| Poll |
 |
|
|
 |
| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 04:01:59
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So with the new wound allocation you can't kill units you can't see. But Blast weapons can hit units you can't see, because of scatter.
So my question is if you fire a blast weapon let's say a Doomsday Cannon (S9 AP1), at a unit of 10 SM, You can see 3, but the other 7 are hiding behind their Rhino. After Scatter you hit all ten and the Rhino (take that Human scum!) You roll to wound and end up getting 9.
On Page 33 of the BRB it says: Once the Number of hits inflicted on the unit has been worked out, roll to wound and save as normal. Any unsaved wounds are then allocated on the unit as for the normal shooting attack.
And because of the "Out of Sight" Rule, if the firing model can't see a model in the unit that it is firing at, it can't be wounded.
How many can be killed if the Rhino doesn't blow up? 3 or 9? How many if the Rhino does blow up (allowing the Doomsday Arc to see the other guys)?
Word form word it sounds like the rules say only 3 can be. This doesn't seem right to me. I mean the Blast hit 10 guys, and wounded 9. It's not 3 guys being hit by ten shots form guns. It's an explosion that hit 10 guys.
Even though special rule breaks normal rule *blast over normal shooting* it states that you Can Hit and Wound but states it must do so as a Normal shooting attack now Barrage states its from the center of the blast...
UPDATE * FAQ says that if it does not scatter you can kill out of line of sight So does mean if it does scatter you can't?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 04:41:00
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
the FAQ does NOT say you can kill out of los.
Q: Can blast markers hit a model that is not in the attacker’s line of sight if they do NOT scatter? (p33)
A: Yes, as long as the target enemy model for the blast weapon is within the firer’s line of sight.
There is no allowance to ignore P16 "out of sight"
Technically even if a blast scatters it has no allowance to wound models out of LOS; the rule in the BRB literally has no use
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 06:29:31
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Technically even if a blast scatters it has no allowance to wound models out of LOS; the rule in the BRB literally has no use
Why would they print a rule that does nothing?
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 06:46:52
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
It can generate more wounds, forcing the models in LOS to make extra saving throws, but the the allocation process blocks killing any out of LOS.
Somewhat counterintuitive, but it's what is clearly written down in the rules.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 06:52:26
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As long as the model you place the blast template over is in range and LOS, it can scatter out of range and LOS and cause wounds, however these wounds are still taken against the closest models to the firer.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/04 06:52:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/04 07:02:42
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DarknessEternal wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:
Technically even if a blast scatters it has no allowance to wound models out of LOS; the rule in the BRB literally has no use
Why would they print a rule that does nothing?
Because GW dont know their own rules that well?
THe intent is probable that a scattering blast is then able to cause wounds out of LOS, however (and if you search there is a huuuuge thread on this) the rules dont seem to allow it.
Currently all hitting models out of LOS, scattering or otherwise, does is to generate more hits that can populate the wound pool, to *really* make sure that guy you CAN see is dead
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/06 10:44:04
Subject: Re:Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for the fast repley
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/06 17:39:24
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The three primary arguments that scattering blasts cannot kill models out of LoS rest on three very strange principles:
1) A wound is no longer a wound after you've rolled it.
2) A model is not part of a unit.
3) "As normal" actually means ignoring any rules that would normally apply
Since all of these principles are complete nonsense, the rule that you can wound units out of LoS and casualties are removed as normal means that models in such units are subject to being removed as casualties.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/06 18:02:44
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Pyrian wrote:
1) A wound is no longer a wound after you've rolled it.
Actually, the rules say that - page 16 out of sight.
2) A model is not part of a unit.
I've never seen that argument - it's demonstrably false.
3) "As normal" actually means ignoring any rules that would normally apply
Could you elaborate?
Since all of these principles are complete nonsense, the rule that you can wound units out of LoS and casualties are removed as normal means that models in such units are subject to being removed as casualties.
Well, no - that's not true. Saying they're no sense (which only the second one is) and therefore not true doesn't hold water.
It's better to disprove an argument than to say that it's wrong
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/06 18:22:33
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
My understanding is that you work out wounds from a blast template measuring from the hole.
Seems to me that LoS should then be from the hole to the model; not from the model that fired.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/06 18:23:47
Subject: Blast and Line of Sight
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
clively wrote:My understanding is that you work out wounds from a blast template measuring from the hole.
Seems to me that LoS should then be from the hole to the model; not from the model that fired.
Thats how barrage works specifically.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|