| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 13:28:31
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
An Allied unit of EPI + PB's to a CSM army would still arrive by Daemonic Assault.
Daemonic assault says to essentially "break" your army in half
You than roll for it, on a 3+ you get your preferred wave.
If you only have 1 unit, you would still have to roll right?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 13:29:46
Subject: Re:Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes
|
Correct, with your preferred wave being 1 unit, and the other wave being 0 units. If you rolled a 1 or a 2, you would get your non-preferred wave of 0 units
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:13:35
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't know about that.
Daemonic Assault says you have to divide your army into two groups.
If you only have 1 unit, then you can't abide by the rule of Daemonic Assault.
1 and 0 does not make two groups.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:15:58
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
40k-noob wrote:I don't know about that.
Daemonic Assault says you have to divide your army into two groups.
If you only have 1 unit, then you can't abide by the rule of Daemonic Assault.
1 and 0 does not make two groups.
Sure they do. A group of 0 and a group of 1.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:18:03
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:40k-noob wrote:I don't know about that. Daemonic Assault says you have to divide your army into two groups. If you only have 1 unit, then you can't abide by the rule of Daemonic Assault. 1 and 0 does not make two groups.
Sure they do. A group of 0 and a group of 1. LOL , No they don't. One is a group of 1 unit and the other simply does not exist. Hey I don't know what the right answer is here. There is no FAQ on it either. I am inclined to lean towards if, there is only 1 unit then it should deploy first turn because Daemonic Assault implies that some group of units must deploy first turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/01 14:20:35
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:21:16
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
40k-noob wrote:LOL , No they don't. One is a group of 1 unit and the other simply does not exist.
"The first sentence of the third paragraph should be changed to “At the beginning of your first turn, divide each detachment chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons into two groups that must include, as much as possible, the same number of units.”" C: D FAQ. Separating into 2 groups of 1 and 0 is as much as possible the same number of units. Demonic Assault also specifies that ICs join units before the calculation is made.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/01 14:22:01
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:29:25
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
The concept of an empty group being a describable entity is one of the big foundations of modern mathematics. A lot of fancy maths noodling wouldn't work without it.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:36:22
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Indeed. You have 2 sets, one the empty set and one, well, not empty. Perfectly fine.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 14:51:36
Subject: Re:Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
noodles make the world go round!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 15:05:19
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
purging philadelphia
|
I agree entirely that you need a preferred and non-preferred wave, even in the case of a one unit army. I think its pretty similar to the drop pod assault rule when combined with having 1 drop pod. In the case of the pod you have to come in turn 1, and your non-existant 'half of your pods' just never gets factored. In the case of deamonic assault, which calls on the player to make a roll to see whether his preferred wave comes in, you can actually get the non-existant wave as an option, provided you roll a 1 or a 2.
|
2013 Nova Open Tournament Champ-
2014 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/13th overall
2014 NOVA Open Second to One
2015 Las Vegas Open Best Tau Player/10th overall
I play:
all the 40k
http://www.teamstompinggrounds.com
https://www.facebook.com/teamsgvideos
http://www.twitch.tv/sgvideo
@teamsgvideo
writer for http://www.torrentoffire.com/
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/01 15:17:06
Subject: Does this work Epi+PB allied unit
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
Richmond Va
|
I could definately see the dark gods screwing with the commander.
"Sir, are we going to be reciving daemon support for this battle?"
"Of course we are. Nurgle promised."
Nurgle is watching through his plague pot/view screen going "Not"
|
My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much
Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|