Switch Theme:

Coteaz I Have Been Expecting You - Enemy Units Arriving From Reserve In Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I would like some clarification on Coteaz's ability; I Have Been Expecting You.

If an enemy drop pod drops in, does Coteaz get to shoot at the pod and the squad that deploys?

If an enemy flyer reserves in and deploys a squad, does Coteaz get to shoot at both the flyer and squad?
   
Made in us
Kovnik





Texas

I believe he can shoot at the squad. And models can only shoot once.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Coteaz's ability is different to the Interceptor USR in various ways, here's the relevant extracts from the GK FAQ:

Q: When are the shooting attacks from Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule fired? (p45)
A: They are fired as soon as a unit that is a valid target is placed on the board. Once the shooting attacks have been resolved, the unit can complete its move. If the unit is arriving by Deep Strike, this will be after the scatter has been resolved.

Q: Does a squad disembarking from a Drop Pod, or Mycetic Spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been Expecting You special rule? (p45)
A: Yes, this means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.

So Coteaz and his unit can fire at both the pod AND the unit inside (provided they are both in range and LOS).
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Nafarious wrote:
And models can only shoot once.

This is not true for Coteaz's rule.

He can shoot any number of times if the opposing units meet the requirements.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Yep, and also fire as normal in the subsequent grey knight shooting phase. Bit of a range limitation though.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Whats really fun is if Coteaz is also sitting on a Quad-gun. He can fire it with Interceptor and/or he can use it for IBEY.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

So the way the FAQ is written IBEY can only be used if the units are placed within 12" before they move.

So you can't shoot at flyers and outflanking tanks/squads unless you are within 12" of where they enter the table?

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





You got it. The timing is different on it than Interceptor, which can throw people off.
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

 Neorealist wrote:
You got it. The timing is different on it than Interceptor, which can throw people off.

Good to know. I remember watching some battle reports where it was used more like interceptor. Luckily I've only used it against pods and their contents so far.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Scenario Question:
Lucious Drop Pod Drops with dreadnought. Can Coteaz shoot at the Lucious Drop Pod BEFORE the dreadnought gets out? Essentially, if Coteaz destroys the Lucious Drop Pod, the Dreadnought can't assault.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

No, the Drop Pod arrives and the Dreadnought disembarks pretty much simultaneously. You don't have permission to shoot the Pod before the Dreadnought disembarks.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




 Grey Templar wrote:
No, the Drop Pod arrives and the Dreadnought disembarks pretty much simultaneously. You don't have permission to shoot the Pod before the Dreadnought disembarks.


They are 2 separate units. Units don't move at the same time; they move 1 at a time.

The drop pod comes in during it's movement, and than the dreadnought disembarks during it's movement.

If the drop pod is destroyed before the dreadnought can disembark, it can't assault.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, the dreadnought IMMEDIATELY disembarks. Directly after you determine scatter.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

At best, you can argue the Dreadnought disembarking and IBEY happen simultaneously. In which case the active player chooses the order. And the dreadnought player will always choose to disembark first.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

So the question is, which comes first - determining the final position of the Drop Pod (which is when IBEY kicks in) or the immediate disembarkation?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

As I said above, both happen simultaneously. So the player whose turn it is decides.

The Drop Pods final location is determined, which is the trigger for Disembarking and IBEY. the player whose turn it is decides the order.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/29 20:10:15


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




1 question to add to this, at what point can coteaz and his unit shoot at the disembarking unit?
you place a model in contact with an access point, move it, rinse and repeat.
The FAQ states you fire as soon as a unit is placed on the board, so as I see it strict RAW you can only shoot the first model to disembark before its normal move. Highly likely this is not the intended way of resolving the shooting, but if you wait until all the unit is on the board 1, you have not fired as soon as the unit is placed on the board and 2 the unit could easily move out of the 12" bubble.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/01 08:35:56


 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Coteaz' rule specifies "unit arrives" and not model. So the entire unit moves on, but the attack is then immediately resolved. Works just fine.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




 Super Ready wrote:
Coteaz' rule specifies "unit arrives" and not model. So the entire unit moves on, but the attack is then immediately resolved. Works just fine.


is that while it is in contact with the DP or after the move?
if after the move what if they have moved beyond 12"?

sry i don't want to come across argumentative/awkward I'm using coteaz and a unit of plasma servitors in a tournament soon and want to make sure i'm armed with good enough arguments incase i draw TFG.

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its before the move. So drop pod lands, guys get out, and before they move their 6" Coteaz shoots both the unit and the pod.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/01 17:25:03


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Grey Templar wrote:
Its before the move. So drop pod lands, guys get out, and before they move their 6" Coteaz shoots both the unit and the pod.
So you get to shoot at a single guy? Re-read the disembarking rules ("Placing Disembarked Models" page 79 BRB), you disembark one model, move it, then disembark the next (though I suppose you'd get to shoot him too... So 10 shooting attacks against the occupants of a full pod?).
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Hmmm, maybe not. Forgot they moved on a model by model basis. And Coteaz's rule states "unit"

Never mind then, its done after the unit moves their 6" disembark.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually, it would be after the last guy disembarks, but before he gets to move.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

The disembark IS the move - so in this case you'd have to allow all models to "move" in performing their disembark, as that's how they arrive.
There's a conflict in that the pod also states that models immediately disembark - so you have this disembark and "I've been expecting you" occurring at the same time. However, the player whose turn it is (drop pod owner) gets to choose which happens first. It'd be silly not to disembark first before resolving the shots, as that would give you the risk of hurting the models if the pod explodes, and won't prevent the unit being shot at in a few moments anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: