Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 14:39:39
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So I have a few question for the new DA codex that have popped up from reading it.
1. Darkshrouds have the stealth special rule given to them in the FoC, but not under their description. Do they have stealth and the special rule shroud from the angels special rule and thus a 2+ cover when they move at all times?
2. Hurricane bolters are specifically worded as a set of 3 twin linked boltguns that fire as 1 weapon. Does this mean that banner of devastation makes them 2/4 salvo hurricane bolters, thus a darktalon / crusader within 6" of the banner could fire 24 twin linked shots a turn from the bolters?
3. Belial in his description has iron halo, but in his FoC is not listed with it in his wargear, which is true?
4. Deathwing Knights smite, is it 1 extra attack at +6 str and AP2 or is it all of their attacks that turn?
5. How does banner of devastation work in a vehicle? would it affect everything within 6" of the hull of say a land raider crusader if I put the command squad inside it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 14:51:06
Subject: Re:A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
1 & 3, The Codex is full of little errors like this, we will have to wait for an Errata to be sure.
4, All attacks that turn.
5, Fairly sure you'd measure from the hull, since you have no other reference point.
2, I don't know.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 14:53:35
Subject: Re:A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Quanar wrote:1 & 3, The Codex is full of little errors like this, we will have to wait for an Errata to be sure.
The $49.50 doesn't include an editor's review, apparently.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/13 14:53:51
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 14:55:24
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Rebel_Princess
|
icefire78 wrote:So I have a few question for the new DA codex that have popped up from reading it.
1. Darkshrouds have the stealth special rule given to them in the FoC, but not under their description. Do they have stealth and the special rule shroud from the angels special rule and thus a 2+ cover when they move at all times?
Dunno. In Spanish they don't have it in either one. Atm it seems they are indeed Stealthed + Shrouded. Most likely they aren't supposed to have Stealth, just Shrouded - Vetock has just failed.
2. Hurricane bolters are specifically worded as a set of 3 twin linked boltguns that fire as 1 weapon. Does this mean that banner of devastation makes them 2/4 salvo hurricane bolters, thus a darktalon / crusader within 6" of the banner could fire 24 twin linked shots a turn from the bolters?
If Hurricane Bolters (and bike bolters for that matter) are bolters, then yes, it does. Are bolters bolters?
3. Belial in his description has iron halo, but in his FoC is not listed with it in his wargear, which is true?
Plasma talon has no type in Armoury but has one in Summary. It's supposed to be rapid fire. Belial is supposed to have Iron Halo too.
4. Deathwing Knights smite, is it 1 extra attack at +6 str and AP2 or is it all of their attacks that turn?
Second
5. How does banner of devastation work in a vehicle? would it affect everything within 6" of the hull of say a land raider crusader if I put the command squad inside it?
[b]Same way as everything else. Measure from the hull
|
Forever a pone. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 15:03:04
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, cool ty. Makes me happy that the smite works with all attacks. Also dear lord that banner + dark talons and crusaders now. I have me a firing squad from heck.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 17:10:01
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) No stealth, specifically mentions they do not get it. iOS codex has the correct information.
2) No, because it isnt a bolter, its a hurricane bolter.
3) Yep, he has an iron halo. Yet more ommisions.
4) All attacks, as it states that your weapon profile changes
5) Measure from hull, check rules for embarked models - page 96 from memory? Transport rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 17:30:16
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Rebel_Princess
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:1) No stealth, specifically mentions they do not get it. iOS codex has the correct information.
Why is the Apple version more correct than the English printed one?
2) No, because it isnt a bolter, its a hurricane bolter.
And Bike bolters aren't bolters either, I guess? Because they are Twin-linked Bolters. A Hurricane Bolter consists of three Twin-linked Bolters
|
Forever a pone. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 18:03:42
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
The iOs version seems to have been updated with errata before release, most of the iOS codecies have had stealth updates to correct errors/FAQ problems.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 22:15:26
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
The hurricane bolter and the twin bolters are not bolters at the moment, in the same vein as a hotshot lasgun is not a lasgun, not that I wouldn't love a crusader rocking 24 twin linked bolter shots on the move, also if that did work then storm bolters would get the bonus too wouldn't it... After all its a bolter, realistically the faq will most likely give us a list of what is considered a bolter for this list, here's hoping storm bolters do get added lol, 40 shots from a full termy squad would be amazing
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 22:22:12
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Actually Hurricane bolter in the DA codexunder ranged weapon specifically states that it is a weapon consisting of 3 twin-linked boltguns fired as a single weapon. The banner specifically states boltguns is the reason I know it doesn't work on storm bolters. And bikes are equipped with twin linked boltguns as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 22:32:04
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Yep all true ice, but twin boltguns are not boltguns, there.twin boltguns a totally different weapon that has a similar profile, I refer to the hotshot lasgun not being a lasgun again.
A better way.to put it is power weapons, we have several different types that are called pw but we know that they are all separate, so if the rule said "all power weapons" we would knowit was all pw, now if it said "all power mauls" we would know it is just mauls and not.axes.etc, this is what the banner does, its.just boltguns it mentions, not all boltgun types
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 23:28:24
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Formosa wrote:Yep all true ice, but twin boltguns are not boltguns, there.twin boltguns a totally different weapon that has a similar profile, I refer to the hotshot lasgun not being a lasgun again.
A better way.to put it is power weapons, we have several different types that are called pw but we know that they are all separate, so if the rule said "all power weapons" we would knowit was all pw, now if it said "all power mauls" we would know it is just mauls and not.axes.etc, this is what the banner does, its.just boltguns it mentions, not all boltgun types
The difference is, twin-linked is a standard prefix for weapons which grants them the twin-linked rule, it's not the same as lasguns vs hotshot lasguns, or bolters vs storm bolters.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/13 23:37:58
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I agree it's a pre fix that makes a weapon another type of weapon, my point with the lasgun is that just because it had the same name doesn't mean that it is the same weapon, another good example is the lascannon, a standard lascannon cannot 're-roll to hit, a twin one can, these share the same stats bit are not the same weapon, as one is twin-linked, the other is not, hurricane bolters fire as 3 twin bolters but it is not a bolter for the purpose of the banner, as it is a hurricane bolter Automatically Appended Next Post: Actually a thought occurs, if twin bolters and bolters are the same weapon, then I can take twin bolters on all my marines right? As they are the same weapon?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/13 23:39:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 01:24:27
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
So why can you say they share the stats if they are different weapons? And why can they share the stats but not other special rules that are associated?
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 01:59:29
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
Formosa, now it just seems you're being obtuse on purpose. There is a kind of weapon, Boltguns. They are affected by the Banner of Devastation. Some Boltguns also have additional rules, such as being twin-linked. Still Boltguns. Your argument is like saying that being Master-Crafted alters the weapon type, which it certainly does not. Now, to be fair, there is some room for contention with Hurricane Boltguns, but with the Twin-Linked ones on bikes? Certainly not.
Also, your Lasgun/Hotshot Lasgun analogy does not work. There are two separate entries for Lasguns and Hotshot Lasguns. There is no such distinction for Boltguns/Twin-Linked Boltguns. It is simply an additional rule conferred to an existing wargear item.
|
"I have seen war in all its forms. I have seen feral world savages braining each other with stones and I have monitored the death of a whole planet at the hands of a virus bomb. I have seen Space Marines drop to certain death and win. I have seen Titans crush whole platoons underfoot.
But there is no more stirring sight in war than the charge of massed cavalry."
-Dravin Gratz, 14th Tharinga |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 02:28:38
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
In regards to hurricane bolt guns, they use the bolt gun profile. Like a combi weapon uses the boltgun profile when shooting the boltgun part. All boltguns become salvo, so if you need to know what the hurricane bolter, or combi bolter, uses for the boltgun profile you would use the salvo rules right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 06:02:33
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
At least in this codex, a hurricane bolter says specifically it is three boltguns. It's just one weapon for the purposes of getting a weapon destroyed.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 11:19:34
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Sooo, a twin bolter is a bolter... Sweet all my marines now got twin bolters, cos there the same weapon
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 11:29:39
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They are a bolter with the twinlinked rule. Do you have an allowance to take bolters with the twinlinked special rule? If so, page and paragraph
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 11:34:38
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Lost in the warp while searching for a new codex
|
Do your marines have two boltguns each?
|
I cannot believe in a God who wants to be praised all the time.
15k
10k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 13:03:19
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
So the short answer is no I can't take twin bolters on marines as they are a different weapon type, and yes to another question asked earlier, mc power weapons are unusual pw.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 14:05:54
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Formosa wrote:So the short answer is no I can't take twin bolters on marines as they are a different weapon type, and yes to another question asked earlier, mc power weapons are unusual pw.
So if something affected power weapons, you would say it does not affect master crafted power weapons?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/14 14:07:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 14:23:00
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
master crafted power weapons are just power weapons you can re-roll. thwy are not unusual. that would be for the DA chapter relics and such.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 15:55:29
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I thought we went over this when 6th came out, and people asked if lemartes's master-crafted power maul was ap3 because it was an "unusual" power weapon and the answer was no, it was just a regular ap4 power maul that got a reroll from the master-crafted rule.
A twin-linked bolt gun IS a BOLT GUN, but it is twin-linked.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 18:40:39
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Spellbound wrote:I thought we went over this when 6th came out, and people asked if lemartes's master-crafted power maul was ap3 because it was an "unusual" power weapon and the answer was no, it was just a regular ap4 power maul that got a reroll from the master-crafted rule.
Actually it was just a back and forth of whether or not USRs (if I may use 5th ed terminology) counted as special rules for the purposes of making a power weapon "unusual". It took a FAQ to basically clear it up.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 19:07:35
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
|
Master-Crafted makes it an unusual Power Weapon? Now you're really off the deep end. Weapon types stay the same and some are granted additional special rules. Doesn't change what they are.
|
"I have seen war in all its forms. I have seen feral world savages braining each other with stones and I have monitored the death of a whole planet at the hands of a virus bomb. I have seen Space Marines drop to certain death and win. I have seen Titans crush whole platoons underfoot.
But there is no more stirring sight in war than the charge of massed cavalry."
-Dravin Gratz, 14th Tharinga |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/14 19:14:42
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Loki Kaden wrote:Master-Crafted makes it an unusual Power Weapon? Now you're really off the deep end. Weapon types stay the same and some are granted additional special rules. Doesn't change what they are.
That was the argument.
Side A said "Power weapons with special rules are unusual. Master-crafted is a special rule. Therefore, a master-crafted power weapon is unusual."
Side B said "...you guys are idiots. That rule does not apply to " USRs" therefore it is a power weapon as modeled and has the Master-crafted special rule."
Side A replied " No you guys are wrong."
Side B replied "We are right and you are wrong."
Then it went back and forth for a while and got lost in the massive number of dead threads, because the Mods said, "Both of you shut up."
Disclaimer: words might not have been said exactly as posted.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/15 13:04:59
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Go to the main rulebook, there is a page that lists boltguns on it, storm bolters, combi bolters etc are on there, so I guess I retract my statement, as there is a list of boltguns, of which storm bolters are one, untill the faq come out this is the list of weapons I will use to determine what is affected by the banner
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 01:29:04
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Rebel_Princess
|
By Formosa's train of thought I guess you also fire Vulcan Mega-Bolters as Salvo 2/4, GK Hurricane Bolters don't get Psybolts, Master-Crafted non-power non-force weapons don't work since they aren't weapons with additional special rules and so on, twin-linked weapons can't be fired and so on.
|
Forever a pone. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 02:33:51
Subject: A question on banner of devastation and other things DA
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Your forgetting that it stated "Boltgun" referring to a specific weapon not "Boltguns" referring to a category of weapons.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
|