Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/19 14:09:40
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Defending Guardian Defender
|
Can a flyer leave the table on the turn it arrived deliberately?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/19 14:17:54
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Not during the movement phase. It can flat out during Shooting however.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/20 09:04:41
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
rigeld2 wrote:Not during the movement phase. It can flat out during Shooting however.
I do not think a zooming flyer can move flatout only 18-36, I know they can if they are in hover mode but then again you can not come on the board in hover mode.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/20 12:03:56
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
"A zooming flyer that goes flat out must move forwards in a straight line between 12" and 24"" (81)
If you couldn't do it, there wouldn't be a rule telling how far you could move.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/20 22:22:25
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
The game does become stupid if you let flat out leave the board though. "Oh hi, my flyer is literally invincible and can drop troops on T5. This will be super fun!". Fortunately, the rules have this to say: "It's quite likely that a Flyer making a Zoom move will leave the board, either deliberately or by accident.". So, what is a Zoom move? "Flyers can usually only make a special kind of move called Zoom." I would say a flat out move is not a Zoom move, so has no permission to leave the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/20 22:28:39
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
You can't disembark and flat out in the same turn. You can't do anything at flat out in the same turn, really.
And yes, flyers going flat out are still zooming. That was discussed in another thread some time ago, as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/20 22:29:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/20 23:36:47
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Eyjio wrote:The game does become stupid if you let flat out leave the board though. "Oh hi, my flyer is literally invincible and can drop troops on T5. This will be super fun!". Fortunately, the rules have this to say: "It's quite likely that a Flyer making a Zoom move will leave the board, either deliberately or by accident.". So, what is a Zoom move? "Flyers can usually only make a special kind of move called Zoom." I would say a flat out move is not a Zoom move, so has no permission to leave the board.
Seriously, have you read the rules quote above which tells you how far a zooming flyer moves?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 00:01:47
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
In the cases of the unit disembarking before the vehicle moves the vehicle can move normally, so says Page 79. Unless I missed something. "If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." (79) Stroggified wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Not during the movement phase. It can flat out during Shooting however. I do not think a zooming flyer can move flatout only 18-36, I know they can if they are in hover mode but then again you can not come on the board in hover mode.
The underlined is incorrect. P.81 says explicitly that you can enter from reserves in either Zoom or hover mode.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/21 00:05:32
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 09:05:04
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - nope, you cannot have someone disembark and then flatout, same as 5th
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 09:24:45
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 09:33:04
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
"If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally. If the vehicle had already moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move further...that turn." (RB p79) Seems like if the vehicle was stationary, the troops can get out and the vehicle can then move normally. But if the vehicle has already moved, then it cannot move flat out after the troops disembarked. There is no general restriction on moving flat out after disembarking.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/21 09:34:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 09:56:27
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hmm, looks like I was just imagining it. Could have sworn I saw that restriction still in there.
Apoloigies everyone
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 17:05:31
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I thought it was under flat out.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 17:24:11
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The only restriction on Flat out in the vehicles section that I have found is on P.72 "A Tank cannot move Flat out in the same turn that it performs a Tank Shock." (72) Also it looks like you can disembark a squad, then declare zoom for the flyer. Because P. 79 disembarking says "If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." Unless I missed something.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/21 17:28:01
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 17:46:06
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
DeathReaper wrote:In the cases of the unit disembarking before the vehicle moves the vehicle can move normally, so says Page 79. Unless I missed something.
"If the vehicle had not moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle can then move normally." (79)
Hm, man I could have sworn I read it somewhere just the other day. But ya, you're right on that from what I can see. Thanks.
But, for the case at hand to the topic of the thread, it is not possible to do it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/21 17:46:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 18:05:19
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
You can't disembark a unit and then Zoom. It's in the preceding paragraph, although the grammar is messed up.
page 79 wrote:A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc.) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".
The vehicle's still limited to 6" if a unit gets out.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 18:56:27
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except that can only relate to the movement phase, and not the shooting phase - "moved" must refer to the time context of disembarking, which is Movement phase
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 19:06:39
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Except that can only relate to the movement phase, and not the shooting phase - "moved" must refer to the time context of disembarking, which is Movement phase
Nevermind, I missed his first sentence.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/21 19:45:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 19:13:32
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Mannahnin wrote:You can't disembark a unit and then Zoom. It's in the preceding paragraph, although the grammar is messed up.
page 79 wrote:A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc.) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".
The vehicle's still limited to 6" if a unit gets out.
But when they disembark the vehicle has not moved at all.
So it has not moved more than 6 inches.
The "so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6" clause refers to the "after the vehicle has moved" part of the sentence.
Basically what it is saying is that a unit can disembark so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6 inches.
This does not limit the vehicles movement as the vehicle can move normally.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/21 19:42:27
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Mannahnin wrote:You can't disembark a unit and then Zoom. It's in the preceding paragraph, although the grammar is messed up.
page 79 wrote:A unit that begins its Movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc.) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".
The vehicle's still limited to 6" if a unit gets out.
In the instance of the nightscythe though the FAQ states they can disembark any time before or after.
“Invasion Beams: A unit that begins its Movement phase
embarked upon a Night Scythe can disembark before or after
the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc) so
long as the vehicle has not moved more than 36". If the Night
Scythe moves more than 24" in the same turn, the disembarking
unit can only fire Snap Shots.”
I'm sure other flyers with the ability to disembark troops while zooming have similar clauses in their rules. However, with how this rule addition is worded it implies you would not be able to utilize your full flatout movement if it would bring you over 36" as there is no mention of movement phase, only movement. And flat out *is* movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/21 19:43:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 14:16:57
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The problem with not restricting the movement of the flyer if the squad disembarks before it moves is that it functionally never has to Hover, then. I could Zoom my BA Storm Raven onto the table 36", then the next turn disembark and assault with my Death Company, and have the SR Zoom away, never giving my opponent a chance to shoot at it without Skyfire or needing 6s.
I really think the rule I quoted on page 79 does mean to restrict the movement of the vehicle after disembarkation as well.
Night Scythes are a special case as GW has made them able to embark and disembark normally despite zooming.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 17:01:59
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"has not moved" cannot mean "will not move" - the meanings are incredibly different!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 22:12:24
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
You must declare, before the flyer moves, which movement type you will be using. It doesn't say "immediately before" so im fairly certain you can declare it will be moving as hover type, disembark troops, then move normally as a fast skimmer.
Until you declare it's type, you cannot embark or disembark models from the flyer. There's no such thing as a schroedinger's cat mode. It must be one or the other.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 22:36:35
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fafnir13 wrote:You must declare, before the flyer moves, which movement type you will be using. It doesn't say "immediately before" so im fairly certain you can declare it will be moving as hover type, disembark troops, then move normally as a fast skimmer.
Until you declare it's type, you cannot embark or disembark models from the flyer. There's no such thing as a schroedinger's cat mode. It must be one or the other.
The underlined is false.
You only move one unit at a time and you must complete all of that units movement before you move another unit. This is described on P. 10
It does say "You must declare, before the flyer moves" but it gives no specific time frame therefore at any point before the flyer moves you can declare the flyer in zoom or hover mode if that is at the beginning of your movement phase, or almost the end of the movement phase, as long as it is before the flyer moves then you are following the rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 22:43:35
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
You only have permission to disembark from a flyer that is in hover mode. Until it has been declared as such, you cannot disembark.
You can still make the declaration, disembark troops, then move as a fast skimmer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 22:55:32
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fafnir13 wrote:You only have permission to disembark from a flyer that is in hover mode.
Citation needed, because I do not see that rule. Page 80-81 do not have any restrictions on disembarking from a Zooming Flyer. We have permission to disembark from a vehicle. as long as it has been stationary or moved 6 inches or less. a flyer that has not moved yet this turn fits the criteria.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/22 22:56:04
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 23:35:28
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Except that the rules clearly state you may not disembark from a Zooming Flyer. You must first determine what the movement type is before you can attempt to interact with the object.
I'll grant that this is an excellent example of a RAW loop hole that the unscrupulous could make a fair attempt at during gameplay. However, RAI is so painfully clear in this instance. If played the way proposed, every flyer in the game would be free to drop troops off while never leaving Zoom mode without the aid of any special rule. Others have noted this before.
But I doubt that will convince you. I usually read YMDC just to see what crazy stuff a person might try to pull on the table, allowing me to work through it ahead of time without the pressure/bias of an ongoing game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 23:55:59
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fafnir13 wrote:Except that the rules clearly state you may not disembark from a Zooming Flyer.
Can you provide a page number please, because I could not find it.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 00:34:46
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: Fafnir13 wrote:You only have permission to disembark from a flyer that is in hover mode.
Citation needed, because I do not see that rule.
Page 80-81 do not have any restrictions on disembarking from a Zooming Flyer.
We have permission to disembark from a vehicle. as long as it has been stationary or moved 6 inches or less.
a flyer that has not moved yet this turn fits the criteria.
This is untrue. Zooming requires a minimum movement of more than the 6" allowed to disembark from a vehicle. If you choose to disembark from a zooming flyer, then it cannot move more than 6" and would subsequently crash. Although this would bring into question whether or not you can "voluntarily" move only 6".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 01:36:17
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
How does that make what I said untrue?
We have permission to disembark from a vehicle. as long as it has been stationary or moved 6 inches or less.
When you disembark from a flyer that has not moved yet you are allowed to disembark because the vehicle has not moved in the current movement phase.
Can you provide a page number and directions to the rules that disallow disembarking from a stationary flyer, because I have shown permission to disembark from a stationary vehicle. P.79 under Disembarking.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|