Switch Theme:

Boon Table Shenanigans  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Before the game, a CSM champ rolls 64 for his boon...Then rolls 64 again. Are these rolls cumulative? What happens?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, you get another D3+1 rolls.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thats what we thought. So we played it that way and he had a champ with +1 W,+1 WS and soulblaze . The other 2x rolls were duds ROFL
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I thought the table said a model can only apply a specific boon once, so (for example), of you roll two +1 WS, the second one doesn't apply. I'm at work so I coils be wrong, and would appreciate a correction of possible.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:
I thought the table said a model can only apply a specific boon once, so (for example), of you roll two +1 WS, the second one doesn't apply. I'm at work so I coils be wrong, and would appreciate a correction of possible.


one was wounds and the other was Weapon Skill.

And yes, if the boon is already applied then the roll has not effect. I think that is what the OP meant by Dud rolls.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

1-1 through 1-6 are also dud rolls.

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







40k-noob wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
I thought the table said a model can only apply a specific boon once, so (for example), of you roll two +1 WS, the second one doesn't apply. I'm at work so I coils be wrong, and would appreciate a correction of possible.


one was wounds and the other was Weapon Skill.

And yes, if the boon is already applied then the roll has not effect. I think that is what the OP meant by Dud rolls.


By the same token, if you roll extra D3+1 twice, you don't get the extra D3+1 rolls since that result was already applied.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 ClassicCarraway wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
I thought the table said a model can only apply a specific boon once, so (for example), of you roll two +1 WS, the second one doesn't apply. I'm at work so I coils be wrong, and would appreciate a correction of possible.


one was wounds and the other was Weapon Skill.

And yes, if the boon is already applied then the roll has not effect. I think that is what the OP meant by Dud rolls.


By the same token, if you roll extra D3+1 twice, you don't get the extra D3+1 rolls since that result was already applied.


That would seem to make sense also, except the roll of 64 is not a boon that the character has, it is just making additional rolls for boons.
   
Made in gb
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle




England

Arguably. It depends whether or not "multiple boons" is a boon in itself.

Did you know? The Reach belongs to the Forsworn. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 A Kvlt Ghost wrote:
Arguably. It depends whether or not "multiple boons" is a boon in itself.

If the Character "has" that boon, then the next time that character earned a boon table roll would he automatically get D3+1?
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

40k-noob wrote:
 A Kvlt Ghost wrote:
Arguably. It depends whether or not "multiple boons" is a boon in itself.

If the Character "has" that boon, then the next time that character earned a boon table roll would he automatically get D3+1?
Of course not. The initial roll of 64 is grants a boon of and additional D3+1 rolls. That boon cannot be granted again.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: