Switch Theme:

Can Creed outflank an entire platoon?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Ian Pickstock




Nottingham

i.e the PCS, all the PISs and heavy weapons squads, etc.

Naaa na na na-na-na-naaa.

Na-na-na-naaaaa.

Hey Jude. 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator




I don't think so. His power affects a "unit" and the parts of a platoon are considered separate units during deployment onwards.

He can outflank a squadron of Demolishers though, which is quite funny.

White Scars 2000 points
Guard 3000~ points
Grey Knights 875 points 
   
Made in gb
Ian Pickstock




Nottingham

Ah lame...I was looking at him as an alternative to Al Rahem but unless I can get PCS with special weapons or special weapon squads, it's not really worth it.

Naaa na na na-na-na-naaa.

Na-na-na-naaaaa.

Hey Jude. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





rossatdi wrote:
I don't think so. His power affects a "unit" and the parts of a platoon are considered separate units during deployment onwards.

He can outflank a squadron of Demolishers though, which is quite funny.


Can he join a Vehicle unit? Thought that wasn't allowed.

Or am I confusing Demolishers with something else? I dont play IG, sorry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 19:35:38


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Err... The platoon is one unit when its blobbed up. Thats a decision to make at the time of deployment. The special weapon teams, command squads, ect are not part of this unit, though, and have to deploy normally.

The reason its never done is that is a logistical nightmare to move 50+ blob models on the board from an edge and have them do anything productive before the end of the game, especially in a tournament setting. Outflanking infantry is even less productive in this edition and most of the throw away units can do it.
   
Made in us
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot





The platoon is not one unit if made into a blob, it is a minimum of two units (the PCS and the PIS).

However, all elements of a platoon deploy in the same manner.

So the question is: if Creed makes on squads in the platoon outflank, then does the whole platoon outflank?

I think there was a discussion with similar implications involving Valks before 6E came out.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







40k-noob wrote:
rossatdi wrote:
I don't think so. His power affects a "unit" and the parts of a platoon are considered separate units during deployment onwards.

He can outflank a squadron of Demolishers though, which is quite funny.


Can he join a Vehicle unit? Thought that wasn't allowed.

Or am I confusing Demolishers with something else? I dont play IG, sorry.


Creed doesn't have to join the unit for it to be able to outflank. He just nominates a unit.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Per the FAQ:
Page 96 – Infantry Platoon, second sentence
Change to: “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place of a
single unit in missions that limit the number units that can be
deployed. In addition when making a reserve or outflanking
roll, roll once for the whole Infantry Platoon. Any units in
reserve that are embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are
instead rolled for separately.”

So yeh I would think they would deploy as a single Unit for Creed's Special rule.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The whole platoon uses a single roll to come in (except those in non-dedicated transports). If the whole platoon is outflanking (such as with Al-Raheem (or whatever is his name is)), then you roll once for where they come in on..

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
1st Lieutenant




Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA

My FLGS has a player that runs Creed, and we all made the call that Creed can't out-flank a whole platoon, but he can outflank blobs and things.

Even then, why would you use Creed to outflank a platoon when you could just use Al-Raheem to do it then use Creed to outflank tanks or something hahaha

EDIT: However, with the new FAQ and it's re-wording I actually tend to think he could outflank the platoon if you wanted to. Out-flanking two whole platoons in the enemies deployment, or close to, is gonna be really fun for me I feel...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/09 03:02:40


DS:90S++G++M--B++I++Pww211++D++A+++/areWD-R+++T(T)DM+

Miniature Projects:
6mm/15mm Cold War

15/20mm World War 2 (using Flames of War or Battlegroup Overlord/Kursk)

6mm Napoleonic's (Prussia, Russia, France, Britain) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The FAQ says that they count as one unit in missions that limit the number of units that can be deployed. Creed's special rule is not a mission that limits the number of units that can be deployed so the IP does not count as one unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 05:49:57


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




Los Gatos, CA

 Phazael wrote:
Err... The platoon is one unit when its blobbed up. Thats a decision to make at the time of deployment. The special weapon teams, command squads, ect are not part of this unit, though, and have to deploy normal


I'm sorry I might be wrong but reading Stalk the Enemy, Al'rahem entire Infantry Platoon should be able to come in which would include SWS, HWS and Conscripts. If this has been changed in an FAQ then so be it but to my understanding you could outflank with over a 100 men if you were crazy enough.

BAO 2015 : Best Space Wolves.

The best battle plans are the simplest. Just run forward and punch your enemy in the face.  
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Che-Vito wrote:
I will introduce a bit of anarchy into your world: The Force Organization Chart limits the number of units that can be deployed. Aka, every mission.
No it doesn't, and I don't really understand where you could have gotten this idea.
Nothing on pages 108-109 mention deployment at all and page 121 specifically goes to say contrary: FOC slots are not taken into account when deploying units.

FOC only limits the number of choices you can make for your army. It doesn't (directly) limit number of units that can be deployed in any way. FOC might indirectly limit number of units that can be deployed, but that is extremely unlikely as you're far more likely to run out of points than actually fill FOC.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

 BloodySaroritus wrote:
Per the FAQ:
Page 96 – Infantry Platoon, second sentence
Change to: “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place of a
single unit in missions that limit the number units that can be
deployed. In addition when making a reserve or outflanking
roll, roll once for the whole Infantry Platoon. Any units in
reserve that are embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are
instead rolled for separately.”

So yeh I would think they would deploy as a single Unit for Creed's Special rule.


All that says is that you roll once for the entire Platoon to come in from reserves. It doesn't say that you get to outflank them all. The units that don't have Outflank would have to come on from their table edge as normal Reserves.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Che-Vito wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The FAQ says that they count as one unit in missions that limit the number of units that can be deployed. Creed's special rule is not a mission that limits the number of units that can be deployed so the IP does not count as one unit.


I will introduce a bit of anarchy into your world: The Force Organization Chart limits the number of units that can be deployed. Aka, every mission.

Absolutely false. Nice try though.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

He gives a single unit outflank, how could you possibly outflank a unit without this ability?


   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 05:49:40


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No. The mission itself does not limit the number of units that can be deployed.

The FOC might/does, but you'll note that the FOC is not a mission special rule. There are no book missions where that FAQ applies.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver



Oklahoma

I find this being odd...I always assumed he outflanked the whole platoon since thats what the rule said to me, but that was when guard book came out in 5th....odd question being asked now.

You can always choose to do this with capt al instead: in 5th I outflanked a whole platoon of squads in chimeras for the hell of it, since his entry states that his whole platoon "must" outflank.

as for the mission restriction: there was one mission in 5th that limited your army to two troop choices and an HQ, That may have been the mission restriction the FAQ references.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: