Switch Theme:

Necron Doomscythes and firing the death ray  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






I'm starting to fly Doomscythes in my Necron army now and I need to get some clarification on how the death ray works. I understand the whole draw a 3d6 line 12" from the gun but do they take unsaved wounds from where the line starts or from model closest to the scythe? Sometimes I draw the line perpendicular to the scythe such that the starting point is closer (which I guess it usually would be). How about hitting vehicles? If the scythe is in the forward arc but the line is drawn through the vehicles side arc am I hitting on the side of vehicle or is it based on the where the scythe is sitting?
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Draw a straight line, anythgin under line takes the hit. Vehicles are hit on the armour facing the Doomscythe (as per normal shooting)

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Necron:

Wounds are allocated to the closest model to the vehicle first, as usual with firing.

Only models within the 45 degree LOS of the vehicle can have wounds allocated to them, as per page 16
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




But vehicles can be penetrated even beyond that 45 degree limitation.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

copper.talos wrote:
But vehicles can be penetrated even beyond that 45 degree limitation.


Only if you can draw LOS to it's hull/turret. If you're outside the 45 degree arc, I'm not seeing how you're doing this.

Shooting at vehicles pg 73.

Arc LoS pg 72

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/14 15:08:57


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The claim is thtat page 16 only applies to owunds, and not armour penetration
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Only if you can draw LOS to it's hull/turret. If you're outside the 45 degree arc, I'm not seeing how you're doing this.

Shooting at vehicles pg 73.

Arc LoS pg 72


The out of sight rule prevents wounds not vehicle damage. So Death Ray can damage vehicles beyond that 45 degree limit.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Models take wounds as per who is closest to the models gun. The only way it changes is if a rule states it does or your gun is firing on "barrage" mode, if it has one.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:
The claim is thtat page 16 only applies to owunds, and not armour penetration
This is actually valid strict RAW claim. Though if you accept this argument, you must also accept that Invulnerable saves on vehicles do nothing (except on Bjorn, who has been FAQ'd) .
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not even FAQ'd, his rules detail exactly how invulnerable saves work for him
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

copper.talos wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Only if you can draw LOS to it's hull/turret. If you're outside the 45 degree arc, I'm not seeing how you're doing this.

Shooting at vehicles pg 73.

Arc LoS pg 72


The out of sight rule prevents wounds not vehicle damage. So Death Ray can damage vehicles beyond that 45 degree limit.


Ok and PG 73 tells us that if a unit fires at a vehicle it "must" be able to see its hull or turret.

Follow the rules for vehicle weapon and LOS on pg 72.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Yes, but the Death Ray does not target a vehicle, unit or a model. It targets two points and anything that lies underneath that line is hit by the Death Ray. So there is explicit permission to hit models that the Death Ray does not "target" as long as that model falls underneath the line between those two points. Page 16 covers how to deal with wounds once all models with wounds are treated once they are no longer in LOS. However, there is no such rule when dealing with vehicles so vehicles are still hit and roll for penetration as normal.

Aycee
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Aycee71 wrote:
Yes, but the Death Ray does not target a vehicle, unit or a model. It targets two points and anything that lies underneath that line is hit by the Death Ray. So there is explicit permission to hit models that the Death Ray does not "target" as long as that model falls underneath the line between those two points. Page 16 covers how to deal with wounds once all models with wounds are treated once they are no longer in LOS. However, there is no such rule when dealing with vehicles so vehicles are still hit and roll for penetration as normal.

Aycee


I'd say it would depend. If the initial unit is in sight I'd agree. If the vehicle is out of LOS I disagree completely.

JoTWW Deny the Witch (which unit is the target) IIRC

   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




JotWW is completely different from the Death Ray.

The Death Ray hits anything between 2 points so it bypasses normal shooting rules. "Out of sight" stops allocation of wounds, not vehicle damage, so no problems whatsoever to destroy vehicles out of "LoS".

Such is the whims of RAW. RAI I think is foolish to have weapons that are completely independent of LoS to hit an enemy, such as the Death Ray or the Vibrocannon, but cannot wound it...
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Aycee71 wrote:
Yes, but the Death Ray does not target a vehicle, unit or a model. It targets two points and anything that lies underneath that line is hit by the Death Ray. So there is explicit permission to hit models that the Death Ray does not "target" as long as that model falls underneath the line between those two points. Page 16 covers how to deal with wounds once all models with wounds are treated once they are no longer in LOS. However, there is no such rule when dealing with vehicles so vehicles are still hit and roll for penetration as normal.

Aycee


I'd say it would depend. If the initial unit is in sight I'd agree. If the vehicle is out of LOS I disagree completely.

JoTWW Deny the Witch (which unit is the target) IIRC


My ex also disagreed with me on numerous things. However, RAW I still have not seen where my points are not valid in the way the Death Ray targets points and hits models underneath the line.

Necron Codex pg 50
"To fire the death ray, nominate a point on the battlefield...nominate a second point...draw a straight line between the two points. Every unit...underneath the line suffers a number of hits equal to the number of models in the unit underneath the line."

This instructs us on how to target the Death Ray. It never targets another unit or model but points. The limitation on page 72 of only being able to shoot at a vehicle where it has to see the turret or hull is not in effect because the Death Ray never shoots at anything other then two points on the battlefield. We then go to the results of hitting models underneath the line. In the BRB pg 16 it tells us that models with wound who are out of LOS are not wounded as the wound pool is emptied. In regards to vehicles, it has no such emptying of the pool so it goes straight to armor penetration and the results thereof.

Aycee
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

We'll just have to agree to disagree. As the Death Ray is what is firing. In other places it has shown that the first unit hit is the "target" .

Actually that tells you how to fire the Death Ray. "To fire the death ray".

If we go by that route where it never targets, than lets toss out the Psy FAQ's with lines that say they "target" the first unit hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 02:16:33


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: