Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 05:51:27
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Situation 1: Wraiths are never slowed by difficult terrain. So a unit of wraiths charge through difficult terrain still rolls only 2d6 to charge. However, do they strike at initiative 1 or 2?
Situation 2: Wraiths are with a destroyer lord and they charge through difficult terrain. They roll 3d6 because of him. Are they all initiative 1 or just the lord?
Situation 3: Wraiths and Destro lord charge a unit partially in terrain. As long as the lord can get in base contact with a model out of terrain would they roll 2d6 for charge or 3d6?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/12 00:22:39
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 05:53:34
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Situation 1 and 2: Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22) A: Yes. Situation 3: If the Lord is not the closest model, and the 2D6 roll is high enough to get him into base contact (if possible, by the time you get to him there may not be any room) without going through difficult terrain, 2D6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/11 05:55:09
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 05:56:44
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I agree with Mr. HJ.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 05:57:36
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ditto what they said.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 06:27:35
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Happyjew wrote:Situation 1 and 2:
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging
still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain?
(p22)
A: Yes.
Situation 3:
If the Lord is not the closest model, and the 2D6 roll is high enough to get him into base contact (if possible, by the time you get to him there may not be any room) without going through difficult terrain, 2D6.
So.. they are never slowed by difficult terrain but still affected by it?
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 06:35:45
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
So says the FAQ.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 06:39:41
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Here comes the fun part and why that faq can be thrown out.
Wraiths dont ignore difficult terrain. They are just never slowed by it. The special rule isn't wraiths ignore difficult terrain.
As for striking at initiative step 1. Page 2 of the rulebook mentions initiative with a direct correlation to speed. So if a model has a special rule where it is never slowed... how can it be reduced to initiative step 1?
Splitting a hair here but the argument is there.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 07:39:45
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
Tomb King wrote:
Here comes the fun part and why that faq can be thrown out.
Wraiths dont ignore difficult terrain. They are just never slowed by it. The special rule isn't wraiths ignore difficult terrain.
As for striking at initiative step 1. Page 2 of the rulebook mentions initiative with a direct correlation to speed. So if a model has a special rule where it is never slowed... how can it be reduced to initiative step 1?
Splitting a hair here but the argument is there.
no because charging through difficult terrain confers 2 penalties, 1 movement is slowed, 2 you strike at I1, just because you are given permission to ignore (or never be slowed by) the first penalty does not make you immune to the 2nd, due to the permissive ruleset.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 07:40:29
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Happyjew wrote:Situation 3:
If the Lord is not the closest model, and the 2D6 roll is high enough to get him into base contact (if possible, by the time you get to him there may not be any room) without going through difficult terrain, 2D6.
I disagree, the rules say the following regarding the situation:
"If, when charging, one or more models have to move through difficult terrain, the unit must make a Difficult Terrain test" Pg. 22
"If a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model." Pg. 21
Assuming the Lord isn't using his jump ability to assault, I believe you roll 2d6 for the wraiths, an entirely separate 3d6 subtract highest for the lord, and then use whichever is lower of those 2 results to make your charge.
This applies even if the lord himself doesn't go into the terrain, so long as models from the unit have done so.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 07:54:41
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Tomb King wrote:As for striking at initiative step 1. Page 2 of the rulebook mentions initiative with a direct correlation to speed.
No it doesn't, so don't make stuff like this up. page This (Initiative) represents the swiftness of a creature's reactions.. No correlation to 'speed' is given. Swiftness of reactions is not speed.
Tomb King wrote:So if a model has a special rule where it is never slowed... how can it be reduced to initiative step 1?
It is pretty obvious to everyone who has read the rules that "slowed" refers to the fact that normally, models make difficult terrain checks that 'slow' them down.
Page 90, Difficult Terrain goes even as far as explicitly say it: Even if the distance rolled is too short for any of the models to reach the difficult terrain, the unit is still slowed down as described above. .
Examples that use exactly same wording as Wraiths have can be found on page 14 "Run" Running movement is not slowed by difficult terrain , Page 23 Pile in These (Pile In) moves follow the same rules as moving charging models, except that they are not slowed by difficult terrain. .
You can also find same wording on Falling back, Consolidation, Bikes, Cavalry, Vehicles etc.
No, the argument is not there. That argument has zero basis on rules and is completely based on deliberately misinterpreting rules to gain advantage.
And for some reason, it seems that argument is always brought by Necron players who try to argue that "Wraiths hit at their normal Initiative", when no-one has ever made that argument for Bikes, which are never slowed by difficult terrain either.
All texts in orange are direct rules quotations.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 08:15:12
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Luide wrote:That argument has zero basis on rules and is completely based on deliberately misinterpreting rules to gain advantage.
Not Necessarily.
They may or may not deliberately be misinterpreting rules to gain advantage.
They may be confusing 40k game rules with other games "Initiative", like pathfinder or D&D where Initiative measures how "Fast" your character is, and if you have a lower initiative you are slower than a character with a higher initiative.
It has no merit in 40K, but I can see how it can be confusing.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 18:28:35
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Assuming the Lord isn't using his jump ability to assault, I believe you roll 2d6 for the wraiths, an entirely separate 3d6 subtract highest for the lord, and then use whichever is lower of those 2 results to make your charge.
This applies even if the lord himself doesn't go into the terrain, so long as models from the unit have done so.
If the Lord and the Wraiths are one unit, why would you make two rolls? A single unit gets a single roll for charge distance.
As DS quoted, "If a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model" ( BRB 21). I think this would mean that, if a Lord is with Wraiths and they charge into cover, the whole unit rolls 3D6 and takes the lowest.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/11 18:30:50
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 18:46:27
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: Drunkspleen wrote:Assuming the Lord isn't using his jump ability to assault, I believe you roll 2d6 for the wraiths, an entirely separate 3d6 subtract highest for the lord, and then use whichever is lower of those 2 results to make your charge.
This applies even if the lord himself doesn't go into the terrain, so long as models from the unit have done so.
If the Lord and the Wraiths are one unit, why would you make two rolls? A single unit gets a single roll for charge distance.
As DS quoted, "If a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model" ( BRB 21). I think this would mean that, if a Lord is with Wraiths and they charge into cover, the whole unit rolls 3D6 and takes the lowest.
Only if the Lord would have to move through the difficult terrain. If the Lord will not be affected by the terrain then you roll 3d6. So for example (excuse my poor drawing):
S......|......W....W
S......|......W....W....L
S......|......W....W
S......|......W....W
S = Space marines
W = Wraith
L = Lord
| = area terrain boundary
.. = 2"
If the charge roll is 8", the Lord does not have sufficient distance to get into the terrain and as such does not require a difficult terrain roll. However, had the charge result been 12", then since the Lord is charging throough difficult terrain, you would have to roll 3D6.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 18:56:50
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
All correct, except for no3 where:
If the charging models could reach an enemy model that's in terrain, providing they move in a straight line, they must roll for difficult terrain.
You can position your whole unit so this doesn't happen in certain circumstances.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 19:00:20
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
My understanding is that if the potential for difficult terrain exists, you have to roll it. So in the above situation the unit would roll 3D6 taking two. You don't get to roll 2, see what you get and decide to roll a third at that point. (would make sense however).
I think the only situation MIGHT get out of rolling 3D6 is if the Lord is if their are enough enemy models for the lord to charge without going into terrain regardless of what is rolled and potential blocking.
|
If you think you are too small to have an impact, try sleeping with a mosquito. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 20:03:26
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Just remember, jump infantry using their packs in the assault phase do not go through terrain, they go over it.
JI using their packs to assault only take a dangerous test, which does not quantify going at initiative 1.
Since the lord does not have wraithflight, the wraiths would not be able to benefit from it in this situation. It is no different from attaching a cryptek to deathmarks and not being able to deep strike.
Simple solution? Use your jump packs to assault, always.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 20:33:15
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I would much rather use jump pack movement to move within 2" of the enemy unit to guarantees a successful charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 21:39:35
Subject: Re:Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
I thought if you started or ended your move in difficult terrain even with a jump pack you were at Init 1. Is that not true?
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 22:57:56
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Not if you have grenades or use the jump pack to assault.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 23:25:03
Subject: Re:Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Mythra wrote:I thought if you started or ended your move in difficult terrain even with a jump pack you were at Init 1. Is that not true?
No; the rule requires you to *move* through the terrain. If you land in it, having just moved over it, then you are not dropped
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 23:33:22
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Kevin949 wrote:Just remember, jump infantry using their packs in the assault phase do not go through terrain, they go over it.
JI using their packs to assault only take a dangerous test, which does not quantify going at initiative 1.
Since the lord does not have wraithflight, the wraiths would not be able to benefit from it in this situation. It is no different from attaching a cryptek to deathmarks and not being able to deep strike.
Simple solution? Use your jump packs to assault, always.
So if I move 6" and charge 2d6 with jump packs they are never at initiative 1 from terrain?
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/11 23:45:57
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Tomb King wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Just remember, jump infantry using their packs in the assault phase do not go through terrain, they go over it.
JI using their packs to assault only take a dangerous test, which does not quantify going at initiative 1.
Since the lord does not have wraithflight, the wraiths would not be able to benefit from it in this situation. It is no different from attaching a cryptek to deathmarks and not being able to deep strike.
Simple solution? Use your jump packs to assault, always.
So if I move 6" and charge 2d6 with jump packs they are never at initiative 1 from terrain?
Correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/12 00:00:49
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Is the "Lord" in sit 3 a Destroyer Lord as well?
You specified Destroyer Lord in Sit 2, I assumed that Sit 3 was a regular Lord.
If it is a regular Lord, you would still roll for difficult terrain if he enters terrain, even if the Wraiths "jump" over it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/12 00:23:07
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
40k-noob wrote:Is the "Lord" in sit 3 a Destroyer Lord as well?
You specified Destroyer Lord in Sit 2, I assumed that Sit 3 was a regular Lord.
If it is a regular Lord, you would still roll for difficult terrain if he enters terrain, even if the Wraiths "jump" over it.
Good catch.. meant destroyer lord. Now code name Destro
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/12 04:45:52
Subject: Charging through difficult terrain... Who does it effect?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: Drunkspleen wrote:Assuming the Lord isn't using his jump ability to assault, I believe you roll 2d6 for the wraiths, an entirely separate 3d6 subtract highest for the lord, and then use whichever is lower of those 2 results to make your charge.
This applies even if the lord himself doesn't go into the terrain, so long as models from the unit have done so.
If the Lord and the Wraiths are one unit, why would you make two rolls? A single unit gets a single roll for charge distance.
As DS quoted, "If a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model" ( BRB 21). I think this would mean that, if a Lord is with Wraiths and they charge into cover, the whole unit rolls 3D6 and takes the lowest.
Because the rules demand you to determine which roll is slowest and you can't always reliably do that just by looking at the rules for how to roll.
For example, if you have a unit of models that get to re-roll their charge distance, and an attached IC who gets to roll 3d6 then drop the lowest, which of those is slowest?
The only reliable way to obey the rules which tell you how to handle models with differing charge speeds for all situations is to roll each speed separately and use the slowest result.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|