| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 05:43:09
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Flea on a Warhounds Back
Kentucky
|
Sorry if this has been covered before but my forum search turned up nothing.
A few days ago I was having a game vs an orc player and my warlord and rat ogre unit charged into the flank of his trolls. I rolled fairly poorly and only ended up with one unsaved wound. This wound was multiplied into d6 wounds which turned out to be three. He already had two wound on one troll and he said he had to allocate the unmultiplied wound to that troll and as it could only take one wound, the excess was wasted. This didn't seem right to me but I had nothing to contradict his opinion so I went with it. It now occurs to me that I was attacking the unit and shouldn't the wounds when multiplied be on the unit and therefore the wounds bleed over? Let me know what you guys think, this has been bugging me ever since.
|
If at first you don't succeed, Blame your parents! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 06:20:13
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
No you cause wounds to the unit, since trolls have 3 base you can't do more than that, so when you got that 3 you caused 3 wounds to the unit and with one wound from before that's a total of 4 wounds on the unit, resulting in one dead troll and a wound on the unit.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 10:02:57
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Wounds in a multi-wound model uinit arent assigned to any model, except characters. They "float"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 10:34:00
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
They are assigned to the unit, but capped at one model's number of wounds.
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 13:43:14
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So to piggy back off this thread, if a unit of 3 trolls were hit by something like a grapeshot from the ogre cannon the wounds would carry over to the entire unit. For instance if you roll a 5 on the multiple wounds the first troll would take 3 wounds, die, then the remaining 2 wounds would go on the next troll?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 13:54:09
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
No. The multi-wounds roll will only do as many wounds that is on the models profile.
A wound with multiple wound d6, A roll of 3, 4, 5, 6 will only do a max 3 wounds to a Troll.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 13:56:21
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
The multiple wounds rule can only cause up to the maximum wounds a model in the unit has, so against trolls with 3 wounds that's 3 against sabertusks it's 2 and against RnF infantry it basically has no effect.
Also grapeshot doesn't have the multiple wounds USR, an ogre cannon does get a strength of 10 rather than 6 on its grapeshot.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 14:15:41
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
|
You wound a single model with the strike, you then do d6 wounds to that model only. In the example of a troll and a roll of say, 6, the extra 3 wounds do not carry over onto the unit. You just kill a single troll real good and dead.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 14:18:20
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Great, sounds like we were doing multiple wounds correct, it my case it was against necro knights and not trolls. I'll have to check with him to see where he got the multiple wound idea from... Automatically Appended Next Post: Buckyeye6 wrote:Great, sounds like we were doing multiple wounds correct, it my case it was against necro knights and not trolls. I'll have to check with him to see where he got the ogre cannon causing multiple wound idea from...
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/26 14:18:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 15:30:23
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
It does cause D6 wounds just like any cannon, and just like other cannons that doesn't extend to it's grapeshot.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/26 15:31:49
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 16:21:42
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
It's also good to point out that Grape Shot has to roll to hit (you roll for number of shots) and you take normal modifiers for movement, range, cover, and skirmish.
So if you move, and fire at 6-12", you are shooting at a -2 to hit.
Seeing how it's BS3, that's 0-10 shots, hitting on 6's.
Grapeshot is, more or less, horrible.
You're almost always better backing up and firing the cannon if your opponent is point blank.
-Matt
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 17:04:26
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Presumably unless you have Move or Fire.
I think multiple wounds is a rule we used to play wrong. My mates who "knew the rules" rolled for multiple wounds then rolled to wound for each, which is obviously wrong now that I have a BRB too. Meant they killed more RnF too.
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 19:42:58
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:It's also good to point out that Grape Shot has to roll to hit (you roll for number of shots) and you take normal modifiers for movement, range, cover, and skirmish.
So if you move, and fire at 6-12", you are shooting at a -2 to hit.
Seeing how it's BS3, that's 0-10 shots, hitting on 6's.
Grapeshot is, more or less, horrible.
You're almost always better backing up and firing the cannon if your opponent is point blank.
-Matt
Off topic, but that's one of the silly things about the Khorn Khannon. For whatever reason, Matt Ward decided that Bloodletters needed to be BS5.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 19:48:56
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Saldiven wrote:HawaiiMatt wrote:It's also good to point out that Grape Shot has to roll to hit (you roll for number of shots) and you take normal modifiers for movement, range, cover, and skirmish.
So if you move, and fire at 6-12", you are shooting at a -2 to hit.
Seeing how it's BS3, that's 0-10 shots, hitting on 6's.
Grapeshot is, more or less, horrible.
You're almost always better backing up and firing the cannon if your opponent is point blank.
-Matt
Off topic, but that's one of the silly things about the Khorn Khannon. For whatever reason, Matt Ward decided that Bloodletters needed to be BS5.
That makes their grapeshot almost worth it. Even with BS5, you're looking at ~3 S5 hits average. I'd still rather fire the cannon.
BS5 makes sense. Khorne is a Martial god. His followers wouldn't forgo ranged combat.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/26 19:50:19
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/26 20:08:27
Subject: Fellblade multiple wounds question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hell cannon says hi o/
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|