Switch Theme:

Odd walker question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





In the rule book it says walkers can always shoot at its ballistic skill. But the Defiler has an ordinance battle cannon. In the ordinance section says when an ordinance fires the rest of the weapons fire at ballistic skill one. So question is does the walker rule override the ordinance rule. Inquiring minds want to know. Thanks in advance.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Shooting rules override vehicle rules.

A Monster with an ordnance weapon would only be able to shoot its ordnance weapon, snap firing everything else.

The same applies for a defiler.

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 scythewing wrote:
In the rule book it says walkers can always shoot at its ballistic skill.

No it doesn't.
But the Defiler has an ordinance battle cannon. In the ordinance section says when an ordinance fires the rest of the weapons fire at ballistic skill one. So question is does the walker rule override the ordinance rule. Inquiring minds want to know. Thanks in advance.

Taking the above into account, there is nothing in the walker rules that overrides the Ordnance penalty.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 grendel083 wrote:
 scythewing wrote:
In the rule book it says walkers can always shoot at its ballistic skill.

No it doesn't.
But the Defiler has an ordinance battle cannon. In the ordinance section says when an ordinance fires the rest of the weapons fire at ballistic skill one. So question is does the walker rule override the ordinance rule. Inquiring minds want to know. Thanks in advance.

Taking the above into account, there is nothing in the walker rules that overrides the Ordnance penalty.


I believe he meant

"Walkers can always fire all their weapons at full ballistic skill, regardless of movement range."

The rules do not suddenly change the rules for ordnance - While the Defiler may shoot its ordnance weapon and move, it may not shoot any secondary weapons at full BS.

 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Huh?

A defiler shoots its battlecannon at full BS. Everything is snapfired. Not sure where the confusion is...
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Huh?

A defiler shoots its battlecannon at full BS. Everything is snapfired. Not sure where the confusion is...


He has misremembered the movement and shooting rules for Walkers.

 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






oh, ok.

my only issues with defilers has been the power fists thing. We can't seem to figure out if there is a reason they have power fists instead of DCCWs...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because they want to have more types of weapons than just DCCW. Its kinda obvious. He ignores unwieldy so a powerfist has no difference to the traditional DCCW for a walker
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Wait, read that incorrectly...

where does it say they ignore unwieldy?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/26 11:22:03


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Read the Unwieldy rule
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Ah, nuts... How did we miss this? probably too much drunkhammer...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: