Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:01:04
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, because it says the fall back move is an exception to the [general rule] about moving through models.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:07:53
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:No, because it says the fall back move is an exception to the [general rule] about moving through models.
Ah, ok now I finally see what you're talking about. Not only does it reference the rule, it states the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:13:27
Subject: Re:An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Dipping With Wood Stain
|
Where is the rule that allows models to end their turn on another model? The comment may have been snide, but it was a good question.
I feel this  sums up the situation accurately.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 04:38:35
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
insaniak wrote:SlaveToDorkness wrote:Normally I stay out of YMDC but I'm posting in here now.
Er... ok.
My statement said that I don't come into YMDC but I am now, just like the statement on pg. 30 tells us both the rule and the exception.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/28 04:38:51
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 05:11:12
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
SlaveToDorkness wrote:My statement said that I don't come into YMDC but I am now, just like the statement on pg. 30 tells us both the rule and the exception.
I'm not seeing any relationship between the two statements, to be honest.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/28 20:27:42
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
This is the best explanation I've seen here. I've been lurking.
|
I'll show ye..... - Phillip J. Fry
Those are brave men knocking on our door! Let's go kill them! - Tyrion Lannister |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/05 21:55:48
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Just adding to this, pg. 85 under tank shocking has another reference "remember, though, that friendly models still cannot be moved through".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/05 22:49:02
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
In ur base, killin ur d00dz
|
I'm thinking it's not specifically stated because it sounds like it's mentioned in every other freaking rule. Like it says the "Normal rules for moving that state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model". It doesn't need a seperate rule to state that it's like two rules for the price of one if you will.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/05 23:31:20
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Under charge move on page 21 it says
"charging models still cannot move through friendly or enemy models, cannot pass through gaps narrower than their base..."
The use of "still" implies that it was mentioned before, but I can not see any mention of it under movement.
|
It is easier to extinguish the light within, than to dispell the darkness that surrounds without
DR:70S+++G+++M++B+++I+Pw40k88/f#-D+++A++++/fWD120R++++T(Pic)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/05 23:54:16
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Thorgrim Bloodcrow wrote:I'm thinking it's not specifically stated because it sounds like it's mentioned in every other freaking rule. Like it says the "Normal rules for moving that state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model". It doesn't need a seperate rule to state that it's like two rules for the price of one if you will.
It's not specifically mentioned because it used to be covered in the terrain section, when that was at the front of the book. When they shifted terrain to the back and took out the reference to models being impassable, they overlooked that this left no actual rule stating that this was still the case... just the references to that rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 00:07:54
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
In ur base, killin ur d00dz
|
insaniak wrote:Thorgrim Bloodcrow wrote:I'm thinking it's not specifically stated because it sounds like it's mentioned in every other freaking rule. Like it says the "Normal rules for moving that state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model". It doesn't need a seperate rule to state that it's like two rules for the price of one if you will.
It's not specifically mentioned because it used to be covered in the terrain section, when that was at the front of the book. When they shifted terrain to the back and took out the reference to models being impassable, they overlooked that this left no actual rule stating that this was still the case... just the references to that rule.
Just more common sense and great thinking from GW, right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 04:49:44
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
While i normally abide by RAW, i can not help but feel this is SO RAI that it is almost RAW. When a rule that doesn't exist is mentioned and in some cases outlined in almost every section of the book other than the one it should be in, the intent is obvious. But so is the gakky-proof reading.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 13:24:15
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
But as poor old Deathreaper has beeing trying to point out, the rule does exist, its just not written in the "movement" section where you might be expecting to find it. Given the complexity of the rule set there are quite a lot of rules that are placed arbitrarily thourgh the rulebook.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 17:25:14
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Flinty wrote:But as poor old Deathreaper has beeing trying to point out, the rule does exist, its just not written in the "movement" section where you might be expecting to find it. Given the complexity of the rule set there are quite a lot of rules that are placed arbitrarily thourgh the rulebook.
Restating a rule as a reference to a previous entry is not the same as having an original entry for those said references to point back to.
While we all do agree that the intent is clear as are all the further mentions of it, there is no actual first mention of said referenced rule.
It would be like looking at traffic light laws and saying "Green is go, Yellow is slow down. But remember, while you are allowed to go through a yellow, you're not allowed to go through a red light."
Sure, the rule is mentioned and it's obvious that you're not supposed to go through a red light, but it was still never originally mentioned as a baseline rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 17:48:11
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
Ft Hood TX
|
I believe theres somewhere in the BRB where it says no two models may enter inside an inch of another models unless it is moving into B2B (IE CQC). I dont have my BRB with me to cite a reference or even relook up, but it might give someone else on here something to look up.
I know it sounds petty, but I really do enjoy reading yal's arguements. Its like nerd politics.
|
Retribution of Scyrah: p/eVryos, Garryth, Kaylessa. 50/150 painted.
Space Marines Salamanders (Sons of Vulcan) 500/2000 painted. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 17:54:20
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Blacksheep8Delta wrote:I believe theres somewhere in the BRB where it says no two models may enter inside an inch of another models unless it is moving into B2B (IE CQC). I dont have my BRB with me to cite a reference or even relook up, but it might give someone else on here something to look up.
I know it sounds petty, but I really do enjoy reading yal's arguements. Its like nerd politics.
This is not a rule in 40k. It's a rule in Fantasy, however.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 17:58:39
Subject: An interesting question that came up in tournament play
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Blacksheep8Delta wrote:I believe theres somewhere in the BRB where it says no two models may enter inside an inch of another models unless it is moving into B2B (IE CQC). I dont have my BRB with me to cite a reference or even relook up, but it might give someone else on here something to look up.
I know it sounds petty, but I really do enjoy reading yal's arguements. Its like nerd politics.
That is for enemy models.
The no moving through another model rule is on P.30:
"This is an exception to the normal rules for moving that state that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model"
What do the normal rules for moving state?
"that a model cannot move through a space occupied by another model"
It literally lists the rule as a baseline rule on P.30 as well as an exception to this rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|