| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 08:15:34
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
hello dakka,
quick question about applying a weapon destroyed result against a dreadnought armed with a multi-melta and a DCCW w/built in storm bolter. since the storm bolter is built into the DCCW, do they count as a single weapon or two separate weapons? in other words, does the dreadnought count as having a total of 2 weapons or 3?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 08:25:51
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
3, but if the weapon destroyed result is chosen by your opponent (if this is even an option anymore), and they choose the DCCW, you lose both it and the built-in weapon.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 08:29:19
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
BRB says the weapon that gets destroyed is chosen randomly. I just wasn't sure if I should be rolling d2 or d3 to figure it out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 08:41:14
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
You roll for it - taking the random result.
If you roll your storm bolter then thats all thats gone.
however, lose your dreadnought ccw arm and it takes the bolter with it.
|
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 09:22:34
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Where are people getting that losing the DCCW also takes out the storm bolter? There's nothing about it in the FAQ, and the closest similar example would be the Razorback Lascannon/Plasmagun turret, which the FAQ goes on to state are considered independant of each other for weapon destroyed.
Not saying you're wrong - I've just not heard anyone try to play it that way before nor can I recall reading anything to support it.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 09:23:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 14:50:18
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
the words built in kinda set that in stone for us really...
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 14:52:56
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar
|
This is the way I've always played it. Anything that is built-in, like the DCCW( SB) get taken out together with one hit. So your basic dread had 2 options, one for each arm.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 14:54:57
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Scotland, UK
|
If I recall, this is correct
Since the storm bolter is built into the DCCW its considered 'one weapon' for weapon destroyed results
Correct me if Im wrong
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 15:07:26
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Nathemo wrote:
If I recall, this is correct
Since the storm bolter is built into the DCCW its considered 'one weapon' for weapon destroyed results
Correct me if Im wrong
Kind of.
The storm bolter can be destroyed seperately. So a Dread with DCCW; MM;Built in SB will have 3 weapons.
However if you roll up DCCW you blow up the DCCW+Storm Bolter
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 15:17:58
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Scotland, UK
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Nathemo wrote:
If I recall, this is correct
Since the storm bolter is built into the DCCW its considered 'one weapon' for weapon destroyed results
Correct me if Im wrong
Kind of.
The storm bolter can be destroyed seperately. So a Dread with DCCW; MM;Built in SB will have 3 weapons.
However if you roll up DCCW you blow up the DCCW+Storm Bolter
I see, I thought you rolled for it as 'one weapon'. Learn something new every day
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 15:36:22
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
is this just the accepted way to play it or can someone point me to an actual page number? it seems reasonable, I'm just curious if it's in official black and white somewhere.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 15:38:28
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
varl wrote:is this just the accepted way to play it or can someone point me to an actual page number? it seems reasonable, I'm just curious if it's in official black and white somewhere.
IIRC the storm bolter going with the DCCW was from a prior SM FAQ. However it does say built-in.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 17:24:35
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
For the number of weapons - that is black and white; randomly choose a weapon. No exception for "built in" weapons
For removing built in weapons when their arm is gone? You could try to use it, but you have no permission to draw LOS, range etc as the mount is gone. So again, play it that it is still "there", but you cannot make usre of it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 17:54:58
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Just FYI, it says it in the "Weapon Destroyed" results section in the BRB. Pg. 74
"Weapon Destroyed. One of the vehicle's weapons (randomly chosen) is destroyed - including any combi- or built in weapons. This can include vehicle upgrades that function as weapons, such as pintle-mounted storm bolters or hunter-killer missiles. Do not count weapons that have run out of ammunition - they're already non-functional for the most part. If a vehicle has no weapons left, treat this result as an Immobilized result instead (see below)."
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/17 17:55:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/17 18:52:18
Subject: weapon destroyed vs. SM dreadnoughts
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Ugh. I fail at reading. I read that passage 3 times last night and totally missed the built-in part. Thank you
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|