Switch Theme:

Tau 6th Ed Codex FAQ collection thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Salt Lake City, Utah

The Hammerhead and Skyray may replace their Gun Drones with either TL BCs, or TL SMS for free.

These two upgrades are identical except the SMS has longer range and Ignores cover, making the BC choice utterly pointless since they both cost the same (free.)

Was this intentional?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/08 05:46:50


You can't spell 'slaughter' without 'laughter'.
By the time they scream... It's too late.
DQ:70+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k94#-D+A++/areWD106R++T(R)DM+
Check my P&M blarg! - Ke'lshan Tau Fire Caste Contingent: Astartes Hunters
 
   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge





Oregon, USA

Commander Farsight doesn't have the deep strike special rule but he specifically has a warlord trait that utilizes that ability.

Can he and his bodyguard deep strike in?

Lady Luck may be fickle, but she loves a man who tries and tries again. 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

 CrazyBones wrote:
Commander Farsight doesn't have the deep strike special rule but he specifically has a warlord trait that utilizes that ability.

Can he and his bodyguard deep strike in?

All Infantry(Jet Pack) Models have Deep Strike
Page 47 Jet Pack Units, special rules sub heading.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






If a Broadside is equipped with Smart Missiles and a Early Warning Override granting it Interceptor, can it fire at units arriving from reserves that it doesn't have LOS to, or does the LOS restriction on Interceptor still override that?

note: I do think the RAW is they can't make interceptor fire, but I think it's worth looking at since many of the core rules don't take special rules into account well.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in it
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






 Drunkspleen wrote:
A Pathfinder unit with drones consists of both Infantry, and Jet Pack Infantry. How far does such a unit redeploy when taking advantage of the "Scout" special rule.

NOTE: To save you having to reference the rulebook Yak, the issue is Scout says "If the unit is Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature, each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. If it is any other unit type, each model can instead redeploy anywhere entirely within 12" of its current position." which is to say, it determines on a per unit basis, not a per model one.
I'd associate it with rules for mixed movement, where you move at the slowest rate.
So, in this case, you make the "scout move" at infantry 6" distance.

2270 (1725 painted)
1978 (180 painted)
329 (280ish)
705 (0)
193 (0)
165 (0)
:assassins: 855 (540) 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kerrathyr wrote:
 Drunkspleen wrote:
A Pathfinder unit with drones consists of both Infantry, and Jet Pack Infantry. How far does such a unit redeploy when taking advantage of the "Scout" special rule.

NOTE: To save you having to reference the rulebook Yak, the issue is Scout says "If the unit is Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature, each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. If it is any other unit type, each model can instead redeploy anywhere entirely within 12" of its current position." which is to say, it determines on a per unit basis, not a per model one.
I'd associate it with rules for mixed movement, where you move at the slowest rate.
So, in this case, you make the "scout move" at infantry 6" distance.

The bolded is incorrect.
You can move however you want as long as you keep coherency. The "as fast as the slowest model" was 5th edition.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Kerrathyr wrote:
 Drunkspleen wrote:
A Pathfinder unit with drones consists of both Infantry, and Jet Pack Infantry. How far does such a unit redeploy when taking advantage of the "Scout" special rule.

NOTE: To save you having to reference the rulebook Yak, the issue is Scout says "If the unit is Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature, each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. If it is any other unit type, each model can instead redeploy anywhere entirely within 12" of its current position." which is to say, it determines on a per unit basis, not a per model one.
I'd associate it with rules for mixed movement, where you move at the slowest rate.
So, in this case, you make the "scout move" at infantry 6" distance.


That is only for charging. IMO the Infantry models can redeploy 6", the jetpack models 12". however htey still need to maintain coherency.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in it
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






 Happyjew wrote:
That is only for charging. IMO the Infantry models can redeploy 6", the jetpack models 12". however htey still need to maintain coherency.
Looks like I messed up movement and charge. Thanks for the correction

2270 (1725 painted)
1978 (180 painted)
329 (280ish)
705 (0)
193 (0)
165 (0)
:assassins: 855 (540) 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Drunkspleen wrote:
A Pathfinder unit with drones consists of both Infantry, and Jet Pack Infantry. How far does such a unit redeploy when taking advantage of the "Scout" special rule.

NOTE: To save you having to reference the rulebook Yak, the issue is Scout says "If the unit is Infantry, Artillery, a Walker or a Monstrous Creature, each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. If it is any other unit type, each model can instead redeploy anywhere entirely within 12" of its current position." which is to say, it determines on a per unit basis, not a per model one.


Actually looking into this issue, I don't think its an issue at all.

'Jet Pack' (and 'Jump') per the rulebook are not a unit type themselves. So drones are still considered infantry and therefore still make a 6" scout move.

I guess a more general question for the main rulebook FAQ would be: Do Jump and/or Jet Pack infantry units that have the Scout ability only get to redeploy 6".

Because I think the answer is actually clear in the rules, but I think a lot of people would read it and still assume that Jet Pack and Jump Infantry are *not* infantry and therefore get to redeploy 12".


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






That's certainly a valid observation, The transport rules strongly suggested to me that "Infantry" does not inherently include Infantry models with those other unit types attached:

"Only Infantry models can embark upon Transports (this does not include Jump or Jet Pack Infantry)"

I see that as a clarifying statement that those other types do not fall into the basic category of Infantry, but then you could argue that it's not a clarifying statement but an additional rule applied for that specific situation only.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Fireknife Shas'el





Leicester

Can they confirm that if Kroot upgrade to sniper rounds they get to choose which profile to use; the normal rifle or the sniper? The note in the summary section suggests this is the case but its not 100% explicit to me.

DS:80+S+GM+B+I+Pw40k08D+A++WD355R+T(M)DM+
 Zed wrote:
*All statements reflect my opinion at this moment. if some sort of pretty new model gets released (or if I change my mind at random) I reserve the right to jump on any bandwagon at will.
 
   
Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Hi guys, just some clarifications needed on Tau markerlights.

1- In what order of operations do units with markerlight drones, and markerlights fire their markerlights and weapons?

2- Units cannot benefit from their own markerlights as they are removed/expended before shooting... so how can a unit shoot off a markerlight and have someone make use of it at all?

3. Do markerlights roll to hit at all? obviously not to wound. Having never used one in a game im just trying to rap my newbie head around these rules.

4- Since markerlights are a heavy 1 shot... can markerlight drones that deep strike with a crisis team not fire for that turn? Or do marker lights snap fire?

thanks for any clarifications gents


It is the rule in war, if ten times the enemy's strength, surround them; if five times, attack them; if double, be able to divide them; if equal, engage them; if fewer, be able to evade them; if weaker, be able to avoid them. - Sun Tzu  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 CorpseCommander wrote:
Hi guys, just some clarifications needed on Tau markerlights.

1- In what order of operations do units with markerlight drones, and markerlights fire their markerlights and weapons?

2- Units cannot benefit from their own markerlights as they are removed/expended before shooting... so how can a unit shoot off a markerlight and have someone make use of it at all?

3. Do markerlights roll to hit at all? obviously not to wound. Having never used one in a game im just trying to rap my newbie head around these rules.

4- Since markerlights are a heavy 1 shot... can markerlight drones that deep strike with a crisis team not fire for that turn? Or do marker lights snap fire?

thanks for any clarifications gents


This is not the appropriate thread to post these questions. This thread is for legitimate questions that have no answers in the rules so they can be submitted to GW and/or tournaments.

All the questions you posted above are clearly answered in the rules themselves, and besides that, this thread isn't for answering questions, just for collecting questions.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Question:
Can interceptor Drones use supporting fire while still attached to a Sunshark?
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Edit: Thought there was no precedence for units in units, nevermind.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 15:12:21


Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Okay, putting this here because I see people arguing this:
Do drones attached to vehicles use thier own BS or the vehicles. The way I read the rules they use thier own, but since this is for GW to end any argument on with a FAQ, Im posting it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/04/09 16:51:34


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

juraigamer wrote:What happens to gun drones disembarking when in a squad of piranha, of say 5.

Do they make 5 2 man gun drone units or 1 10 man unit?


cryhavok wrote:Okay, putting this here because I see people arguing this:
Do drones attached to vehicles use thier own BS or the vehicles. The way I read the rules they use thier own, but since this is for GW to end any argument on with a FAQ, Im posting it.


Both these questions are explicitly answered in the rules...where is there any ambiguity?


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Agreed, those two are both explicitly answered on page 33. In particular, look for the sentences containing the key terms "fire points" and then "vehicle squadrons".

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Question:
If the Sunshark Bomber evades, are the Interceptor drones restricted to firing only snap shots? In general, do passengers embarked on a zooming flier with fire points fire only snap shots when the flier evades? (RAW, no: fluff, yes)


   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I made a thread here on You Make Da Call but I will add my question to this one and request mine be shut down, thanks!


A few questions have come to mind with the new Tau supporting fire special rule. I will number them and add more in updates if people are interested in discussion.

1. Do all overwatch shots coming from multiple squads get fired at the same time or separately for each squad participating?
Example: 3 fire warrior squads A, B, and C are standing side by side 5" apart A on the 'left' B in the middle and C on the right. Each squad has 2 marker drones. Squad B in the middle gets targeted for assault, squads A and C elect to assist them with supporting fire.

Possibility A. Squad A shoots first and hits with a marker drone, squad A can not benefit from their marklight hit as it is fired at the same time as their pulse rifles. Then it comes to squad B's turn to fire their overwatch the assaulting squad has a marker token from A's shooting and can use it, if B hits C can then use their Marker.

Possibility B. All Overwatch is fired simultaneously and none of the participating squads can benefit from a markerlight unless it has specific rules allowing it to benefit the squad as it shoots.

2. Can you use a flamers "Wall of Death" effect in conjunction with Supporting Fire? I can imagine this leading to some VERY dumb situations where a flamer could Wall of Death around 42" away.

3. Does supporting fire count as actually firing over watch for the purposes of special rules? I.E. darkstrider's running away, gravity drones, etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 00:07:12


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Runnin up on ya.

 Jadenim wrote:
Can they confirm that if Kroot upgrade to sniper rounds they get to choose which profile to use; the normal rifle or the sniper? The note in the summary section suggests this is the case but its not 100% explicit to me.


Considering the codex entry states it's an upgrade, I would think it replaces the pulse rounds. I'm probably wrong but can't think of any upgrades that allow you access to your old equipment.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
From wrote:
I made a thread here on You Make Da Call but I will add my question to this one and request mine be shut down, thanks!


A few questions have come to mind with the new Tau supporting fire special rule. I will number them and add more in updates if people are interested in discussion.

1. Do all overwatch shots coming from multiple squads get fired at the same time or separately for each squad participating?
Example: 3 fire warrior squads A, B, and C are standing side by side 5" apart A on the 'left' B in the middle and C on the right. Each squad has 2 marker drones. Squad B in the middle gets targeted for assault, squads A and C elect to assist them with supporting fire.

Possibility A. Squad A shoots first and hits with a marker drone, squad A can not benefit from their marklight hit as it is fired at the same time as their pulse rifles. Then it comes to squad B's turn to fire their overwatch the assaulting squad has a marker token from A's shooting and can use it, if B hits C can then use their Marker.

Possibility B. All Overwatch is fired simultaneously and none of the participating squads can benefit from a markerlight unless it has specific rules allowing it to benefit the squad as it shoots.

2. Can you use a flamers "Wall of Death" effect in conjunction with Supporting Fire? I can imagine this leading to some VERY dumb situations where a flamer could Wall of Death around 42" away.

3. Does supporting fire count as actually firing over watch for the purposes of special rules? I.E. darkstrider's running away, gravity drones, etc.


3. Oddly enough, I think it works RAW. "When an enemy charges, all friendly models with this special rule in units within 6" of the unit being charged can choose to fire Overwatch." Interesting possibilities there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 00:16:59


Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






EDIT: Sorry, removed to reduce clutter and misinformation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 04:49:40


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Trasvi wrote:
I think the answer is A. The markerlight rules specifically state they can be used for overwatch, and units cannot benefit from their own markerlights. (unless they are a vehicle with networked markerlights, in which case they can't overwatch. Unless they have an upgrade, in which case....)

What happens when Longstrike is piloting a Skyray which gets to overwatch, either by supporting fire or by being assaulted?


As for your question 2, I don't have my rulebook on hand, but does overwatch ever say anything about if you need to be in range? Without a range modifier, RAW you can fire even if not in range. The rule was obviously intended for when one unit is assaulted by the enemy, so you will be in range. But add an extra 6 inches or more onto that....


Again people...there are only 2 reasons to post in this thread:

1) If you've looked at the book and are 100% sure there is an ambiguous situation that has no clear resolution per the rules and therefore needs to be included in a list of FAQ questions (or the odd case where the RAW is so illogical that the question will naturally get asked a 1,000 times if it isn't answered).

2) if you see a question posted that you then consult the book and realize there IS a CRYSTAL CLEAR answer to that question to the point where it looks like it was a mistake to even have that question posted in this thread, then you can post here to point that out.


Otherwise, PLEASE DO NOT POST IN THIS THREAD. Please do not ask questions that you haven't had the chance to look thoroughly through the book to research and please do not attempt to 'answer' questions in this thread unless you've done similar thorough research and determined that the question has a completely clear answer in the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 02:29:17


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter




Odessa, TX, USA

Alright. This may be simple, but thought I'd voice it rather than make a separate topic:

The Commander suit can take 4 hard points. Of which consist of Support Systems and Weapons; the bullet under it says you may select items from the Signature System.

Does this imply that Signature Systems are considered hard points, or not? I would assume not, but I have local gamers who say they count as hard points, seeing as how Signature Systems remind me of the Special Issue stuff that didn't take up a hard point last Codex; I believe.

Thanks!
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Contrast the Commander and Bodyguard with the Crisis Team Shas'vre and you'll have your answer.
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian






Ireland

About 80% of the questions asked here have answers in the BRB or the Codex.

"Suffering is Faith, Faith is Strength.

Generations have suffered with the same devotion that we can offer but once. Still, our Faith leads us through these dark times like a beacon. It will guide us to triumph over these abominations. Either by breaking them upon us like waves against a limitless, golden peak or by thrusting through them like the spear of the Immortal Emperor Himself." - Cannoness Aoife, Order of the desert rose #Yesallwomen

Just finished my second album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptvBO4vwb-A 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Argh, ignore this...I forgot stunned vehicles can snapshot now. Thanks Nos.

(Original post) Ok, new one from another thread...

Can you expend markerlights to fire seeker missiles from a vehicle that is stunned?

It's ambiguous in my eyes as the stunned model is the one firing the missile, but the markerlight rule says the missile is fired in addition to any other weapons you are normally permitted to fire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 12:17:14


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"at full BS", when a stunned vehicle can only snapshot, means you can indeed fire. Same way PotMS could fire even if the vehicle was not permitted to fire anything.
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





Quincy, IL

To Cleverantics post

Do the signature systems count towards the number of sytems/ weapons a suit can take.
This is something that really needs to get a faq on which way it goes.

We are having it played it does count until an faq says wether or not it does.

There is a precedence set for this ruling on pg. 100 of the codex which states " a Crisis Shas'vre may take up to three items from the ranged weapons, signature systems and/ or support systems list."


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 13:14:06


3000 pts
10000 pts
2000 pts
1600 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hulking Hunter-class Warmech





Bristol, England

Similar to the crisis suit ranged weapon, can a commander take 2 twin-linked weapons of the same type in its 4 ranged weapon hardpoints?

If so, I've found the model I want to be my commander...

http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Warhammer-40000/Tau/TAU-BATTLESUITS-AND-DRONES/XV9-HAZARD-CLOSE-SUPPORT-ARMOUR.html

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/10 16:44:54


Read the first two novels in the Maelstrom's Edge Universe now:

Maelstrom's Edge: Faith - read a sample here!

and

Maelstrom's Edge: Sacrifice 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: