Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 11:06:47
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
New FAQs are up. Some changes I've seen:
Farseer powers cannot affect units out of transports.
Nids now disembark from Spores like infantry from vehicles,
No Cover Saves from Vector Strike, Random allocation
Force Weapon activation before FNP.
Units in Nightscythe don't take damage.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 11:18:49
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
Ireland
|
Most importantly, (for me that is)
Abaddon is not prevented from joining units with a Mark of Chaos.
Also the Noise Marine changes are very interesting. They can now take a Blastmaster when they number less than 10. At 10 models they may take a second Blastmaster. Also the Champ got his Close Combat Weapon.
|
By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!
- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 11:25:14
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Finally a clear answer on seeker missiles vs flyers.
Q: If Seeker Missiles are fired at a Zooming Flyer or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, what To Hit roll do they require? (p31)
A: 6+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 11:46:26
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
NeoGliwice III
|
Great.. Eldar needed a nerf to guide..
Also inb4: "I was right, rules lawyers are stoooopid!!11oneone"
|
Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 12:12:40
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Voodoo_Chile wrote:Also the Noise Marine changes are very interesting. They can now take a Blastmaster when they number less than 10. At 10 models they may take a second Blastmaster. Also the Champ got his Close Combat Weapon.
Noticed that as well; that's going to make a lot of Emperor's Children players very happy. Also, good to see that they've picked up most (all?) of the major rules issues for Dark Angels that have been discussed already. (Admittedly I'm not completely up to date with them, so there might still be some in dispute.) Pretty pleased so far.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 12:23:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 12:48:10
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
The helldrake finally got a ruling. You measure the baleflamer from the base any direction you see fit. lol
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 13:15:16
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Trasvi wrote:Finally a clear answer on seeker missiles vs flyers. Q: If Seeker Missiles are fired at a Zooming Flyer or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, what To Hit roll do they require? (p31) A: 6+ Great, good to know the idiots at Games Workshop have no idea what the implication of their rules are, it's totally reasonable that you have to burn 6 one shot weapons and fire 36 markerlights on average at a flyer to get a single seeker hit. edit: In hindsight perhaps a bit overzealous of me, but this issue has always bothered me whenever it comes up.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/16 13:34:07
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 13:41:59
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does it say anything about if units coming in from Reserves count as moving?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 13:47:54
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
olcottr wrote:Does it say anything about if units coming in from Reserves count as moving?
???
The rulebook says that units move on from Reserve, so why would that be covered in a FAQ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:00:57
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Q: Some units have rules that mean their selection permits other units from that detachment to be selected as if they belonged to different parts of their Codex army list (Heavy Support choices chosen as Troops for example). If such a permissive unit is killed, do these rules immediately cease to apply (e.g. units chosen as Troops that were not Troops originally cease to count as such and so cannot be Scoring units, or worse become illedgal units due to excess choices from one or more sections of the army list)? (p109) A: No. I cannot believe that required an FAQ. Who actually used the argument "Ha, Khârn is dead, and I see you already took 3 units of chaos terminators, well, since those berzerkers aren't troops anymore, you now have more than 3 elites, which is illegal, therefore I win!!!111" in a game? Also: Q: How do I determine the Arc of Sight for a Heldrake’s ranged weapon? (p52) A: Treat the Heldrake’s ranged weapon as a Turret Mounted Weapon, measuring all ranges from the edge of the Heldrake’s base nearest to the target unit. Helldrake now gets a 360 arc of sight courtesy of what could be one of the strangest FAQ rulings I've ever seen.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 14:06:09
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:12:48
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
NeoGliwice III
|
@Avatar:
I don't think that was the intent. I think it's more like:
My SC died, does my Elite unit still score \ does that unit counts as FA or troops for this particular mission (if you get points for killing FA)?
|
Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:16:49
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I'm fine with the hell drake ruling, that head can clearly articulate in "real life", so I allowed it in game
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:19:41
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:On another note - Blessings can be used the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Iron Arm Doom just got significantly deadlier.
Really? how?
It says outflank and reserve rolls, so thats when rolling for a 3 plus to see if they come on, not the scatter dice or movement from reserve.
Moved it over here since more general than range wound allocation. (Where the comments were)
Iron Arm has nothing to do with outflank or reserve.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68) A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Before, he'd have to cast Iron Arm off the board and couldn't, so your opponent gets a turn to try and ID him. Now he arrives from Reserves (since that's part of rolling for Reserves) and can cast the Blessing then. Eternal Warrior the turn he lands will be nice.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:28:40
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:On another note - Blessings can be used the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Iron Arm Doom just got significantly deadlier.
Really? how?
It says outflank and reserve rolls, so thats when rolling for a 3 plus to see if they come on, not the scatter dice or movement from reserve.
Moved it over here since more general than range wound allocation. (Where the comments were)
Iron Arm has nothing to do with outflank or reserve.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68) A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Before, he'd have to cast Iron Arm off the board and couldn't, so your opponent gets a turn to try and ID him. Now he arrives from Reserves (since that's part of rolling for Reserves) and can cast the Blessing then. Eternal Warrior the turn he lands will be nice.
On a turn where Swarmlord was forced to outflank by say, scenario rules, he could walk on the board and cast iron arm then .?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:33:23
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
No. the reference to reserves and outflank means that you can roll these first and then cast any blessing you want to the units that arrive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:33:28
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW FAQ wrote:Q: If I have the classic Howling Banshee Exarch model with a power
axe, does she strike at Initiative 1 (for Unwieldy) or Initiative 10 (for
the Banshee Mask)? (p31)
A: Neither. Treat the axe as a stylised executioner for +10
points.
Way to completely dodge the question, GW. Thanks! What if any or all the other banshees in the squad are modeled with axes? Can I arm them with Executioners as well for +10 points a model?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 14:33:51
What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money
"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:37:08
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Stormbreed wrote:
On a turn where Swarmlord was forced to outflank by say, scenario rules, he could walk on the board and cast iron arm then .?
Actually if you look at the rules for Reserves arriving you see that at the start of the turn you actually roll for all your units to see if they are arriving and after that you pick one unit that is arriving, move it on from reserves, rinse and repeat.
So technically speaking the argument could be made that only the rolls to see what Reserves will be arriving are occurring at the start of the turn and therefore this ruling only tells us that we're allowed to know what units will be arriving before casting Blessings, not that this would actually allow a unit moving on from Reserve to have a blessing cast on it.
This is in tune with the caveat on pg 125 of the rulebook which says: "unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn in the turn it arrives from reserve."
But it is definitely a confusing FAQ answer for that reason and needs to be further clarified.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:52:31
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Resolving the reserve roll includes moving the units on the board. So using the FAQ you have permission to resolve the reserve rolls and then cast blessings.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 14:58:49
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Resolving the reserve roll includes moving the units on the board. So using the FAQ you have permission to resolve the reserve rolls and then cast blessings.
Well not technically. You resolve all the rolls for reserves first before moving any reserve units onto the table. As long as you don't go and move any units that started the turn on the table, there's no reason you couldn't roll all the reserve rolls first, do some other 'start of turn' action next and then come back and move the units arriving from reserve onto the table.
But I do agree that the FAQ answer seems to strongly imply what you are saying...but my point is there is a window of doubt there, especially given that the FAQ question asks about 'rolls' and not specifically reserve units actually arriving on the table.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 14:59:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:05:57
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Resolving the roll is simply determining the result of the roll - applying any modifiers, etc. I see it the same as Yakface, in that all this does is let you see who is coming on the board before being forced to cast blessings.
It cannot mean "...and move on", as you do not resolve that beofre resolving other dice rolls for reserves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:07:37
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
yakface wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Resolving the reserve roll includes moving the units on the board. So using the FAQ you have permission to resolve the reserve rolls and then cast blessings.
Well not technically. You resolve all the rolls for reserves first before moving any reserve units onto the table. As long as you don't go and move any units that started the turn on the table, there's no reason you couldn't roll all the reserve rolls first, do some other 'start of turn' action next and then come back and move the units arriving from reserve onto the table.
But I do agree that the FAQ answer seems to strongly imply what you are saying...but my point is there is a window of doubt there, especially given that the FAQ question asks about 'rolls' and not specifically reserve units actually arriving on the table.
I've always read that combination of rules to mean that a psyker arriving from Reserves couldn't cast start-of-turn powers, but a psyker already on the board COULD target a unit arriving from Reserve with start-of-turn powers. I'm not sure that the wording of the FAQ changes that interpretation for me.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:09:06
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Gavin Thorne wrote:GW FAQ wrote:Q: If I have the classic Howling Banshee Exarch model with a power
axe, does she strike at Initiative 1 (for Unwieldy) or Initiative 10 (for
the Banshee Mask)? (p31)
A: Neither. Treat the axe as a stylised executioner for +10
points.
Way to completely dodge the question, GW. Thanks! What if any or all the other banshees in the squad are modeled with axes? Can I arm them with Executioners as well for +10 points a model?
Banshees were restricted to only swords via the last FAQ IIRC. Stupid ruling as they are entirely irrelevant at this point and I10 axes on the charge might have made them usable but no, we cant have that.
Farseers really needed another nerf? Oh well, i stopped taking WS even before 6th came out. Harlequin spam ftw.
|
"Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers, all of which are true and terrifying to know."
-Inquisitor Czevak
~14k
~10k
~5k corsairs
~3k DKOK |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:11:00
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Nervous Accuser
|
They could have clarified the reserve rolls/psychic powers so you could cast power that alter the reserve rolls. Like GK's psychic communion, although i didn't know there was any issue there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:25:41
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The Farseer casting out of a vehicle with no Fire Points was actually a big bone of contention in our group and was due for a FAQ'ing. Our Eldar player may not be happy with the ruling but at least they made one!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:28:53
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yakface wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Resolving the reserve roll includes moving the units on the board. So using the FAQ you have permission to resolve the reserve rolls and then cast blessings.
Well not technically. You resolve all the rolls for reserves first before moving any reserve units onto the table. As long as you don't go and move any units that started the turn on the table, there's no reason you couldn't roll all the reserve rolls first, do some other 'start of turn' action next and then come back and move the units arriving from reserve onto the table.
But I do agree that the FAQ answer seems to strongly imply what you are saying...but my point is there is a window of doubt there, especially given that the FAQ question asks about 'rolls' and not specifically reserve units actually arriving on the table.
I agree with Yakface, and thanks Rigeld for moving it here  .
I think the FAQ is in reference to scriers gaze, the divination power.
The way I did it bother was, roll for reserves, cast psyhic powers, move reserves onto board (whether outflanking or deepstriking) then do normal movement. Now I can cast the psyhic power then roll for reserves (scriers gaze lets you roll 3d6 and pick what you want) then do reserve moves
Reserve rolls were deemed beginning of turn in the BRB.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:29:30
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Avatar 720 wrote:Q: Some units have rules that mean their selection permits other
units from that detachment to be selected as if they belonged to
different parts of their Codex army list (Heavy Support choices
chosen as Troops for example). If such a permissive unit is killed, do
these rules immediately cease to apply (e.g. units chosen as Troops
that were not Troops originally cease to count as such and so cannot
be Scoring units, or worse become illedgal units due to excess choices
from one or more sections of the army list)? (p109)
A: No.
I cannot believe that required an FAQ. Who actually used the argument "Ha, Khârn is dead, and I see you already took 3 units of chaos terminators, well, since those berzerkers aren't troops anymore, you now have more than 3 elites, which is illegal, therefore I win!!!111" in a game?
I'm pretty sure they had to put this in due to the BRB faq about warlord trait's being lost as soon as the warlord dies. In other words they were trying to make sure some of us don't claim that the HQ's "normal" special rules are lost causing the game to implode. So it's not that anyone has used the argument, it's that someone inevitably would make that argument without it.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:38:05
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As an IG player, I can see someone making the argument that killing Chenkov means you lose SINTW, and killing Creed makes you lose Scout on that one unit. But of course, the FAQ doesn't cover those.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:49:51
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Page 31 – Howling Banshees, Banshee Mask.
Replace this entry with the following:
Banshee Mask: In the first round of an assault, a model wearing
a Banshee mask has Initiative 10, even if it charged through
difficult terrain. Furthermore, defensive grenades cannot be
used against a charging model with a Banshee Mask
Is this new or did I miss this before?
|
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:52:22
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PredaKhaine wrote:Page 31 – Howling Banshees, Banshee Mask. Replace this entry with the following: Banshee Mask: In the first round of an assault, a model wearing a Banshee mask has Initiative 10, even if it charged through difficult terrain. Furthermore, defensive grenades cannot be used against a charging model with a Banshee Mask Is this new or did I miss this before? If the text is "pink" it is new, it if it not pink then it was added in previous FAQ's
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 15:52:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:56:43
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:On another note - Blessings can be used the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Iron Arm Doom just got significantly deadlier.
Really? how?
It says outflank and reserve rolls, so thats when rolling for a 3 plus to see if they come on, not the scatter dice or movement from reserve.
Moved it over here since more general than range wound allocation. (Where the comments were)
Iron Arm has nothing to do with outflank or reserve.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68) A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Before, he'd have to cast Iron Arm off the board and couldn't, so your opponent gets a turn to try and ID him. Now he arrives from Reserves (since that's part of rolling for Reserves) and can cast the Blessing then. Eternal Warrior the turn he lands will be nice.
Don't think that is true, even post FAQ. Blessing have to happen before movement and coming in from Reserve counts as movement. I think this ruling was more to effect how you can cast on other units.
|
|
 |
 |
|