Switch Theme:

Callidus Assassin Neural shredder  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
So when you declare a target with your boltgun, you can target the Sarge in the unit? If a target can be a model after all...

Irrelevent, no one is discussing a bolt gun and how they target.

It's not irrelevant. You're trying to say that a template weapon can target models. I'm trying to demonstrate that isn't true.

You can however place a template over top of a sargeant. That said, the controlling player may very well not choose to place the wound on said sargeant, so that has little functional difference other than determining the number of models hit in the unit.

Well, the controlling player can't actually choose where the wound goes (barring LOS). I think you should re-read the shooting section of the rules to re-familiarize yourself with them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So wait, you are now claiming that despite the rules saying otherwise, the unit is NOT the target?

The Neural Shredder is still a weapon that you shoot, meaning you must delcare a TARGET

TARGET is defined as a UNIT

Therefore, using the wonder power known as substitution, means you are wounding against the UNITS leadership

Find a rule showing how you determine the UNITS leadership. Remember: you have only shown that templatesd work out how many models have been hit by what is under, you have made another fallacy in assuming that this somehow changes the target to be those models. Which it doesnt.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





rigeld2 wrote:Well, the controlling player can't actually choose where the wound goes (barring LOS). I think you should re-read the shooting section of the rules to re-familiarize yourself with them.
I don't believe that is necessary, and further i believe you probably should stop offering advice on what you think i need to do. That said, the 'controlling player' in my statement above refers to the controller of the unit, not the controller of the template. I could have made that more clear, this is true.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:Well, the controlling player can't actually choose where the wound goes (barring LOS). I think you should re-read the shooting section of the rules to re-familiarize yourself with them.
I don't believe that is necessary, and further i believe you probably should stop offering advice on what you think i need to do. That said, the 'controlling player' in my statement above refers to the controller of the unit, not the controller of the template. I could have made that more clear, this is true.

And you'd still be wrong as the controlling player (of the unit) can never choose where a wound is allocated/goes barring LOS.

edit: And you're still ignoring the fact that to shoot a weapon you must select a unit as a target, not individual models.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 21:23:23


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





null wrote:So wait, you are now claiming that despite the rules saying otherwise, the unit is NOT the target?

The Neural Shredder is still a weapon that you shoot, meaning you must delcare a TARGET

TARGET is defined as a UNIT

Therefore, using the wonder power known as substitution, means you are wounding against the UNITS leadership

Find a rule showing how you determine the UNITS leadership. Remember: you have only shown that templatesd work out how many models have been hit by what is under, you have made another fallacy in assuming that this somehow changes the target to be those models. Which it doesnt.


1) The target is the unit, a group of models.
2) The models hit in that unit are the ones under the template, as per the template rules.
3) Determining what happens to a target that has been hit by an attack is done via the 'Roll to Wound' (and latter) sections of the main book.

Following from step 1 to step 3, nowhere have a I violated a single precedural rule.
As for how you determine the leadership you must roll against? You refer to the statistics of the models in the unit, as that is the only location where such can be found. There is no 'majority leadership' statistic (as defined by a rule) for the unit as a whole and you are not given permission to modify the 'majority toughness' rule to accomodate what is so obviously your preference in this regard.




   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So if I have a unit with mixed toughness (say 4 models at T4 and 6 models at T3) and a flamer is fired at them only covering the T4 models I get to to use their Toughness instead of majority? Sweet.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Happyjew wrote:So if I have a unit with mixed toughness (say 4 models at T4 and 6 models at T3) and a flamer is fired at them only covering the T4 models I get to to use their Toughness instead of majority? Sweet.
I'd suggest that sarcasm isn't appropriate to this discussion?

Given that normal flamers wound vs toughness, you would of course use the majority toughness of the unit. To suggest otherwise is disingenuous at best.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

The statistics of the individual models don't help you wound the unit itself which, as you stated, is a group of models, not a singular model. If you refer to the leadership of the individual models and roll for them seperately then you aren't wounding a group of models, you are wounding a singular model, which where you start violating the rules.

Show us the rule that allows you to substitute rolling against single models for rolling against a group of them.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/29 21:41:03


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Neo - so, yet again, you are claiming that the template rules have changed the target?

The target is the unit. Find a rule allowing you to wound against the target units leadership. Not the models, as they are not the target, the TARGET is singular, not plural.

Rules this time. From the 6th edition BRB please.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





 Avatar 720 wrote:
The statistics of the individual models don't help you wound the unit itself which, as you stated, is a group of models, not a singular model. If you refer to the leadership of the individual models and roll for them seperately then you aren't wounding a group of models, you are wounding a singular model, which where you start violating the rules..
Not quite. I've bolded the part where you went astray with your reasoning. By rolling against the leadership statistics present on each of the models hit by the template, you are still wounding the unit as a whole by following the 'Roll to Wound' section of the main book to the letter, not wounding each model individually.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 21:49:03


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

The unit is described as a group of models, ergo by wounding one, solitary model, you cannot possibly be wounding the unit.

Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

I'm not advocating not using majority toughness but under templates in my BRB it says "Any models fully or partially under the template are hit." Via GW wording it does look like those models specifically are hit not the unit but then you are instructed to allocate as normal......

Edit: Templates also say the target unit though as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 21:56:14


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





nosferatu wrote:The target is the unit. Find a rule allowing you to wound against the target units leadership. Not the models, as they are not the target, the TARGET is singular, not plural.
Please refer to my prior post where i indicated that for the purpose of the 6th edition rules, the 'unit' (therefore the target) and the 'models it is comprised of' are synonymous in game terms. The relevent rule is quoted there, so I'm not going to repeat myself when it's easy enough for you to just scroll back in this thread a bit.

Avatar wrote:The unit is described as a group of models, ergo by wounding one, solitary model, you cannot possibly be wounding the unit.
Actually you can, as that is exactly what happens.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/01/29 21:58:20


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






UK

EDIT 2: Actually, Nos has phrased it well enough.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/01/29 22:05:50


Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.

Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.

My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness

"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The Target is a singular object; Unit. You are told to wound the target, the unit, and not the plurality of models.

Please provide a rule allowing you to target individual models. Actual rules.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





nosferatu wrote: Please provide a rule allowing you to target individual models. Actual rules.
Who said anything about 'targetting' individual models? I'm saying you 'wound' (by rolling against their leadership) the unit based on the models under the template which are hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 22:09:28


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except that isnt wounding the unit; the models hit by the template are not the target, they just tell you how many hits you have achieved.

So, again, how do you determine the Units leadership, as that is the Target?

You can give up any time you like, and admit that using the majority toughness rules makes the most sense, and was what was FAQ'd in previous editions.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Nope.

The 'Roll to Wound' section tells you how to deal with the target models that were hit. I'll quote it for you: "...compare the weapon's Strength characteristic with the target's Toughness characteristic using the To Wound chart..."

The Neural Shedder tells us"...hits are resolved against the target's Leadership, rather than its Toughness...

Given that the target of the shot is the unit, and the unit is the same thing as the models it is composed of, you have to resolve against the leadership of the models.

With me so far? Ok then, what is the Leadership (in this context) of the models you ask? A Characteristic Test.

How do we make characteristic tests? "...Roll a D6 and compare the result to the relevant characteristic in the model's profile..."

which models is the above referring to? "...A unit takes a hit for each model that is fully, or even partially underneath the template..."

tl;dr
you hit models, those models take characteristic tests against their leadership statistics based on the 'To Wound' chart, and the wounds are then pooled and distributed in accordance with the rules for such.


Any other questions?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/29 22:34:32


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
With me so far? Ok then, what is the Leadership (in this context) of the models you ask? A Characteristic Test.

Nope. That's not correct. Rolling to Wound is not a Toughness test either.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





the normal 'To Wound' rule: "...compare the weapon's Strength characteristic with the target's Toughness characteristic using the To Wound chart..."

If you resolve the above with the word 'leadership' instead of 'toughness' , what do you have?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 22:42:05


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
the normal 'To Wound' rule: "...compare the weapon's Strength characteristic with the target's Toughness characteristic using the To Wound chart..."

If you resolve the above with the word 'leadership' instead of 'toughness' , what do you have?

Not a characteristic test as you asserted. Since that's defined as rolling a d6 under the given characteristic.

And if you resolve the above with the word Leadership instead of Toughness you need to use the target's Leadership - which is not individual models, it's the unit as a whole.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





The targets' leadership is comprised of the models' leaderships. (that is the only location that you can find that statistic and yet again there is no rule telling us to use the majority leadership of the unit)

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
The targets' leadership is comprised of the models' leaderships. (that is the only location that you can find that statistic and yet again there is no rule telling us to use the majority leadership of the unit)

Comprised of? So you add up all the Leaderships?

If all the Leaderships in the unit are the same, you'd wound on that number. If they're mixed your only choices are a) the unit is impossible to wound with this weapon or b) majority Leadership because that is the unit's Leadership. I'll let you pick.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






So, perusing the rulebook for other similar weapons/abilities and ran across something that might throw a monkey wrench in there for Neo...The "Psychic Shriek" telepathy power is a shooting attack of which you roll 3d6 and subtract the targets leadership to determine how many wounds are caused. So how would you determine the targets leadership in this instance if you had a LD7 unit with a LD10 character leading them?
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





rigeld2 wrote:Comprised of? So you add up all the Leaderships?
I'm sorry, you really do know better than this. I'm not going to dignify that by even trying to formulate a response.

rigeld2 wrote:If all the Leaderships in the unit are the same, you'd wound on that number. If they're mixed your only choices are a) the unit is impossible to wound with this weapon or b) majority Leadership because that is the unit's Leadership. I'll let you pick.
how about C) You wound each model under the template at their own leadership score?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/29 23:51:47


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:If all the Leaderships in the unit are the same, you'd wound on that number. If they're mixed your only choices are a) the unit is impossible to wound with this weapon or b) majority Leadership because that is the unit's Leadership. I'll let you pick.
how about C) You wound each model under the template at their own leadership score?

C has no basis in any rules whatsoever.
How can you roll to wound a unit (as required - because the unit was the target not individual models) using the characteristics of individual models?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Kevin949 wrote:So, perusing the rulebook for other similar weapons/abilities and ran across something that might throw a monkey wrench in there for Neo...The "Psychic Shriek" telepathy power is a shooting attack of which you roll 3d6 and subtract the targets leadership to determine how many wounds are caused. So how would you determine the targets leadership in this instance if you had a LD7 unit with a LD10 character leading them?
Well if that is considered a leadership test, we are told to always use the highest leadership in the unit on an individual model basis. If you are just asked to check the units leadership score straight up however, then i have no idea how you'd determine that in accordance with an actual rule.


rigeld2 wrote: How can you roll to wound a unit (as required - because the unit was the target not individual models) using the characteristics of individual models?
it's simple really: As i've already mentioned you just follow the normal procedure starting with 'Roll to Wound' and work your way down the page. Resolving hits against various models does not in any way mean you are specifically targetting those models, just that they are the ones the template has been placed on top of.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/30 00:07:24


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Neorealist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote: How can you roll to wound a unit (as required - because the unit was the target not individual models) using the characteristics of individual models?
it's simple really: As i've already mentioned you just follow the normal procedure starting with 'Roll to Wound' and work your way down the page. Resolving hits against various models does not in any way mean you are specifically targetting those models, just that they are the ones the template has been placed on top of.

As you've said before.
Remembering that the target is the unit, how do you determine the target's Leadership value as you're required to do?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





By resolving against the leadership of each of the models underneath the template; as per the 'Roll to Wound' section as modified by the Neural Shredders' special rule.

There is no way to determine (currently within the rules) the leadership statistic of a entire unit that i am aware of. Fortunately you do not have to do so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/30 00:36:03


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Neorealist wrote:
Kevin949 wrote:So, perusing the rulebook for other similar weapons/abilities and ran across something that might throw a monkey wrench in there for Neo...The "Psychic Shriek" telepathy power is a shooting attack of which you roll 3d6 and subtract the targets leadership to determine how many wounds are caused. So how would you determine the targets leadership in this instance if you had a LD7 unit with a LD10 character leading them?
Well if that is considered a leadership test, we are told to always use the highest leadership in the unit on an individual model basis. If you are just asked to check the units leadership score straight up however, then i have no idea how you'd determine that in accordance with an actual rule.


rigeld2 wrote: How can you roll to wound a unit (as required - because the unit was the target not individual models) using the characteristics of individual models?
it's simple really: As i've already mentioned you just follow the normal procedure starting with 'Roll to Wound' and work your way down the page. Resolving hits against various models does not in any way mean you are specifically targetting those models, just that they are the ones the template has been placed on top of.


It is not a leadership test. For reference, it is the Primaris power listed in BRB pg 423.

What I am getting at here is that the only way to resolve this is majority leadership, just like majority toughness.

What you're referencing is claiming that you can precision shoot with weapons that are never allowed to precision shoot (regardless to who is firing them).

Your claims would also mean that an Abyssal Staff from the necron codex would operate the same way as the neural shredder.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/30 00:36:34


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: