not the faq entry over-rules the special rule, and some do not.

"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Given the examples, like the Death ray, and the Mawlocks Terror from the deep that can't hit, it should be clear that nothing similar to those rules can hit without specific permission.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

The difference is the Death Ray is a weapon that dosent roll to hit and the Terror From the Deep is a blast template.

Imotekhs lightning attack is never described as a weapon, or shooting attack, or blast template. Its within the wording of the hard to hit special rule.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
The difference is the Death Ray is a weapon that dosent roll to hit and the Terror From the Deep is a blast template.

TfTD isn't a weapon, however, which is what Hard to Hit restricted. It's awesome that this keeps getting ignored like it means nothing - it doesn't.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

It is a blast template which is specifically disallowed. The item itself is not allowed. I could have the old witch hunters orbital bombardment unit and even though its not a "Weapon" and is a unit instead, it still misses because of the nature of the attack itself.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
It is a blast template which is specifically disallowed. The item itself is not allowed. I could have the old witch hunters orbital bombardment unit and even though its not a "Weapon" and is a unit instead, it still misses because of the nature of the attack itself.

Incorrect. Read the Hard to Hit rule please. Blast weapons are forbidden.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

Then I dont know what to tell you Rigeld. We could have the living metal circumstance where unless the ability is specifically FAQ'd not to work, it will work. Hard to hit makes no mention of Special Abilities not working, the fact that one special ability in an army that has already taken an ungodly number of hits from 6th is being FAQ'd not to work does not mean all others dont work. They are different in both nature in function and as it is, there is no RAW preventing them from hitting a flyer as they arent a weapon.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





We have an example of a special ability that doesn't require a to-hit roll being FAQed not to work, and we have an example of a special ability that doesn't require a to-hit roll being FAQed to work. In this instance, it would be better to go with the idea that unless it's FAQed to work, a special ability that does not roll to-hit cannot work.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

rigeld2 wrote:
 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
It is a blast template which is specifically disallowed. The item itself is not allowed. I could have the old witch hunters orbital bombardment unit and even though its not a "Weapon" and is a unit instead, it still misses because of the nature of the attack itself.

Incorrect. Read the Hard to Hit rule please. Blast weapons are forbidden.
Yes, the rulebook entry says 'weapon', but the FAQ uses 'attack', but as I've said already, I think the whole weapon / attack / special rule discussion is an irrelevant distraction for this issue. From FAQ entries it's pretty clear that GW is applying the Hard to Hit rule equally to all of them.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith






Where you least expect me

It does work and it hits side armour.



 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 Necron123 wrote:
It does work and it hits side armour.

I see your well reasoned, impeccably written argument for LotS hitting fliers and I shall respond in kind:

No it doesn't.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 undertow wrote:
 Necron123 wrote:
It does work and it hits side armour.

I see your well reasoned, impeccably written argument for LotS hitting fliers and I shall respond in kind:

No it doesn't.


I'll see you're argument and raise one .

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

 undertow wrote:
From FAQ entries it's pretty clear that GW is applying the Hard to Hit rule equally to all of them.


Cite a source please and then you've won this argument.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/12 17:18:57


My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Probably the same FAQ that states "any attacks." and "any weapons". "Any" covers alot of ground. Add in to that every other examples of a "special ability" that avoided the "attack/weapon" wording was FAQ'd to be a NO.
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

But not this ability. Its that simple.

And by that resonign, not "Every" special ability, only the ones FAQ'd. If they didnt want special abilities to work then they should've FAQ'd it to say Attacks/Weapons/Special abilities.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/12 18:03:04


My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Its really not. The assumption that GW picked this one ability to ignore all the other rules they laid out given all the other precedents and a FAQ that clearly states "Any" is silly. I was on the side of Blood Lance hitting fliers, and its pretty clear by how they phrased that FAQ it was meant as a catchall. "Only snapshots can hit ....." does not leave much wiggle room.
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

But nowhere are Special Rules as a whole referenced in the flyer rules or the FAQ.
Its not that hard to imagine from a fluff standpoint either as it has been stated before lightning hits aircraft all the time.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
But nowhere are Special Rules as a whole referenced in the flyer rules or the FAQ.
Its not that hard to imagine from a fluff standpoint either as it has been stated before lightning hits aircraft all the time.

And aircraft are "Invisible" to lightning. that is to say even modern day aircraft are not affected by the lightning strikes. (But Fluff is not rules).

as for the rules. "Only snap shots can hit Zooming Flyers..." Nothing else.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
 undertow wrote:
From FAQ entries it's pretty clear that GW is applying the Hard to Hit rule equally to all of them.


Cite a source please and then you've won this argument.

The source is already cited. Please read the FAQs. Specifically the one for hard to hit in the BRB FAQ. If it hits automatically it cannot hit flyers. If it draws a line or uses any sort of blast marker or template it cannot hit flyers.

Some examples of weapons / attacks / special rules that don't work:
Mawloc's Terror from the Deep - Doesn't work because it uses a blast template.
CCB Sweeping attacks - Don't work because they hit automatically.
DE Jetbike sweeping attacks - Don't work because they hit automatically
Any beam attacks (Death Ray, JotWW) etc

Stuff that does work:
Vector Strike - Does work because although it auto hits, it is given specific permission to hit flyers.
Are there any others? I can't think of any right now.

Are you seeing the pattern yet? Next time, take a look at the FAQs before throwing out some lame 'citation needed' response.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 undertow wrote:

Some examples of weapons / attacks / special rules that don't work:
Mawloc's Terror from the Deep - Doesn't work because it uses a blast template.

Actually, this is incorrect. It doesn't work because the FAQ says it doesn't work. It doesn't give a reason, it just says, "No."
Also, it's a Large Blast Marker, not a blast template.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 undertow wrote:
 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
 undertow wrote:
From FAQ entries it's pretty clear that GW is applying the Hard to Hit rule equally to all of them.


Cite a source please and then you've won this argument.

The source is already cited. Please read the FAQs. Specifically the one for hard to hit in the BRB FAQ. If it hits automatically it cannot hit flyers. If it draws a line or uses any sort of blast marker or template it cannot hit flyers.

Some examples of weapons / attacks / special rules that don't work:
Mawloc's Terror from the Deep - Doesn't work because it uses a blast template.
CCB Sweeping attacks - Don't work because they hit automatically.
DE Jetbike sweeping attacks - Don't work because they hit automatically
Any beam attacks (Death Ray, JotWW) etc

Stuff that does work:
Vector Strike - Does work because although it auto hits, it is given specific permission to hit flyers.
Are there any others? I can't think of any right now.

Are you seeing the pattern yet? Next time, take a look at the FAQs before throwing out some lame 'citation needed' response.


CCB sweeps don't hit automatically. They hit on a set value that doesn't use WS to determine if you hit or not. And that was actually changed for ALL chariots, not just CCB's.

Also, regarding your "if it hits automatically it can't hit flyers" - Well, unless it's a snapshot that hits automatically then it still hits. *Shrug*
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
But nowhere are Special Rules as a whole referenced in the flyer rules or the FAQ.
Its not that hard to imagine from a fluff standpoint either as it has been stated before lightning hits aircraft all the time.
The Tyranid FAQ, p4:
Q: Are zooming flyers or swooping monstrous creatures affected by Mawloc's Terror from the Deep SPECIAL RULE (emphasis mine)?
A: No

Not that it specifically mentions that this is a special rule that doesn't work against flyers. That bolded part? That's how you can tell that you're wrong on this one.

BRB FAQ p6:
Can a character on a Chariot that is also a Skimmer make a Sweep Attack against a Zooming Flyer?
A: No

Expecting GW to add an entry to the FAQ for every ability is beyond silly. The patterns are clear, 'any' means ANY.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
 undertow wrote:

Some examples of weapons / attacks / special rules that don't work:
Mawloc's Terror from the Deep - Doesn't work because it uses a blast template.

Actually, this is incorrect. It doesn't work because the FAQ says it doesn't work. It doesn't give a reason, it just says, "No."
Also, it's a Large Blast Marker, not a blast template.

Are you this pedantic in real life?

It's not a huge logical leap to assume that it doesn't work because it uses a blast marker.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/12 18:42:29


Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: