| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:10:19
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
Are flyers able to come on to the board, even if an entire army manages to block the opponents deployment zone with no 1" of space between models given for where they arrive? Saw an article of a Tau player pulling it off against marine bikers awhile back and was wondering if it would happen or could flyers fly right over them as normal?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/31 19:11:15
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:14:20
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Flyer and skimmers move over intervening models, so as long as you can end your move legally your fine. The reason it worked with the Tau vs Space Marines is because the SM had no way to come on without moving within 1" of an enemy model.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:14:31
Subject: Re:Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I would suppose so, but how would you propose surrounding the entire board two inches at a time? lots of lucky tervigon rolls?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:16:20
Subject: Re:Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I would suppose so, but how would you propose surrounding the entire board two inches at a time? lots of lucky tervigon rolls?
Infiltrating Genestealers.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:18:10
Subject: Re:Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
Infilatrating. The space marine biker made the mistake of choosing to deploy instead of outflank: Game Over. Any player who starts entire army in reserve can get ninjad by enough infiltrators such as: Tau kroot , Ork Commnados, or even scout spam marine armies (although extremely rare)
|
Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+
2500++ (Wraithwing)
I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:21:46
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
That old trick went away with the arrival of 6th. Basically under 5th you could reserve everything. If you did this and you opponent managed to block your board edge completely then it was an auto lose. With 6th you can only reserve 50% of your force (give or take depending on special rules defining what counts towards that 50%). With that in mind, using infiltrating genestealers (or anything else for that matter) to block a board edge is of limited utility as they would be summarily executed by the forces your opponent already has on the field. Regardless, flyers and skimmers ignore everything underneath their path as they perform their movement. The only way to stop them is to place models everywhere that the flyer or skimmer could possibly stop... Which, unless you have a horde army at a high points level is going to be pretty much impossible.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/31 19:22:39
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/31 19:22:36
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
From what I understand, at that Tournament you could not have special characters, otherwise the Bikes would have been able to Outflank thanks to KHAAAAAAAAANNN!!!!
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 15:30:19
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:From what I understand, at that Tournament you could not have special characters, otherwise the Bikes would have been able to Outflank thanks to KHAAAAAAAAANNN!!!!
That was ETC Europe. The army was missing Khan, I just don't recall exactly why.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 15:44:07
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Yes the tourney wasn't allowing named characters.
As to if you could keep the enemy from bringing fliers on the board or deploying a drop pod army, yes you can, but it requires masses if infiltrators.
Currently only kroot and genestealers can cover the board quick enough.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/02 19:16:23
Subject: Flyers can enter play if 1" rule?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, you really can't. Unless you cover the board not just the board edge.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|