Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transports and Deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Alaska

Is it possible to purchase a dedicated transport for a unit that can not actually fit inside of it, and merely deploy the transport as a separate unit?

Example: A friend of mine wants to deploy a 20-man squad of Necron warriors. He also wants to purchase a ghost ark to stay with them and provide fire support. Is it possible to do this, or will he have to lower his squad size to ten and start them embarked on the ghost ark?

Thanks

Slaneesh may seem fun now, but when you find yourself in bed with a he-goat and several implements of pain, you'll know you've gone too far. -Emperor's Faithful

"Oh, Brother Asmodai! Yes, spank me! I've been heretical!"
"Feel the Emperor's judgement, Azrael!"
"Oooh, yes! Purge me! Purge me!" -Cheese Elemental

'In the eye of Terror, it's still the '80's. And that's a good thing.' -Necroagogo 
   
Made in gb
Ichor-Dripping Talos Monstrosity






It depends on the codex. If it specifies the unit has to be under X size, then no.

But certain books (such as the Sisters of Battle) can take them whatever squad size it is.

   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Alaska

In this case, the Necron codex makes no mention of unit size in relation to the Ghost Ark, so I guess he's good to go.

Thank you for help!

Slaneesh may seem fun now, but when you find yourself in bed with a he-goat and several implements of pain, you'll know you've gone too far. -Emperor's Faithful

"Oh, Brother Asmodai! Yes, spank me! I've been heretical!"
"Feel the Emperor's judgement, Azrael!"
"Oooh, yes! Purge me! Purge me!" -Cheese Elemental

'In the eye of Terror, it's still the '80's. And that's a good thing.' -Necroagogo 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You're never required to deploy in a dedicated transport - it's just that the only unit that has the option to is the one that bought it.

Similarly any unit can start embarked in a non-dedicated transport.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
You're never required to deploy in a dedicated transport - it's just that the only unit that has the option to is the one that bought it.

Similarly any unit can start embarked in a non-dedicated transport.


THIS.

There was a question at a tournament we held not long ago. The recent Codex: Space Marine FAQ states that even if a unit has more than 6 models, it may select a Razorback as a dedicated Transport.. A player decided to interpret this as meaning his squad of ten marines can deploy inside a Razorback (with a stated transport capacity of six). This is not the case! They simply deploy on the table separately.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: