Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 01:39:05
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here is a question me and a buddy were talking and could not find common ground.
Ok rhino (dedicated transport) 10 man tactical squad inside said death trap. A squad of zonethrops / land speeders pick your poison, one is able to blow up the rhino. Is the other members of the squad allowed to shoot at the troops that were forced out from the transport?
And the other question, do a squad with a dedicated transport count as 1 unit?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/18 01:57:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 02:03:58
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
A squad and their transport are never one unit. They count as one for Reserve rolls, but that's it.
A given firing unit must all fire at the same target, unit unless they have the Split Fire rule. Even if they can Split Fire, they have to declare all targets at once and all of those targets must be legally targetable before any dice are rolled. So there's no way they could target the squad inside the vehicle, as they're not a legal target at the time of declaration.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/18 02:04:10
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 02:27:44
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
but they may assault the marines that pour out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 12:49:46
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is there somewhere in the BRB that shows the transport and its troops as two different units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 12:53:44
Subject: Re:question time! - transports
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
We assume that all shots from a unit are fired and resolved simultaneously. This is the whole point of taking a transport in the first place, so that a squad has to concentrate fire on the vehicle in order to gain access to it's soft chewy nougat centre.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 13:39:50
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
lynxstrife wrote:Is there somewhere in the BRB that shows the transport and its troops as two different units? They have to be, a unit can't be partially embarked upon a vehicle, either all members of the unit have to be embarked, or none, and a vehicle cannot embark upon itself, so it can't possibly be part of the same unit as the passengers. I'm sure there's something much more conclusive, but there's just absolutely no way you could possibly interpret a squad and its transport to be a single unit without breaking the game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/18 13:40:37
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 14:10:12
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
The P78 Dedicated Transports call out states that dedicated transports are purchased with a unit. Not that the vehicle is partof the unit.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 14:16:37
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Mannahnin wrote:A squad and their transport are never one unit. They count as one for Reserve rolls, but that's it.
A given firing unit must all fire at the same target, unit unless they have the Split Fire rule. Even if they can Split Fire, they have to declare all targets at once and all of those targets must be legally targetable before any dice are rolled. So there's no way they could target the squad inside the vehicle, as they're not a legal target at the time of declaration.
This.
I don't have a BRB handy so I can't reference a page, but think of it like this. I'm going to use a real life example because in this case it applies: If you're shooting at a tank with your squad, you don't hold half of them in reserve in hoping that the other half blows the tank up. You all shoot simultaneously. As the disembarking unit shows their faces while exiting the destroyed/disabled vehicle, you then charge them to destroy them in hand to hand combat while they are stunned.
|
5 successful trades to date! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 14:46:50
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Novice Knight Errant Pilot
|
lynxstrife wrote:Is there somewhere in the BRB that shows the transport and its troops as two different units?
Also, consider the fact that if transports were the same unit as their squad, then they would have to stay in coherency, fire at the same unit, be subject to falling back if their unit failed a LD test, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 17:31:49
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, all the shots from the firing squad happen simultaneously. If two speeders are firing at a rhino, you can't blow it up with the first speeder and then fire on the passengers with the second speeder. Both of them use their shots on the rhino.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/18 21:59:18
Subject: question time! - transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Works for me thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
|