Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 02:15:57
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Stormblade
|
Can Obyron use ghostwalk mantle with Phased Reinforcements?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 03:34:59
Subject: Re:Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Ferocious Blood Claw
|
From Necron Codex 61 "Phased Reinforcements "If Zahndrekh is on the battlefield, any number of units in reserve that are able to Deep strike can choose to enter play in the enemy turn, Via Deep Strike, immediately after the enemy unit has arrived from reserve, normally during the enemies movement phase."
Ghostwalk Mantle - Obyron can use the Ghostwalk mantle in his movement phase instead of moving normally, if he does Obyron and his unit are removed from the tabletop and replaced together anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike. Unlike other veils can be used in combat etc etc....
How are you saying it is used?
Are you asking:
1) Can Phased Reinforcements be activated by ghostwalk mantle?
Answer: No, because only the enemy can active phase reinforcements.
Or are you saying..
2) Does the ghostwalk mantle active as Phased Reinforcements actives?
No, because the GhostWalk mantle does not give the entire unit the "Deep Strike" rule, it says that instead of moving, they can forfeit this move and then deep strike in their turn. If they were able to deepstrike. It doesn't. They would've made it clear if you could deepstrike, and say "DeepStrike this unit here, however they tell you to use the rules for deep striking, but do not change the title of the actual move to deep strike."
In order to Deep Strike you must have this criteria
Page 35 BRB
"In order for a unit to be able to deep strike, all models in the unit must have the deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve. When placing the unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike. Units arriving from deepstrike begin the game in reserve and always arrive by deepstrike."
So to trigger the effect of phase reinforcements, firstly, your enemy must deep strike, and then YOU may deepstrike your units. In Phase Reinforcements, it says that units that are reserve get to enter play. This doesn't mean that he can ghost walk mantle for free out of reserve, because he does not have the "Deep Strike" rule initially, he can gain the ability to "Act" like he is deep striking by giving up his movement phase. Even then, he is not deep striking, he is teleporting using the rules of deep strike without using the actual rule.
|
1500
1250
Rip Zyzz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/01/10 15:07:55
Subject: Re:Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Monasou wrote:
From Necron Codex 61 "Phased Reinforcements "If Zahndrekh is on the battlefield, any number of units in reserve that are able to Deep strike can choose to enter play in the enemy turn, Via Deep Strike, immediately after the enemy unit has arrived from reserve, normally during the enemies movement phase."
Ghostwalk Mantle - Obyron can use the Ghostwalk mantle in his movement phase instead of moving normally, if he does Obyron and his unit are removed from the tabletop and replaced together anywhere on the board using the rules for deepstrike. Unlike other veils can be used in combat etc etc....
How are you saying it is used?
Are you asking:
1) Can Phased Reinforcements be activated by ghostwalk mantle?
Answer: No, because only the enemy can active phase reinforcements.
Or are you saying..
2) Does the ghostwalk mantle active as Phased Reinforcements actives?
No, because the GhostWalk mantle does not give the entire unit the "Deep Strike" rule, it says that instead of moving, they can forfeit this move and then deep strike in their turn. If they were able to deepstrike. It doesn't. They would've made it clear if you could deepstrike, and say "DeepStrike this unit here, however they tell you to use the rules for deep striking, but do not change the title of the actual move to deep strike."
In order to Deep Strike you must have this criteria
Page 35 BRB
"In order for a unit to be able to deep strike, all models in the unit must have the deep strike special rule and the unit must start the game in reserve. When placing the unit in reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by deep strike. Units arriving from deepstrike begin the game in reserve and always arrive by deepstrike."
So to trigger the effect of phase reinforcements, firstly, your enemy must deep strike, and then YOU may deepstrike your units. In Phase Reinforcements, it says that units that are reserve get to enter play. This doesn't mean that he can ghost walk mantle for free out of reserve, because he does not have the "Deep Strike" rule initially, he can gain the ability to "Act" like he is deep striking by giving up his movement phase. Even then, he is not deep striking, he is teleporting using the rules of deep strike without using the actual rule.
Your enemy does not have to deep strike, they only need to arrive from reserves. The necron player MUST deep strike.
Otherwise, you're correct in that he (and crypteks) could not (or should not) be able to benefit from this rule as they do not have the deep strike rule, they are simply able to move using the deep strike placement rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 15:48:24
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/23 15:48:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 15:53:16
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
40k-noob wrote:Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
I understood that as the unit that has Veil or Ghostwalk can move out of reserve, using it. They aren't actually deep striking, they are simply arriving using the deep strike rules. Which would mean, they could be in normal reserves, intending to arrive normally, and then when it is their turn to walk in from reserves, they use the Veil instead.
|
DS:70S++G+MB-IPw40k10#+D++++A+/aWD-R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 15:57:14
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Tye_Informer wrote:40k-noob wrote:Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
I understood that as the unit that has Veil or Ghostwalk can move out of reserve, using it. They aren't actually deep striking, they are simply arriving using the deep strike rules. Which would mean, they could be in normal reserves, intending to arrive normally, and then when it is their turn to walk in from reserves, they use the Veil instead.
That's the thing, Obryon and crypteks are never deep striking. If you look, the first thing about deep striking is declaring your unit will deep strike from reserve, prior to the game starting. Are you required to do this prior to the game start for every turn you want to veil/ghostwalk? (sorry, this is more intended at 40k-noob, I'm agreeing with you Tye)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 16:03:25
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:Tye_Informer wrote:40k-noob wrote:Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
I understood that as the unit that has Veil or Ghostwalk can move out of reserve, using it. They aren't actually deep striking, they are simply arriving using the deep strike rules. Which would mean, they could be in normal reserves, intending to arrive normally, and then when it is their turn to walk in from reserves, they use the Veil instead.
That's the thing, Obryon and crypteks are never deep striking. If you look, the first thing about deep striking is declaring your unit will deep strike from reserve, prior to the game starting. Are you required to do this prior to the game start for every turn you want to veil/ghostwalk? (sorry, this is more intended at 40k-noob, I'm agreeing with you Tye)
The rules for a Veil of Darkness state that the "Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately DEEP STRIKE back onto the battlefield." emphasis mine .
Not sure where you are getting that they do not Deep Strike when the rule clearly says that they do.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 16:10:08
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
40k-noob wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Tye_Informer wrote:40k-noob wrote:Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
I understood that as the unit that has Veil or Ghostwalk can move out of reserve, using it. They aren't actually deep striking, they are simply arriving using the deep strike rules. Which would mean, they could be in normal reserves, intending to arrive normally, and then when it is their turn to walk in from reserves, they use the Veil instead.
That's the thing, Obryon and crypteks are never deep striking. If you look, the first thing about deep striking is declaring your unit will deep strike from reserve, prior to the game starting. Are you required to do this prior to the game start for every turn you want to veil/ghostwalk? (sorry, this is more intended at 40k-noob, I'm agreeing with you Tye)
The rules for a Veil of Darkness state that the "Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately DEEP STRIKE back onto the battlefield." emphasis mine .
Not sure where you are getting that they do not Deep Strike when the rule clearly says that they do.
And the rules for the ghostwalk mantle - "Obyron and his unit are removed from the tabletop and replaced together anywhere on the board using the rules for deep strike". It goes on to make a clear connection to the ghostwalk mantle and veils of darkness being near identical items "Unlike other veils of darkness, the ghostwalk mantle..." So even though the wording on the two is slightly different (in that, the veil of darkness has less of it), the ghostwalk mantle sets a higher precedent of what the veils of darkness do.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 16:28:02
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:40k-noob wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Tye_Informer wrote:40k-noob wrote:Not true.
The Necron FAQ says that the "Veil of Darkness" can be used to arrive from Reserve, so yes Ghostwalk Mantle/Crypteks with Veils can arrive from Reserve using "Deep Strike" and so are also able to be brought in using Phased Reinforcements.
I understood that as the unit that has Veil or Ghostwalk can move out of reserve, using it. They aren't actually deep striking, they are simply arriving using the deep strike rules. Which would mean, they could be in normal reserves, intending to arrive normally, and then when it is their turn to walk in from reserves, they use the Veil instead.
That's the thing, Obryon and crypteks are never deep striking. If you look, the first thing about deep striking is declaring your unit will deep strike from reserve, prior to the game starting. Are you required to do this prior to the game start for every turn you want to veil/ghostwalk? (sorry, this is more intended at 40k-noob, I'm agreeing with you Tye)
The rules for a Veil of Darkness state that the "Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately DEEP STRIKE back onto the battlefield." emphasis mine .
Not sure where you are getting that they do not Deep Strike when the rule clearly says that they do.
And the rules for the ghostwalk mantle - "Obyron and his unit are removed from the tabletop and replaced together anywhere on the board using the rules for deep strike". It goes on to make a clear connection to the ghostwalk mantle and veils of darkness being near identical items "Unlike other veils of darkness, the ghostwalk mantle..." So even though the wording on the two is slightly different (in that, the veil of darkness has less of it), the ghostwalk mantle sets a higher precedent of what the veils of darkness do.
So the Ghostwalk Mantle is a Veil of Darkness but it isn't and you can use the Deep Strike rules but not Deep Strike?
Is that you stance?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 16:40:02
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I don't think you know what you're saying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 18:49:04
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
It is totally legal. Units in reserve attached to a unit with a Veil of Darkness meet all of the requirements for Nemesor's special rule and the FAQ for the VoD reinforces this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 18:54:37
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Neither Ghostwalk Mantle or Veil of Darkness gives the unit Deep Strike USR, which is requirement for Phased Reinforcements.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 18:59:27
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Are units with a VoD able to Deep Strike, yes per the GW FAQ. Therefore they may use Phased Reinforcements.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 19:34:40
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Are units with a VoD able to Deep Strike, yes per the GW FAQ. Therefore they may use Phased Reinforcements.
No, they aren't entering via deep strike, they are entering via veil of darkness or ghostwalk mantle. Neither of those gives them deep strike, neither of those units are able to deep strike. IF they were then crypteks with veils would be able to use the ethereal interception rule, but they can not.
And they FAQ only answered the question that you're able to use it to come on from reserve, it does not say they get deep strike.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/23 19:35:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 19:37:49
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Hmm considering Deep Strike is a USR. I'm likely to agree with Kevin for now. Have to find a necron codex to gander at to gather more.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/23 20:59:48
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Kevin949 wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Are units with a VoD able to Deep Strike, yes per the GW FAQ. Therefore they may use Phased Reinforcements.
No, they aren't entering via deep strike, they are entering via veil of darkness or ghostwalk mantle. Neither of those gives them deep strike, neither of those units are able to deep strike. IF they were then crypteks with veils would be able to use the ethereal interception rule, but they can not.
And they FAQ only answered the question that you're able to use it to come on from reserve, it does not say they get deep strike.
Veilteks can join Deathmarks and use Ethereal Interception. The FAQ refers to generic unequipped Crypteks attached to units of Deathmarks. A Harbinger of Despair with a VoD is able to Deep Strike and therefore is eligible for Ethereal Interception and Phased Reinforcements. Otherwise you could argue that units like Grey Knight Inquisitors may never Deepstirke as they don't have the special rule. But you can purchase Terminator Armour for one and he gains the ability to Deep Strike. Just as a Harbinger of Despair gains the ability to Deep Strike by purchaseing a VoD.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 17:03:59
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Yes, and they're not able to Deep Strike. To be able to Deep Strike requires Deep Strike USR, or wargear that gives Deep Strike USR.
No. FAQ, verbatim:
Necron FAQ, page 5 wrote: Question: can a veil of darkness used instead of moving onto board when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.
Note that this explicitly says VoD doesn't give unit ability to Deep Strike. Because if it did, they couldn't use it instead of moving onto board normally. Using Deep Strike requires that the unit is put into Deep Strike Reserves.
Oh, the VoD uses DS mechanics, but it doesn't mean VoD unit is "able to Deep Strike" any more than having GK or SM librarian with Gate to Infinity (codex power) in army would do.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 17:24:40
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Are units with a VoD able to Deep Strike, yes per the GW FAQ. Therefore they may use Phased Reinforcements.
No, they aren't entering via deep strike, they are entering via veil of darkness or ghostwalk mantle. Neither of those gives them deep strike, neither of those units are able to deep strike. IF they were then crypteks with veils would be able to use the ethereal interception rule, but they can not.
And they FAQ only answered the question that you're able to use it to come on from reserve, it does not say they get deep strike.
Veilteks can join Deathmarks and use Ethereal Interception. The FAQ refers to generic unequipped Crypteks attached to units of Deathmarks. A Harbinger of Despair with a VoD is able to Deep Strike and therefore is eligible for Ethereal Interception and Phased Reinforcements. Otherwise you could argue that units like Grey Knight Inquisitors may never Deepstirke as they don't have the special rule. But you can purchase Terminator Armour for one and he gains the ability to Deep Strike. Just as a Harbinger of Despair gains the ability to Deep Strike by purchaseing a VoD.
No, the FAQ says they must all have the deep strike rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 19:22:11
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Luide wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Yes, and they're not able to Deep Strike. To be able to Deep Strike requires Deep Strike USR, or wargear that gives Deep Strike USR.
No. FAQ, verbatim:
Necron FAQ, page 5 wrote: Question: can a veil of darkness used instead of moving onto board when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.
Note that this explicitly says VoD doesn't give unit ability to Deep Strike. Because if it did, they couldn't use it instead of moving onto board normally. Using Deep Strike requires that the unit is put into Deep Strike Reserves.
Oh, the VoD uses DS mechanics, but it doesn't mean VoD unit is "able to Deep Strike" any more than having GK or SM librarian with Gate to Infinity (codex power) in army would do.
There is no such thing as deep strike reserves.
However you must declare how a unit is arriving from reserve by the brb. Using the VoD to deep strike requires declaration and allows the unit to be able to deep strike which is all phased reimforcememts and ethereal interception require. FAQ supports this.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/24 19:24:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 19:24:11
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
NecronLord3 wrote:Luide wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Yes, and they're not able to Deep Strike. To be able to Deep Strike requires Deep Strike USR, or wargear that gives Deep Strike USR.
No. FAQ, verbatim:
Necron FAQ, page 5 wrote: Question: can a veil of darkness used instead of moving onto board when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.
Note that this explicitly says VoD doesn't give unit ability to Deep Strike. Because if it did, they couldn't use it instead of moving onto board normally. Using Deep Strike requires that the unit is put into Deep Strike Reserves.
Oh, the VoD uses DS mechanics, but it doesn't mean VoD unit is "able to Deep Strike" any more than having GK or SM librarian with Gate to Infinity (codex power) in army would do.
There is no such thing as deep strike reserves.
The very first paragraph of hte Deep Strike rule disagrees with you.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 19:32:53
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Happyjew wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:Luide wrote: NecronLord3 wrote:That is not the rule. The rule states"... any number of units that are able to Deep Strike..."
Yes, and they're not able to Deep Strike. To be able to Deep Strike requires Deep Strike USR, or wargear that gives Deep Strike USR.
No. FAQ, verbatim:
Necron FAQ, page 5 wrote: Question: can a veil of darkness used instead of moving onto board when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.
Note that this explicitly says VoD doesn't give unit ability to Deep Strike. Because if it did, they couldn't use it instead of moving onto board normally. Using Deep Strike requires that the unit is put into Deep Strike Reserves.
Oh, the VoD uses DS mechanics, but it doesn't mean VoD unit is "able to Deep Strike" any more than having GK or SM librarian with Gate to Infinity (codex power) in army would do.
There is no such thing as deep strike reserves.
The very first paragraph of hte Deep Strike rule disagrees with you.
Not really, it just says it is sometimes referred to as "Deep strike reserves", this does not actually make it a thing, otherwise ethereal interception and phased reinforcements could not work as both rules say you must be in "reserves".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 19:41:12
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Otherwise you could argue that units like Grey Knight Inquisitors may never Deepstirke as they don't have the special rule. But you can purchase Terminator Armour for one and he gains the ability to Deep Strike.
Yes, purchasing Terminator Armour explicitly gives ability to Deep Strike.
C:GK page 63, Terminator armour wrote: They [models in terminator armour may] always start the game in reserve and arrive using the Deep Strike rules...
NecronLord3 wrote: Just as a Harbinger of Despair gains the ability to Deep Strike by purchaseing a VoD.
VoD does not give Deep Strike USR.
C:Necrons, page 84 wrote:A Cryptek with a veil of darkness can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally. The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto battlefied.
Absolutely nothing in VoD gives Deep Strike USR or Deep Strike (deploy from reserves). And neither does the FAQ entry. It only says that when unit arrives from reserves and starts to move on board, that movement is "moving normally" which you can replace with VoD.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/24 19:41:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 20:11:16
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
VoD cannot phased reinforce.
First rule in VoD is that it can be used in the crypteks movement phase.
Phased Reinforcement does not happen during the Crypteks movement phase and as such, when Phased Reforcement happens, the Cryptek does not have deep strike at that time.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 21:18:58
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:VoD cannot phased reinforce.
First rule in VoD is that it can be used in the crypteks movement phase.
Phased Reinforcement does not happen during the Crypteks movement phase and as such, when Phased Reforcement happens, the Cryptek does not have deep strike at that time.
-Matt
Wrong. The rules for Deep Striking do not allow you to do it in your opponents phase either. The rules for Phased Reinforcements and Ethereal Interception make an exception which units in reserve awaiting deep strike deployment are able to take advantage of. Units with VoD are as eligible as any other Deep Striking unit, per the GW FAQ and required to be declared to be deployed via deep strike book rule book. Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:
The very first paragraph of hte Deep Strike rule disagrees with you.
No it doesn't. Read it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Luide wrote: NecronLord3 wrote: Otherwise you could argue that units like Grey Knight Inquisitors may never Deepstirke as they don't have the special rule. But you can purchase Terminator Armour for one and he gains the ability to Deep Strike.
Yes, purchasing Terminator Armour explicitly gives ability to Deep Strike.
C:GK page 63, Terminator armour wrote: They [models in terminator armour may] always start the game in reserve and arrive using the Deep Strike rules...
NecronLord3 wrote: Just as a Harbinger of Despair gains the ability to Deep Strike by purchaseing a VoD.
VoD does not give Deep Strike USR.
C:Necrons, page 84 wrote:A Cryptek with a veil of darkness can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally. The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto battlefied.
Absolutely nothing in VoD gives Deep Strike USR or Deep Strike (deploy from reserves). And neither does the FAQ entry. It only says that when unit arrives from reserves and starts to move on board, that movement is "moving normally" which you can replace with VoD.
The GW FAQ gives you the ability to deep strike from reserve. Phased Reinforcements only requires "...any number of units in Reserve that are able to Deep Strike..." Are VoD units able to deep strike, check FAQ, yes. Totally Eligible.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/24 21:31:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 22:22:45
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
NecronLord3 wrote:The GW FAQ gives you the ability to deep strike from reserve. Phased Reinforcements only requires "...any number of units in Reserve that are able to Deep Strike..." Are VoD units able to deep strike, check FAQ, yes. Totally Eligible.
I have read the FAQ. You obviously haven't, as you keep making up rules, claiming "it's FAQ".
I've posted the FAQ here verbatim. Nowhere in the FAQ does it say anything you claim. I've refuted your points already, they're withouth merit.
FAQ only gives you ability to use VoD instead of moving onto board. You cannot move onto board via Phased reinforcements -> you cannot use VoD either.
Nowhere in the FAQ is word Deep Strike used.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/24 22:23:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/24 23:49:52
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
No but the codex does use those words for the veil of darkness. And the FAQ supports this with allowing you to arrive from reserve using deep strike. Plus, the brb requires that you declare your intent when placing units into reserve as to how they are arriving. Once set up for deep strike in reserve the rules for phased reinforcements and ethereal interceptors are available to those designated units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 02:19:40
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You only have to declare they're deep striking in if they have the deep strike rule. The VoD and GWM are used instead of moving normally but you decide at the beginning of the units movement. If they were indeed deep striking every turn then you'd have to declare that they are doing so on every turn you intend to do it prior to the game starting.
They are in reserve, you declare they're walking on (as that is the only method they're allowed to declare to come in as, unless stated by special missions) and then when they successfully roll for reserves you choose to use the VoD/GWM. You have no requirement to declare it's use prior to your units movement, ever. This is a distinct difference from deep striking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 03:18:59
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Kevin949 wrote:You only have to declare they're deep striking in if they have the deep strike rule. The VoD and GWM are used instead of moving normally but you decide at the beginning of the units movement. If they were indeed deep striking every turn then you'd have to declare that they are doing so on every turn you intend to do it prior to the game starting.
They are in reserve, you declare they're walking on (as that is the only method they're allowed to declare to come in as, unless stated by special missions) and then when they successfully roll for reserves you choose to use the VoD/GWM. You have no requirement to declare it's use prior to your units movement, ever. This is a distinct difference from deep striking.
Page 36 of the brb, which defines the use of the deep strike rules, disagrees with you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 03:20:59
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
NecronLord3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:You only have to declare they're deep striking in if they have the deep strike rule. The VoD and GWM are used instead of moving normally but you decide at the beginning of the units movement. If they were indeed deep striking every turn then you'd have to declare that they are doing so on every turn you intend to do it prior to the game starting.
They are in reserve, you declare they're walking on (as that is the only method they're allowed to declare to come in as, unless stated by special missions) and then when they successfully roll for reserves you choose to use the VoD/GWM. You have no requirement to declare it's use prior to your units movement, ever. This is a distinct difference from deep striking.
Page 36 of the brb, which defines the use of the deep strike rules, disagrees with you.
About what?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/25 04:04:59
Subject: Phased Reinforcements
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Kevin949 wrote: NecronLord3 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:You only have to declare they're deep striking in if they have the deep strike rule. The VoD and GWM are used instead of moving normally but you decide at the beginning of the units movement. If they were indeed deep striking every turn then you'd have to declare that they are doing so on every turn you intend to do it prior to the game starting.
They are in reserve, you declare they're walking on (as that is the only method they're allowed to declare to come in as, unless stated by special missions) and then when they successfully roll for reserves you choose to use the VoD/GWM. You have no requirement to declare it's use prior to your units movement, ever. This is a distinct difference from deep striking.
Page 36 of the brb, which defines the use of the deep strike rules, disagrees with you.
About what?
Declaration.
|
|
 |
 |
|