Switch Theme:

Staff of Despair and Feel No Pain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Gig Harbor, Washington

Recently playing against my brother his Lone Wolf FNP'd a wound from Staff of Despair[S8/AP1; vs Ld not T]. At the time it had altogether slipped our minds that you can't FNP a hit that would cause Instant Death, even if you have Eternal Warrior. However my question is whether it counts as an ID attack since its vs Ld or is the determination for ID separate from determining the wound.

1000 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




If you wound against leadership than instant death is calculated against leadership.
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




Please cite your source pyrian. The instant death rules make no mention of this, neither do the rules for the abyssal staff.
"If a model suffers a unsaved wound from an attack that has a strength value of double its toughness value or greater (after modifiers), it is reduced to 0 wounds and removed as a casualty."
That is the only requirement for instant death.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

Neronoxx wrote:
Please cite your source pyrian. The instant death rules make no mention of this, neither do the rules for the abyssal staff.
"If a model suffers a unsaved wound from an attack that has a strength value of double its toughness value or greater (after modifiers), it is reduced to 0 wounds and removed as a casualty."
That is the only requirement for instant death.


Q: When using an abyssal staff, do you use the target’s Toughness or
Leadership for the purposes of working out if Instant Death applies?
(p84)
A: You use the target’s Leadership.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570047a_Necrons_v1.1.pdf

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Edit: Ninja'ed

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 18:48:29


 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Neronoxx wrote:
So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?

Yes - pretty much every LD based wound mechanic (I know DE have one as well) has been FAQed the same.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

rigeld2 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?

Yes - pretty much every LD based wound mechanic (I know DE have one as well) has been FAQed the same.


DE one:

Q: When using Asdrubael Vect’s Obsidian Orbs or the Orbs of Despair,
do you use the target’s Toughness or Leadership for the purposes of
working out if Instant Death applies? (p55)
A: You use the target’s Leadership.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570041a_Dark_Eldar_v1.1.pdf

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

rigeld2 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?

Yes - pretty much every LD based wound mechanic (I know DE have one as well) has been FAQed the same.

The problem is that unless every single LD based wounding mechanic has been FAQed, people will question the ones that haven't been updated. Imotek's lighting hitting flyer's is a perfect example of this.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

I can't think of any others outside the Staff and the Orbs.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 undertow wrote:
The problem is that unless every single LD based wounding mechanic has been FAQed...
They actually have. It ought to be a general by now, given that they've been FAQ'ing this exact issue repeatedly since 3rd edition's Assassin codex' FAQ.

 undertow wrote:
...people will question the ones that haven't been updated.
There comes a point when precedent should just be accepted.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





The callidus assassin from the grey knights codex has one too, the 'neural shredder'.

"Q: When using a Callidus Assassin’s Neural Shredder, do you use the targets Toughness or Leadership for the purposes of working out if Instant Death applies? (p53)
A: You use the target’s Leadership."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/18 01:17:05


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

For completeness' sake:

Q: When using a Callidus Assassin’s Neural Shredder, do you use the
targets Toughness or Leadership for the purposes of working out if
Instant Death applies? (p53)
A: You use the target’s Leadership.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570043a_Grey_Knights_v1.1.pdf

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 undertow wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?

Yes - pretty much every LD based wound mechanic (I know DE have one as well) has been FAQed the same.

The problem is that unless every single LD based wounding mechanic has been FAQed, people will question the ones that haven't been updated. Imotek's lighting hitting flyer's is a perfect example of this.


Imotek's lightening doesn't hit against Ld Its just straight Str8.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Gig Harbor, Washington

I think he was trying to make a connection between conflicting rules wherein the RAW says one thing and the FAQ gives exceptions or more RAW. For Imotekh's Lightning its about hitting Flyers but the point is moot since the ability auto-hits (I'm assuming the confusion was over not having Skyfire lol. Its a lightning bolt, of course it would have 'skyfire'. Where do you think it came from ) So far the FAQ has not changed Imotekh's ability to fry flyers which unlike most ground vehicles have crap armor which is supposed to be compensated by being Flyers in the first place.

1000 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





 Grey Templar wrote:
 undertow wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
So for the abyssal staff this is true. Do we have any other instances of this ruling?

Yes - pretty much every LD based wound mechanic (I know DE have one as well) has been FAQed the same.

The problem is that unless every single LD based wounding mechanic has been FAQed, people will question the ones that haven't been updated. Imotek's lighting hitting flyer's is a perfect example of this.


Imotek's lightening doesn't hit against Ld Its just straight Str8.


Considering flyers dont have leadership or toughness thats not the comparison undertow is making...though I'd think using Bjorn's invunerable save FAQ as a better example for using FAQ precedent to similar rules. Imotek lightning hitting flyers is a conflict between two FAQ answers not that Imotek's rule needs an FAQ.
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Gig Harbor, Washington

He has conflicting FAQ answers? I realize this is off topic so I'll put in in spoilers.
Spoiler:
One says Chronometron can be used with it if the respective models are in the same unit.
One says it ignores Stealth/Shrouded from Night Fighting.
One says the 'day' created by the solar pulse disables his lightning for that turn.
One says you aren't forced to roll to see if Night Fighting persists.

None of these seem to conflict with anything, expecially each other.


Either way my original question has been answered. Is the ID effect determined by Leadership or Toughness for the purposes of the Abyssal Staff: Leadership.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/18 07:59:23


1000 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: