Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 11:25:39
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Ok, here is the example:
- There is a squadron of 3 scout sentinels, tightly together in a column formation (so as in moving one after another).
- I deep strike units with the shrouded USR, behind the last sentinel.
- I fire the weapons and score 8 hits.
- The closest sentinel is wrecked by 2 glancing hits. (2 hits resolved individually)
- The next sentinel then suffers a penetrating hit and explodes 6". (1 hit resolved)
- One model of my unit is caught under the blast and wounded.
(Q: The unit has Shrouded, so does the model get a 3+ cover save from the first wrecked sentinel?)
- Then the last sentinel suffers a penetrating hit and explodes. (1 die rolled)
(Q: There are still 4 hits left, that i haven't resolved. Do i still resolve them even if the vehicle explodes?
And if so, can it explode multiple times?
And if so, why can't the 2 first sentinels?) < - - No GW type answers please, just a logical one.
I hope this doesn't sound stupid.
|
5000 pts.
4000 pts.
3000 pts.
2000 pts.
2000 pts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 11:30:59
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
First. If the model who is getting the wound is 25% obscured, he'll get a cover save (with shrouded he is getting one regardless).
Second. If the last vehicle is destroyed (either by loss of HPs or explosion) the rest of the hits are lost, similar to a unit that takes more unsaved wounds then models.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 11:36:13
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Happyjew wrote:First. If the model who is getting the wound is 25% obscured, he'll get a cover save (with shrouded he is getting one regardless).
Second. If the last vehicle is destroyed (either by loss of HPs or explosion) the rest of the hits are lost, similar to a unit that takes more unsaved wounds then models.
Ok, so if i take 1 sentinel. Then it can explode multiple times.
But if i take a squadron, it cant?
It can actually explode many times, since on page 74 it says about explodes:
roll for the distance once, regardless of how many times the result was inflicted
But this doesn't apply to squadrons?
edit: this editing is getting ridiculous...
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2013/03/01 12:10:02
5000 pts.
4000 pts.
3000 pts.
2000 pts.
2000 pts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 12:20:44
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Happyjew wrote:
Second. If the last vehicle is destroyed (either by loss of HPs or explosion) the rest of the hits are lost, similar to a unit that takes more unsaved wounds then models.
Is that true, or is it more that all the remaining hits get applied to the final vehicle simultaneously? With infantry it doesn't matter if the wound pool still has results when all the models are gone, but it does for vehicle squadrons.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 12:21:18
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 12:26:49
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
All the shots are fired and resolved at the same time, meaning you wouldn't have cover against the sentinel blowing up as the sentinel from its own squadron doesn't grant the opponent any cover (assuming we consider the explosion as a "shooting" from the exploded sentinel)
In the same vein, if you have 5 pen on the last vehicles that say grant you 3 exploded result, you roll 3 dice and it explodes at the greater range
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 12:40:39
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Flinty wrote: Happyjew wrote:
Second. If the last vehicle is destroyed (either by loss of HPs or explosion) the rest of the hits are lost, similar to a unit that takes more unsaved wounds then models.
Is that true, or is it more that all the remaining hits get applied to the final vehicle simultaneously? With infantry it doesn't matter if the wound pool still has results when all the models are gone, but it does for vehicle squadrons.
Yeah, so is the last vehicle treated as a squadron if all the others are destroyed?
Or is it treated as a single vehicle?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
TanKoL wrote:All the shots are fired and resolved at the same time, meaning you wouldn't have cover against the sentinel blowing up as the sentinel from its own squadron doesn't grant the opponent any cover (assuming we consider the explosion as a "shooting" from the exploded sentinel)
In the same vein, if you have 5 pen on the last vehicles that say grant you 3 exploded result, you roll 3 dice and it explodes at the greater range
Where does it say that? It says only roll once for the distance, but it doesn't say that 3 exploded results equals 1 explosion. Only 1 distance for the explosion.
Also, for the squadron, the hits aren't resolved at the same time.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/03/01 12:50:50
5000 pts.
4000 pts.
3000 pts.
2000 pts.
2000 pts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 13:45:15
Subject: Re:Squadron damage results
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
these hits must be resolved, one at a time, against the model in the squadron closest to the firing unit - exactly like you would resolve Wounds on a normal unit.
Just like normal wounds on a unit, so they are solved one at a time, but simultaneously
I'm wrong for the distance though, it's explicit that you only roll once for distance, whatever the number of explodes you get
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 14:23:24
Subject: Re:Squadron damage results
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
TanKoL wrote:these hits must be resolved, one at a time, against the model in the squadron closest to the firing unit - exactly like you would resolve Wounds on a normal unit.
Just like normal wounds on a unit, so they are solved one at a time, but simultaneously
I'm wrong for the distance though, it's explicit that you only roll once for distance, whatever the number of explodes you get
But the explosion is not a shooting attack, so i would get the cover save from the wreck.
And the first sentinel becomes a wreck before the next one explodes, nowhere does it say that the hits are resolved all at once. It specifically tells you to roll as long as the first is destroyed and then move on to the next.
Now with models with wounds, you can roll all the dice at once and then remove the closest models, but the rule there is also to roll individually. With vehicles you cannot roll all the dice at once because then you could decide which vehicle explodes and which is wrecked, etc..
The damage results are in effect immediately after the hit has been allocated and resolved, so a wrecked vehicle will not be a part of the squadron anymore.
Otherwise it would say something like: remove the exploded vehicles after resolving the shooting attack and left the wrecked on the table..
Furthermore: Is a single surviving member of a squadron treated as a single vehicle, or a squadron of 1 vehicle in subsequent turns?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 14:49:35
5000 pts.
4000 pts.
3000 pts.
2000 pts.
2000 pts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 14:57:41
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. The wreck provides cover to the shooting unit, which then applies shrouded.
2. Once the vehicle is destroyed, remaining hits are lost.
3. There will only be 1 exploded result for a squadron vehicle. You apply each hit individually and resolve any glance or penetration results.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/01 15:04:37
Subject: Squadron damage results
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Fragile wrote:1. The wreck provides cover to the shooting unit, which then applies shrouded.
2. Once the vehicle is destroyed, remaining hits are lost.
3. There will only be 1 exploded result for a squadron vehicle. You apply each hit individually and resolve any glance or penetration results.
Thank you!
So essentially a single vehicle is treated differently than the last surviving member of a squadron?
A squadron is a squadron no matter how many models are in it, right?
But if one of the members is abandoned because it was immobilized, does it count as a squadron too or a single vehicle? It only says in the rules that its treated as a separate unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/01 15:06:04
5000 pts.
4000 pts.
3000 pts.
2000 pts.
2000 pts.
|
|
 |
 |
|