Switch Theme:

Shatterfield Missiles Reroll Pens?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Hey dakka, as shatterfield missiles get to reroll wounds do they also get to reroll armor penetration on vehicles. I'm thinking no because vehicles don't have wounds but if there's any other reason other than this i would like to know, Thanks
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




You are correct, the ability to re-roll wounds does not necessarily imply the ability to re-roll penetrations.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Wounds =/= penetration.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Valkyrie wrote:
Wounds =/= penetration.


Flickerfields/vehicle invuls kinda gos the other way with this.

Just saying, if a vehicle can take an invul save for glances/pens why not allow the reroll?

   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






Re-rolling failed To-Wound rolls is different to taking Flickerfield saves.

Rolling to Penetrate isn't rolling to wound, so you don't get a re-roll.

For the Flickerfield an invulnerable save is no different to a cover save at the end of the day - you roll it against damage results. Difference is, it'll work against Dangerous Terrain rolls and in Close Combat (and against weapons that ignore cover).

   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Ovion wrote:
Re-rolling failed To-Wound rolls is different to taking Flickerfield saves.

Rolling to Penetrate isn't rolling to wound, so you don't get a re-roll.

For the Flickerfield an invulnerable save is no different to a cover save at the end of the day - you roll it against damage results. Difference is, it'll work against Dangerous Terrain rolls and in Close Combat (and against weapons that ignore cover).


Considering you have to use a bit of logic to take an invul save on a vehicle as with the exception of Bjorn IIRC no vehicle is "allowed" to take them as Invul saves can only be taken for wounds.

Just saying they're comparable and honestly when do we draw the line

   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






Funny thing is - I can't find anywhere (and I've looked previously quite hard) that says Vehicles can actually take saves at all.

There's entries specifying they get a Cover Save from various things, but the actual entries for saves specify saves are taken against wounds, but we take the Cover Saves against Damage results too, but it's a teency bit vague on that at the end of the day.

From memory, Bjorn, any unit with a Flickerfield (Venom, Raider, Razorwing, Voidraven, Reaper, Raven, Tantalus), Daemon Engines (Defiler, Heldrake, Maulerfiend, Forgefiend) have an Invulnerable Save, which, same as above, is rolled against Damage results like a Cover Save+ (and has been confirmed to work as such in FAQs).

As for re-rolling To Wound rolls, it's quite specifically To-Wound rolls, not To-Pen rolls and there's really nothing vague about it. Both instances have a clear and separate term.

Hope this helped ^-^

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/15 03:09:20


   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Ovion wrote:
Funny thing is - I can't find anywhere (and I've looked previously quite hard) that says Vehicles can actually take saves at all.

There's entries specifying they get a Cover Save from various things, but the actual entries for saves specify saves are taken against wounds, but we take the Cover Saves against Damage results too, but it's a teency bit vague on that at the end of the day.

From memory, Bjorn, any unit with a Flickerfield (Venom, Raider, Razorwing, Voidraven, Reaper, Raven, Tantalus), Daemon Engines (Defiler, Heldrake, Maulerfiend, Forgefiend) have an Invulnerable Save, which, same as above, is rolled against Damage results like a Cover Save+ (and has been confirmed to work as such in FAQs).

As for re-rolling To Wound rolls, it's quite specifically To-Wound rolls, not To-Pen rolls and there's really nothing vague about it. Both instances have a clear and separate term.

Hope this helped ^-^


Either Bjorns FAQ/SW codex rule allows him to take invuls to Glances/penetrating hits. The other one's are just kinda floating around the common sense area ^^

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: