Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 08:14:02
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
From things I have read across multiple forums it appears that you are permitted to bring a ghost ark with a squad of 20 cron warriors. I have a two folded question...
1) Can you have x number of cron warriors (up to 10 ofc following its rules for capacity) on the GA and the rest beside it (or do is there an empty GA on the field with a unit of 20 cron warriors next to it)?
2) And using the assumed ruling above can you have members of a royal court that have been attached to the unit (usually 1 unless multiple courts) get on the GA by themselves and or with some of the unit?
ex 1 Harbinger of Destruction on GA that was added to the unit, or 1 Harbinger of Destruction with 9 warriors on the GA and the other 11 on foot.
Thanks in advance for the help =D
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 09:25:11
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
AxMVanquish wrote:
From things I have read across multiple forums it appears that you are permitted to bring a ghost ark with a squad of 20 cron warriors. I have a two folded question...
1) Can you have x number of cron warriors (up to 10 ofc following its rules for capacity) on the GA and the rest beside it (or do is there an empty GA on the field with a unit of 20 cron warriors next to it)?
No.
Page 78, Embarking: The whole unit must be able to embark - if some models are out of range, the entire unit must stay outside.
You're still obviously allowed to purchase the Ghost Ark as dedicated transport but until after the warrior unit has suffered enough casualties, they're not allowed to embark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 09:26:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 09:40:10
Subject: Re:Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
One could argue that rule is only in reference to distance, and not capacity. If the entire unit is in range, then that rule does not necessarily apply here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 11:24:52
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
if you buy a dedicated transport, doesn't the unit have to be deployed in that transport?
in whcih case thsi woudln't work as the ark can only carry 10 models.
I dont think you would be able to embark the Cryptek by themselves as they are not allowed to detach from their unit. it woudl be like tryign to put just the sergeant from a marien squad in the units rhino.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 11:28:22
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Praxiss wrote:if you buy a dedicated transport, doesn't the unit have to be deployed in that transport?
in whcih case thsi woudln't work as the ark can only carry 10 models.
I dont think you would be able to embark the Cryptek by themselves as they are not allowed to detach from their unit. it woudl be like tryign to put just the sergeant from a marien squad in the units rhino.
Nope, the unit can be deployed outside of the transport. The only requirement is that they have to be deployed at the same time.
So its entirely possible to buy a block of 20 warriors, and have a GA follow them.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 11:30:03
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: Praxiss wrote:if you buy a dedicated transport, doesn't the unit have to be deployed in that transport?
in whcih case thsi woudln't work as the ark can only carry 10 models.
I dont think you would be able to embark the Cryptek by themselves as they are not allowed to detach from their unit. it woudl be like tryign to put just the sergeant from a marien squad in the units rhino.
Nope, the unit can be deployed outside of the transport. The only requirement is that they have to be deployed at the same time.
So its entirely possible to buy a block of 20 warriors, and have a GA follow them.
Huh, fair enough.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 15:09:37
Subject: Re:Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
azazel the cat wrote:One could argue that rule is only in reference to distance, and not capacity. If the entire unit is in range, then that rule does not necessarily apply here.
Yes, but there are also following rules you're then missing:
When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside and Each Transport vehicle has a maximum passenger capacity that can never be exceeded , meaning that as whole unit is always embarking. Automatically Appended Next Post: Praxiss wrote:if you buy a dedicated transport, doesn't the unit have to be deployed in that transport?
Nope. The only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with. .
So for example you could deploy the 20 man warrior squad on board while keeping the GA in reserves, or vice versa.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 15:13:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 16:47:59
Subject: Re:Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Luide wrote: azazel the cat wrote:One could argue that rule is only in reference to distance, and not capacity. If the entire unit is in range, then that rule does not necessarily apply here.
Yes, but there are also following rules you're then missing:
When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside and Each Transport vehicle has a maximum passenger capacity that can never be exceeded , meaning that as whole unit is always embarking.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Praxiss wrote:if you buy a dedicated transport, doesn't the unit have to be deployed in that transport?
Nope. The only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with. .
So for example you could deploy the 20 man warrior squad on board while keeping the GA in reserves, or vice versa.
The other restriction would be if you infiltrate with your dedicated transport, you must be deployed embarked in it.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 19:00:55
Subject: Re:Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
Luide wrote: azazel the cat wrote:One could argue that rule is only in reference to distance, and not capacity. If the entire unit is in range, then that rule does not necessarily apply here.
Yes, but there are also following rules you're then missing:
When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside and Each Transport vehicle has a maximum passenger capacity that can never be exceeded , meaning that as whole unit is always embarking.
Again, the maximum capacity part is not applicable, as nobody is talking about turning the Ghost Ark into a clown car.
However, the remove-the-unit-from-the-table part does seem to prevent half of a unit from embarking, so I'll concede that one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 19:56:06
Subject: Necron Ghost Ark Question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
AxMVanquish wrote:
From things I have read across multiple forums it appears that you are permitted to bring a ghost ark with a squad of 20 cron warriors.
Yes completely legal to buy it as a dedicated transport, but they can not embark when above 10 models in the squad, but it can follow them and regenerate warriors.
AxMVanquish wrote:
2) And using the assumed ruling above can you have members of a royal court that have been attached to the unit (usually 1 unless multiple courts) get on the GA by themselves and or with some of the unit?
ex 1 Harbinger of Destruction on GA that was added to the unit, or 1 Harbinger of Destruction with 9 warriors on the GA and the other 11 on foot.
They must all either be inside the transport or none of them, if you have an IC attached to the warriors squad he can embark on the ghost ark by himself(can't begin the game embarked unless he is attached to the squad of warriors who it was purchased for and they are also embarked).
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
|