Switch Theme:

Heralds of Chaos  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




My apologies if this is already a topic somewhere, but I have looked and looked and I cannot find anything for the life of me...

Heralds of Chaos have an interesting box in the army list section of the new Chaos Daemons codex. It specifies that "Each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models:" and then proceeds to list the various Heralds.

Does this mean that Heralds of Chaos can ONLY be purchased when you are using Chaos Daemons as your primary detachment? Or does it mean that you can have up to 4 Heralds of Chaos as a single HQ slot in a primary detachment and then only a SINGLE Herald of Chaos when purchased as an allied contingent?

As far as I can see, that box only specifies that each primary detachment can have up to 4 Heralds in a single slot, but they still remain a normal HQ choice when purchased as part of an allied force. Of course, that is also the way that my bias is leaning so...I'd rather have someone else work it out for me.

Thanks
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

I would interpret it as only available in the primary detachment, in much the same way as servitors are only available if you take a techmarine or command squads only if you take an HQ character.


I don't expect it to actually stay that way though, I would imagine that it will be FAQ'd to 4-to-1 for Primary and 1-to-1 for Allied detachments. But as written, definitely Primary only.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





GameFreak975 wrote:
Or does it mean that you can have up to 4 Heralds of Chaos as a single HQ slot in a primary detachment and then only a SINGLE Herald of Chaos when purchased as an allied contingent?

This is correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/03 04:54:47


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

GameFreak975 wrote:
Or does it mean that you can have up to 4 Heralds of Chaos as a single HQ slot in a primary detachment and then only a SINGLE Herald of Chaos when purchased as an allied contingent?

This is how it reads to me. It's how I've been playing it.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Chrysis wrote:
I would interpret it as only available in the primary detachment, in much the same way as servitors are only available if you take a techmarine or command squads only if you take an HQ character.

I don't expect it to actually stay that way though, I would imagine that it will be FAQ'd to 4-to-1 for Primary and 1-to-1 for Allied detachments. But as written, definitely Primary only.

This is incorrect because the Heralds exist as a choice in the HQ section. There's a rule that applies to Primary contingents, but nothing in that rule removes Heralds as a selection for Allied contingents.

So you have permission and no denial, meaning its a valid choice.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

So do units of Servitors. That the limit is attached directly to the unit of servitors rather than as per the heralds is an efficiency consideration (in the heralds case) rather than having any meaning in and of itself. After all, the Servitor's specific restriction is unique to the servitor unit, while the heralds would all share the exact same restriction.

But again, I don't expect that to actually be the case once GW rules.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The servitors restriction is a denial of permission (unless you have a Techmarine). You can't do X unless you do Y.

Find the denial for Heralds in an allied contingent.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It's only a denial of permission as an exception.

The servitors are "You may include a unit of servitors for each Techmarine...".

The Heralds are "Each Primary Detachment may include up to 4 Heralds..."

Functionally identical. Either both are exceptions to unstated rules denying permission or neither are.
   
Made in us
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch




Chrysis wrote:
It's only a denial of permission as an exception.

The servitors are "You may include a unit of servitors for each Techmarine...".

The Heralds are "Each Primary Detachment may include up to 4 Heralds..."

Functionally identical. Either both are exceptions to unstated rules denying permission or neither are.


That's not how they read though. For the servitors it means you must have a Techmarine in order to include them. The Heralds only mention Primary detachment, not allied detachment.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If you're not taking a Techmarine you cannot take Servitors.
If you're not building a Primary detachment, you cannot take 4 Heralds in one HQ slot.

That's the only thing the Herald rule disallows.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Right. And the servitors don't mention what happens if you don't have a Techmarine. That's my point.

The servitors tell you you may include a unit for each techmarine, which implies that you may not include a unit without a techmarine.

The heralds tell you you may include up to 4 in each Primary Detachment. Which implies you may not include up to 4 in a non-Primary Detachment.

The Dark Angels techmarine is actually a better example than the Servitors as the rule is laid out identically. Except that the techmarine is a "For each X you may include Y" while the Heralds are "Each X may include Y", indicating "ownership" of the Y in question.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The "In one slot" is actually a separate sentence. So the permission for primary detachments is to take up to 4 heralds. The permission for servitors is to take a single unit. Both have extra rules attached about the number of force org slots they take up, 1 and 0 respectively.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/03 05:44:23


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: