Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 15:57:10
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
40k-noob wrote:If the text is "pink" it is new, it if it not pink then it was added in previous FAQ's
Just plain don't remember seeing that one before. Had to roll off for charging through cover on the w/end...
And given the amount of errors through gw stuff, do I trust them to correctly highlight things in pink?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/16 15:59:22
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:05:48
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Way to kick the Sky Ray while its down, Games Workship. Now the Tau's dedicated anti-aircraft platform has the worst accuracy of any unit in the game versus aircraft.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:05:56
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW still missed the Swarm and Droppod hull point lose debates. But did get FNP at least.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:07:02
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Yeah, i am 99% sure some of the highlighting is off, having said that if they were smart they would use a diff and this way it would be auto highlighted for them.
I was wondering about the scriers gaze which can now be used before reserves without question.
Thing is regardless of the psyker being on the board when other psykers are casting their powers, i don't see anything that changes this rule from pg. 67
On a turn that a psyker arrives from reserve (see page 124) he cannot attempt to manifest any psychic powers that must be manifested at the start of the Movement phase.
So no, you still can't buff a on the turn that it arrives with it's own powers but you could cast endurance on it's unit from a psyker that was on the board previous to this turn.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:09:01
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
USA
|
Trasvi wrote:Finally a clear answer on seeker missiles vs flyers.
Q: If Seeker Missiles are fired at a Zooming Flyer or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, what To Hit roll do they require? (p31)
A: 6+
It would have been nice if they had clarified Imotek's lightning vs Flyers as well.
|
Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:12:22
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
don't forget the enfeeble debate
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:17:50
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
It seems SoB, SM, and IG were missed, is this purposeful?
|
Blood Ravens 2nd Company (C:SM)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:20:14
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
I'm hoping it means they are making last minute changes to include a few things like the drop pod issue. I guess we'll know soon enough one way or the other.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:24:30
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Another thing they missed again is, what is your army. So I guess by now its official that the mad dok can cybork up his allies or any other ally/army shenanigans you want to do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 16:56:38
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
NeoGliwice III
|
PredaKhaine wrote:40k-noob wrote:If the text is "pink" it is new, it if it not pink then it was added in previous FAQ's
Just plain don't remember seeing that one before. Had to roll off for charging through cover on the w/end...
And given the amount of errors through gw stuff, do I trust them to correctly highlight things in pink?
That one is definitely old. Same as CMS's 30 cultist-zombies thing. It's still pink but it was definitely included in the first FAQ.
|
Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 17:15:04
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Trasvi wrote:Finally a clear answer on seeker missiles vs flyers.
Q: If Seeker Missiles are fired at a Zooming Flyer or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, what To Hit roll do they require? (p31)
A: 6+
This makes me sad :(
Was one of the reasons I was actually playing my Skyray a bit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 17:53:28
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Vector strikes now ignore cover.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 18:36:11
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually, there is a change regarding zombies. It's subtle and I almost missed it. The change it's what gets replaced by the rule.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 18:47:41
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Also, rending on vehicles is no longer ap2. That is a pretty significant nerf to rending units.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 19:08:37
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Tomb King wrote:Also, rending on vehicles is no longer ap2. That is a pretty significant nerf to rending units.
Well they never were, as the AP2 was under the to wound part of rending.
Happyjew wrote:Actually, there is a change regarding zombies. It's subtle and I almost missed it. The change it's what gets replaced by the rule.
Well it is not really a change, because if you read it as replacing the whole rule you could never take plague zombies. If you read it as changing that specific line in the zombie rule it made perfect sense.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 19:15:57
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Happyjew wrote:Actually, there is a change regarding zombies. It's subtle and I almost missed it. The change it's what gets replaced by the rule.
Well what is it? If it's the part that they have more then 10 models that was already there.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 19:17:37
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jegsar wrote: Happyjew wrote:Actually, there is a change regarding zombies. It's subtle and I almost missed it. The change it's what gets replaced by the rule.
Well what is it? If it's the part that they have more then 10 models that was already there.
It used to say:
but now it says:
Page 61 – Typhus, Plague Zombies.
Change the second sentence to read ‘Plague Zombies are
Chaos Cultists that have the Fearless, Feel No Pain and Slow
and Purposeful special rules and cannot purchase options
other than to add additional models to the unit.’
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/16 19:18:04
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 19:26:47
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
ah... well then. I skip over that kinda stuff cuz if i didn't you wouldn't be able to actually allocate a wound to a model.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 20:31:06
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tomb King wrote:Also, rending on vehicles is no longer ap2. That is a pretty significant nerf to rending units.
A very common misconception, but reread and note where it says TO WOUND become AP2. Armour Penetration is NOT to wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 20:33:28
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
There is also no mention of invul and cover saves being used for anything except wounds. It's not that hard to assume that rending would count against vehicles.
|
I'm expecting an Imperial Knights supplement dedicated to GW's loyalist apologetics. Codex: White Knights "In the grim dark future, everything is fine."
"The argument is that we have to do this or we will, bit by bit,
lose everything that we hold dear, everything that keeps the business going. Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous
deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky."
-Tom Kirby |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 21:23:06
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Woohoo!
The questions I've had about DA have been answered. Dark shrouds do not have stealth, any land raider can take deathwing vehicle, Beliel has his halo, and ravenwing command squads can't buy items that don't exist.
All is well in the world.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 21:53:31
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Savageconvoy wrote:There is also no mention of invul and cover saves being used for anything except wounds. It's not that hard to assume that rending would count against vehicles.
It tells you what it does against Vehicles, by talking about Armour Penetration. It doesnt say you get both
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 22:10:35
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think the Reserve's vs Psyker's ruling allows you to cast Scryer's Gaze on yourself before rolling for reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 22:51:20
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Trasvi wrote:Finally a clear answer on seeker missiles vs flyers.
Q: If Seeker Missiles are fired at a Zooming Flyer or Swooping Flying Monstrous Creature, what To Hit roll do they require? (p31)
A: 6+
That's some bollocks. Thanks for ignoring codex set values over BRB ones.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/16 22:52:24
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Formosa wrote:I'm fine with the hell drake ruling, that head can clearly articulate in "real life", so I allowed it in game
So what part of real life do you see flying daemon planes with flame throwers?
|
Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 01:37:08
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Resolving the roll is simply determining the result of the roll - applying any modifiers, etc. I see it the same as Yakface, in that all this does is let you see who is coming on the board before being forced to cast blessings.
It cannot mean "...and move on", as you do not resolve that beofre resolving other dice rolls for reserves
You're told to roll a bunch of dice (one for every unit). When they arrive you're told to move them on the board.
It's one action - you can't roll then pause then move.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 01:47:04
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Rigeld, normally I agree with you but the "roll" for reserves and the use of psychic powers happen at the same time. This is discussed in detail in another thread that the only significant change is now you can legally use the gaze. However you must then cast all your start of turn powers before you know which reserves come on.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 02:02:48
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:On another note - Blessings can be used the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Iron Arm Doom just got significantly deadlier.
Really? how?
It says outflank and reserve rolls, so thats when rolling for a 3 plus to see if they come on, not the scatter dice or movement from reserve.
Moved it over here since more general than range wound allocation. (Where the comments were)
Iron Arm has nothing to do with outflank or reserve.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68) A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Before, he'd have to cast Iron Arm off the board and couldn't, so your opponent gets a turn to try and ID him. Now he arrives from Reserves (since that's part of rolling for Reserves) and can cast the Blessing then. Eternal Warrior the turn he lands will be nice.
That FAQ didn't give permission to override pg 67 which states a psker coming in from reserves cannot cast powers that are at the start of the movement phase. However, now you can get your reserves on the table and have a different psyker buff them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 02:07:40
Subject: Re:New FAQs
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
I am pretty surprised IG, C:SM, SOB didnt get updated, like other said hopefully last minute changes. If not is there really nothing to correct with the 3 dex's?
Also someone mentioned a problem with drop pods? whats wrong with them?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 02:21:04
Subject: New FAQs
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:On another note - Blessings can be used the turn you arrive from Reserves.
Iron Arm Doom just got significantly deadlier.
Really? how?
It says outflank and reserve rolls, so thats when rolling for a 3 plus to see if they come on, not the scatter dice or movement from reserve.
Moved it over here since more general than range wound allocation. (Where the comments were)
Iron Arm has nothing to do with outflank or reserve.
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68) A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
Before, he'd have to cast Iron Arm off the board and couldn't, so your opponent gets a turn to try and ID him. Now he arrives from Reserves (since that's part of rolling for Reserves) and can cast the Blessing then. Eternal Warrior the turn he lands will be nice.
That FAQ didn't give permission to override pg 67 which states a psker coming in from reserves cannot cast powers that are at the start of the movement phase. However, now you can get your reserves on the table and have a different psyker buff them.
That's fair - I'd forgotten about the rule on page 67 thanks.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|