Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 20:31:14
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Canada
|
So, the rulebook states that a unit cannot charge on a turn it entered from reserve.
The boarding plank lets attacks be made "as if the Ork were disembarked and charging."
If the vehicle came in from reserve that turn, does this mean that since "the Ork" would not be allowed to charge, it wouldn't be able to use the boarding plank? The wording seems a bit sketchy to me because in this case it says "as if you are doing something you aren't allowed to do".
I didn't see anything in the FAQ about how this affects overwatch either, so if anyone knows if the enemy gets overwatch shots that would be helpful to know too.
|
tgjensen wrote:labmouse42 wrote:Another problem is the abject masculinity of the game. Nearly every character I've read about has the emotional range of a turnip. Hate, Anger, Fear, Loyalty, and Worship. That's about it.
Christ, where do you buy your turnips? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 20:35:59
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The wording of a 4th ed Codex in 6th ed is unfortunately going to be sketchy.
Stricktly speaking you shouldn't be able to use it, you can't be charging if unable to charge.
I don't think this is how it should work though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 20:54:31
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
iSNT IT ASSAULTING , And isnt assaulting on the turn arriving from reserves a no no. Just another ork nerf....
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 21:14:35
Subject: Re:Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The boarding planks allow you to charge as if you were disembarked, but even if you were disembarked you couldn't charge so I say they don't help you on the turn you come in from reserve. Next turn, they do.
|
DS:70S++G+MB-IPw40k10#+D++++A+/aWD-R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 21:15:21
Subject: Re:Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
No it doesn't. It allows you to assault as if you were disembarked and charging.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 23:19:54
Subject: Re:Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
Going strictly on the wording of the rule, I'd say it's currently allowed, unless the FAQ it later. The end of the rule says an embarked ork can use it "provided that neither vehicle moved more than 12 inches." Since that's the only condition stated in the codex that disallows the use of a boarding plank, looks legit to me. Might be a bit of a stretch to make that claim, but that's my opinion on the matter.
Also, being able to use it on the turn the vehicle arrives doesn't seem to be too over powered in the scope of 6th ed rules. Only one Ork can make the attack. Plus, how often do you get to use planks? My trukks usually get blasted before they get close enough to use anything like that. That, and you have to follow the restrictions for not only the movement of your vehicle, but the opponents as well.
EDIT: Oh, and also, the rule states the ork can makes his attacks using the plank "exactly as if the ork were disembarked and charging." Technically, it's not an assault.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/13 23:23:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 23:39:37
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The BRB does give another restriction to the boarding plank, albeit indirectly, if the vehicle has arrived from reserve that turn.
That is because you can not be counted "as if you were disembarked and charging." as you are not allowed to charge anything the turn you arrive from reserve.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 23:52:42
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
DeathReaper wrote:The BRB does give another restriction to the boarding plank, albeit indirectly, if the vehicle has arrived from reserve that turn.
That is because you can not be counted "as if you were disembarked and charging." as you are not allowed to charge anything the turn you arrive from reserve.
I could concede that. But, the codex, which is the specific that trumps the general, only lays down one restriction to using it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 23:54:26
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Rottooth wrote: DeathReaper wrote:The BRB does give another restriction to the boarding plank, albeit indirectly, if the vehicle has arrived from reserve that turn.
That is because you can not be counted "as if you were disembarked and charging." as you are not allowed to charge anything the turn you arrive from reserve.
I could concede that. But, the codex, which is the specific that trumps the general, only lays down one restriction to using it.
That would be true if there was a conflict. For example, if the Ork Codex said that the plank could be used immediately on entering from Reserve.
Since the Codex is silent on coming in from Reserve, theres no conflict and both rules apply.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/13 23:54:39
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 00:01:58
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
rigeld2 wrote: Rottooth wrote: DeathReaper wrote:The BRB does give another restriction to the boarding plank, albeit indirectly, if the vehicle has arrived from reserve that turn.
That is because you can not be counted "as if you were disembarked and charging." as you are not allowed to charge anything the turn you arrive from reserve.
I could concede that. But, the codex, which is the specific that trumps the general, only lays down one restriction to using it.
That would be true if there was a conflict. For example, if the Ork Codex said that the plank could be used immediately on entering from Reserve.
Since the Codex is silent on coming in from Reserve, theres no conflict and both rules apply.
I have no counter to this. Darn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 00:33:56
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Counter argument, Ymgarls deployment says they may move, run and assault normally, which means they shouldn't be able to assault as normally you can't assault after arriving from reserve. Their FAQ allows them to assault.
The wording on the plank says you may use it to assault as if you were disembarked and charging, which is something you also wouldn't normally be allowed to do.
Not 100% behind this, just devil's advocate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 00:37:00
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ymgarls specify they can assault normally after arriving from reserves.
Boarding plank doesn't.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 02:55:09
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:Ymgarls specify they can assault normally after arriving from reserves.
Boarding plank doesn't.
Hmm but the normal assault coming from reserves is no assault?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 02:58:12
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No assault cannot be a "normal" assault.
""The Ymgarls can move and assault normally in the same turn they are revealed.""
Pretty basic sentence.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 03:09:38
Subject: Re:Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Canada
|
So, getting back to boarding planks...
The consensus is that even though it essentially says "pretend you are charging", since you aren't allowed to charge, you aren't allowed to pretend you are charging either?
|
tgjensen wrote:labmouse42 wrote:Another problem is the abject masculinity of the game. Nearly every character I've read about has the emotional range of a turnip. Hate, Anger, Fear, Loyalty, and Worship. That's about it.
Christ, where do you buy your turnips? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 03:19:05
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule states that a unit cannot "charge" the turn it arrives from reserves. The Ork using the boarding plank is not charging. It is making close combat attacks, much like successive turns of combat vs a Vehicle that did not move after being charged. Using the "as if disembarked and charging" to me, would be to determine the number of attacks and special rules (furious charge) that would be used to determine the attacks made by the Ork.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/14 19:43:37
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"as if disembarked and charging" means he has to be able to charge otherwise the attacks can not be performed.
because we treat the Ork "as if disembarked and charging" which can not happen on the turn he arrives from reserve.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 05:44:10
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
DeathReaper wrote:"as if disembarked and charging" means he has to be able to charge otherwise the attacks can not be performed.
because we treat the Ork "as if disembarked and charging" which can not happen on the turn he arrives from reserve.
Yet Ymgarls FAQ allows them to charge despite not being normally allowed to charge after arriving from reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 05:58:09
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yes, because the Dormant rules specifically says that they can assault normally on the turn they arrive from reserve.
The Boarding Plank doesn't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 11:58:07
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Traceoftoxin wrote: DeathReaper wrote:"as if disembarked and charging" means he has to be able to charge otherwise the attacks can not be performed.
because we treat the Ork "as if disembarked and charging" which can not happen on the turn he arrives from reserve.
Yet Ymgarls FAQ allows them to charge despite not being normally allowed to charge after arriving from reserves.
That definitely doesn't mean everything can then do it.
There are currently only 3 things that can assault on the same turn they arrive from reserve. Ymgarls are one, boarding planks aren't another.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 12:53:12
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
You cannot shoot on your opponents turn but some codex's let you do that. You cannot arrive via deepstrike on your oppoents turn, but some codexes let you do that. It is not a charge. It is a special attack, from the vehicle that counts the stats of it's embarked troops. In a quirky way it's like the PowerKlaw is a gun, and it must "shoot" during the assault phase, but it has a range of 2".
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 13:11:03
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
axeman1n wrote:You cannot shoot on your opponents turn but some codex's let you do that. You cannot arrive via deepstrike on your oppoents turn, but some codexes let you do that. It is not a charge. It is a special attack, from the vehicle that counts the stats of it's embarked troops. In a quirky way it's like the PowerKlaw is a gun, and it must "shoot" during the assault phase, but it has a range of 2".
That's all very nice, but because of the unfortunate wording they chose to use, the rules are nothing like you describe.
HIWPI is totally different, it's an old 4th ed codex, allowances must be made to make it work.
But RAW, the wording on disembarking and charging, causes problems.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 13:12:29
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
We do know that the boarding plank does not follow all the normal close combat rules as is. The ork cannot be attacked back and he can attack a different unit then the one shot in the shooting phase. Clearly it would be a special attack and not an assault yes? Now I can defiantly see that unlike Ymgarls there is not enough to say without a doubt they do work like that, but it would be my opinion, as worthless as that is, that boarding planks can be used on the turn the vehicle comes in from reserves.
An aside though. How would this situation occur? Someone is deep within the orks lines, as the trukk is coming from the board edge and cannot move farther then 12 inches (13 with red paint)? Seems like a bit of an unlikely scenario to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 14:31:30
Subject: Re:Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Canada
|
A few scenarios:
1) Trukk left in reserve, enemy came down in a drop-pod, or moved really fast.
2) In something like planetstrike where the attackers all start off the board, and the defenders can deploy near the edges.
3) Apocalypse, using the formation that lets you enter from any board edge.
I agree it's unlikely enough to never really show up in a normal game, but it is possible.
|
tgjensen wrote:labmouse42 wrote:Another problem is the abject masculinity of the game. Nearly every character I've read about has the emotional range of a turnip. Hate, Anger, Fear, Loyalty, and Worship. That's about it.
Christ, where do you buy your turnips? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 14:32:49
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
4) Warlord trait that allows a unit to Outflank, they can take their DT with them.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 16:14:26
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I'd like to support the "it can do it" side of the argument.
The rule for the boarding planks says:
"A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"."
The only thing that people would say is the problem is the "charging" part. So let us look further into this.
Page 125 says: Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be activated at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserves.
Pretty simple; the unit cannot charge. But, wait, what does charge mean exactly? Page 20 tells us:
"To resolve a charge, use the following procedure:
-First, pick one of your units, and declare which enemy unit it wishes to charge.
-Then, the target enemy unit gets to make a special kind of Shooting attack called Overwatch.
-Once Overwatch is resolved, roll the charge distance for the unit and, if it is in range, move it into contact with the enemy unit - this is sometimes called 'launching an assault'."
The boarding planks does not follow the charge rules, ergo, it isn't a charge.
It should also be pointed out that "as if it were' is subjunctive mood, which means it expresses a state of unreality. "As if it were disembarked" implies that the model stays embarked on the transport. In the same way, "As if it were [...] charging" implies the model is not charging.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 16:17:55
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:I'd like to support the "it can do it" side of the argument. The boarding planks does not follow the charge rules, ergo, it isn't a charge.
Unfortunately the rules do not agree with you. "as if the Ork were disembarked and charging" You can not be "as if disembarked and charging" on the turn you arrive from reserve. because you are not allowed to be charging. As If is the same as Treated as/ We have to pretend the Ork is "disembarked and charging" but we have a rule stating we can not charge, so the ork can not be "disembarked and charging" on the turn it arrives.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 16:19:01
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 16:33:41
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You say the rules disagree with me, though, you provide nothing that back it up. You just restart your argument that it can't be done. I'd like you to point out in what way me following the rules is wrong.
But you did bring up an interest concept: Pretend. The rules say the Ork cannot charge when it comes in from reserves; I agree there. You say we have to pretend, though, that the Ork is charging. Where in the rules does it say that you cannot pretend to charge when entering from reserves?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 17:15:36
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its more an issue that the rule isnt stating that the Orks are charging. It is not actually charging. It is making a close combat attack while Embarked. Since there are no rules allowing this or clarifying how to do it, the rule uses the comparison to charging. "as if disembarked and charging." is the codex way of creating a new rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/16 17:28:54
Subject: Ork Boarding Planks and reserve
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:You say the rules disagree with me, though, you provide nothing that back it up. You just restart your argument that it can't be done. I'd like you to point out in what way me following the rules is wrong.
I said it before, but Ill say it again. The rule for the boarding planks says: "A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"." You can not be "as if disembarked and charging" on the turn you arrive from reserve. because you are not allowed to be charging. Schrodingers_Kitty wrote:But you did bring up an interest concept: Pretend. The rules say the Ork cannot charge when it comes in from reserves; I agree there. You say we have to pretend, though, that the Ork is charging. Where in the rules does it say that you cannot pretend to charge when entering from reserves?
The same place it says you can not charge the turn you enter from reserves. If you can not perform an action, you can not be treated as if you are performing that action either.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/16 17:30:16
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|