Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 15:14:40
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
This is probably a really stupid question, but, can a squad that has arrived in a drop pod move on the turn it arrives? I've played against a few people that use them, and all but one has simply placed them in base contact with the access points, and left them there. This past weekend I was playing against someone who moved them 6" after arriving. I asked him if they could move in the turn they arrived, and he didn't know. The rules in the BRB seem to be for units disembarking that can move(thus move up to 6" from access points), but I can't find anything about disembarking without moving(wasn't the old rule something like 2" from AP?)...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 15:15:51
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Arriving by Drop Pod is the same as arriving by Deep Strike. The rules for Deep Strike clearly tells you what you can do on the turn you arrive. Edit: Misunderstood your question. You still disembark as normal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 15:16:29
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 15:18:21
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You have to disembark from a drop pod.
Looking at the disembark rules, it tells you the models can disembark, but must be totally within 6" of the vehicle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 15:53:55
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:You have to disembark from a drop pod.
Looking at the disembark rules, it tells you the models can disembark, but must be totally within 6" of the vehicle.
Yes, but that 6" is their move. What I was trying to find out is, can they move after arriving, or, like deep striking units, can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:01:17
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
BRB Page 36, deep strike rules;
In the Movementphase during which they arrive, deep
striking units maynot move any further, other than to
disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they
are in one
So no, they cannot move (other than to disembark (up to 6") from the Drop Pod) as per the Deep Strike Rules. There is no permission to override this restriction.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 16:01:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:26:22
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
1 slight point that sometimes is overlooked is that while you get a 6" disembark from a vehicle, the model must be fully within 6" of the vehicle at the end of its move.
Basically if you disembark in a straight line away from the vehicle, you get about a 5" move with a normal infantry base before reaching the "within 6" requirement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:40:28
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
You may want to check the directions on disembarking on pg 79 as you place the model against the hull at an access point then move 6".
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:46:50
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Gravmyr wrote:You may want to check the directions on disembarking on pg 79 as you place the model against the hull at an access point then move 6".
And every model must finish their move wholly within 6" of the Access Point it disembarked from.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:49:49
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Exactly HJ. The whole base of the model must be fully within 6" after the disembark.
I've come across several people who didn't know that and we're getting extra movement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 16:54:15
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Or I could have misread that section....
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 17:07:19
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Ok... How does that change what I said?
I said some people don't know the rule and get extra movement from it.
If you didn't know the rule, you were getting extra movement from the disembark. What's your issue with that statement?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 17:26:05
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I didn't say anything about you just myself.... why would you think that was directed towards anyone else?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 17:50:59
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You post stated " Or I could have misread that section..."
That implies that your responding to a statement.
We're you responding to my statement, or someone else's?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/19 00:04:44
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It was a statement that I had misread a section.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:21:04
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The rule for disembarking states that after each model has been placed in base contact with an access point; "The model can then make a normal move-Difficult and dangerous terrrain tests should be taken as normal, but it must end it's move wholly within 6" of the access point it dessembarked from"
So, models arriving by Drop Pod, are they allowed a "normal-move"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 18:28:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:31:44
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
They must disembark.
Disembarking has specific rules spelled out in the rule book.
You follow the rules for disembarking which tell you that when you disembark, you move 6" starting from base contact with the vehicle, and that your move must end fully within 6" of the hull.
They do not get any other movement.
If your asking if they get a 6" disembark plus another move the answer is no.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 18:33:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:36:33
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:They must disembark.
Disembarking has specific rules spelled out in the rule book.
You follow the rules for disembarking which tell you that when you disembark, you move 6" starting from base contact with the vehicle, and that your move must end fully within 6" of the hull.
They do not get any other movement than that.
If your asking if they get a 6" disembark plus another move the answer is no.
No, I am asking if a unit that arrives by drop pod is allowed to move. I know the rules for disembarking if you are allowed to move, I'm simply trying to find out what happens if you aren't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:41:48
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
There is only 1 way to voluntarily get out of a vehicle, and that is to disembark from it.
Drop pods state the unit must disembark.
You follow the rules for disembarking as stated.
What your asking is for some rule that changes how deep striking models disembark, but such a rule does not exist.
Disembarking voluntarily from a deep striking vehicle is the same disembark that every other vehicle uses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:44:10
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:There is only 1 way to voluntarily get out of a vehicle, and that is to disembark from it.
Drop pods state the unit must disembark.
You follow the rules for disembarking as stated.
What your asking is for some rule that changes how deep striking models disembark, but such a rule does not exist.
Disembarking voluntarily from a deep striking vehicle is the same disembark that every other vehicle uses.
So you're saying they can deep strike and get a normal move.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:45:58
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The first question would have to be from what? Is the unit unable to be placed due to some kind of field that makes it so infantry units have to treat all terrain as impassable? Is it from some special rule that says no unit may move? Or an immobile unit in a drop pod?
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:47:07
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
No. They deepstrike and then disembark.
Disembark is a 6" move. If your models normal move is greater than 6" you still only disembark 6" as that's what the disembark rules tell you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:51:44
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:No. They deepstrike and then disembark.
Disembark is a 6" move. If your models normal move is greater than 6" you still only disembark 6" as that's what the disembark rules tell you.
Disembark is not a 6" move. Disembark is getting out of the vehicle and being in base contact with the access point you got out of. The 6" bit is for your normal-movement, that's why it says "The model can then make a normal move".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:52:58
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
It says the models must be wholly within 6" of the vehicle access point at the end of the move. Not any further.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 18:53:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:54:36
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Gravmyr wrote:The first question would have to be from what? Is the unit unable to be placed due to some kind of field that makes it so infantry units have to treat all terrain as impassable? Is it from some special rule that says no unit may move? Or an immobile unit in a drop pod?
Deep strike rules say you can't move, other than to disembark. The disembark rule says you place the model in base contact, then you can make your normal move. Automatically Appended Next Post: BarBoBot wrote:It says the models must be wholly within 6" of the vehicle access point at the end of the move. Not any further.
Exactly, "at the end of the move", Deep Strike rule says you can't move...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 18:57:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 18:58:20
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Are you ignoring the part where it tells you your whole model must be within 6" of the access point?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 19:01:46
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:Are you ignoring the part where it tells you your whole model must be within 6" of the access point?
No, I'm not ignoring anything. It says it must be within 6" at the end of it's move. What I'm asking is, can a unit that deep strikes in via drop pod move, or does it remain in contact with the access point it came out of.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 19:02:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 19:02:14
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
You already know that the deepstrike rules tell you you can disembark. Disembarking does not end with placing the models in base contact. It ends when you have moved your models to a point within 6" of the access point.
You have permission to make a disembark written in the deepstrike rules that you already quoted.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 19:05:51
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BarBoBot wrote:You already know that the deepstrike rules tell you you can disembark. Disembarking does not end with placing the models in base contact. It ends when you have moved your models to a point within 6" of the access point.
You have permission to make a disembark written in the deepstrike rules that you already quoted.
text removed
Reds8n
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 19:17:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 19:07:37
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
What it comes down to is that you can't move after a deepstrike with the exception that you may disembark from a deepstriking vehicle.
You follow the complete rules for disembarking, because it does not tell you to only pick out certain parts.
The rule that you may not move is overruled by the exemption for deepstriking vehicles passengers being allowed to disembark.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/18 19:13:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/18 19:16:27
Subject: Drop Pod Dissembarking
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ted1138 wrote:. It says it must be within 6" at the end of it's move. What I'm asking is, can a unit that deep strikes in via drop pod move, or does it remain in contact with the access point it came out of. Ted, maybe you are missing this part of the Deep Strike rules "In the Movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one." P. 36 The underlined says you can not move, except for disembarking. The DS rules allow the disembark move, but no other moves may be made.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/18 19:17:24
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|