Switch Theme:

Can you charge a model engaged in a challenge?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So say I have a destroyer lord in a challenge with the doom o malantai. And say a squad of termagants wants to charge in can they?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






I would imagine so but you wouldn't get to attack.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




But you could charge to give the get'im boss rerolls?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Chancetragedy wrote:
But you could charge to give the get'im boss rerolls?


Yes, you could do that. I didn't see anything excluding further units from charging someone in this situation, and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 Kevin949 wrote:
Chancetragedy wrote:
But you could charge to give the get'im boss rerolls?


Yes, you could do that. I didn't see anything excluding further units from charging someone in this situation, and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".


But since the people in a challenge only count as being in base to base with each other, does the initial charger count as having made base to base?

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Kevin949 wrote:
...and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".
I don't really think that's any sort of wholesale permission to skip the rest of the rules. After all, the fact that other units won't be able to reach base contact and therefore won't be able to charge or pile-in, doesn't completely prevent the possibility of two units providing moral support (although it certainly makes it less common).
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Well if unit A charges into the OP's situation and just makes it into b2b with one model only and unit B makes it in in a similar manner you could have a 3rd unit try to do the same.

If the doom was replaced by a dreadknight or daemon prince you could end up with quite a few units charging in to give moral support .

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Pyrian wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
...and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".
I don't really think that's any sort of wholesale permission to skip the rest of the rules. After all, the fact that other units won't be able to reach base contact and therefore won't be able to charge or pile-in, doesn't completely prevent the possibility of two units providing moral support (although it certainly makes it less common).


What rest of the rules am I skipping? If there are two characters involved in a challenge (which is really the only situation that would cause this) and another unit wanted to charge, what is stopping them? The assaulting unit CAN make it into base to base contact, but it just does nothing for them. The characters are "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other" but that is ONLY for the purposes of determining who can strike who and where wounds can get allocated.

More to the point, if the outside unit couldn't assault then a third unit involved in a combat that devolves to only 2 characters in a challenge with a third unit (not attached to either character) there would that third unit then be considered not to be engaged in combat and would consolidate?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Kevin949 wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
...and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".
I don't really think that's any sort of wholesale permission to skip the rest of the rules. After all, the fact that other units won't be able to reach base contact and therefore won't be able to charge or pile-in, doesn't completely prevent the possibility of two units providing moral support (although it certainly makes it less common).


What rest of the rules am I skipping? If there are two characters involved in a challenge (which is really the only situation that would cause this) and another unit wanted to charge, what is stopping them? The assaulting unit CAN make it into base to base contact, but it just does nothing for them. The characters are "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other" but that is ONLY for the purposes of determining who can strike who and where wounds can get allocated.

More to the point, if the outside unit couldn't assault then a third unit involved in a combat that devolves to only 2 characters in a challenge with a third unit (not attached to either character) there would that third unit then be considered not to be engaged in combat and would consolidate?


No they cannot consolidate.
"my units are involved in a multiple combat against an enemy unit that has been reduced to a single character. If that character is currently fighting in a challenge with a character from one of my two units, is it possible for my unengaged unit to consolidate and leave the combat? (p27)
A: No, though they do count for Moral Support re-rolls."
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Chancetragedy wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
...and the moral support section makes note of "one or more units".
I don't really think that's any sort of wholesale permission to skip the rest of the rules. After all, the fact that other units won't be able to reach base contact and therefore won't be able to charge or pile-in, doesn't completely prevent the possibility of two units providing moral support (although it certainly makes it less common).


What rest of the rules am I skipping? If there are two characters involved in a challenge (which is really the only situation that would cause this) and another unit wanted to charge, what is stopping them? The assaulting unit CAN make it into base to base contact, but it just does nothing for them. The characters are "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other" but that is ONLY for the purposes of determining who can strike who and where wounds can get allocated.

More to the point, if the outside unit couldn't assault then a third unit involved in a combat that devolves to only 2 characters in a challenge with a third unit (not attached to either character) there would that third unit then be considered not to be engaged in combat and would consolidate?


No they cannot consolidate.
"my units are involved in a multiple combat against an enemy unit that has been reduced to a single character. If that character is currently fighting in a challenge with a character from one of my two units, is it possible for my unengaged unit to consolidate and leave the combat? (p27)
A: No, though they do count for Moral Support re-rolls."


I knew the answer, it was more of a rhetorical question, but thank you for including the FAQ on that as well as it kind of furthering my point that attaining B2B contact is possible but it does nothing for the assaulting unit other than get them engaged.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




EDIT: I have been FAQ-trumped.

 Kevin949 wrote:
The characters are "considered to be in base to base contact with only each other" but that is ONLY for the purposes of determining who can strike who and where wounds can get allocated.
That caveat is not in the rules. Are you saying that rules like Mindshackle Scarabs can penetrate the "wall of challenge"? Sure would make challenging a Necron lord a lot easier, if all the models in physical base contact are eligible.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/03 00:53:46


 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Page 64 BRB
"For the duration of the challenge, these two models
are considered to be in base contact only with each other."

Wouldn't that mean you could not charge a character who is locked in a challenge because you can't make base to base with the model because he is only in base to base with the challengee.

IXLoiero95XI

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Challenges happen after charging.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 liturgies of blood wrote:
Challenges happen after charging.

This topic is about charging a model engaged in an ongoing challenge. So will already be in the challenge when charges are resolved.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




@loiero95 That's the question ;p. I can see both sides personally and don't have a vested interest in either interpretation.

For being able to charge: the FAQ showing how a separate unit can't leave combat, so why can't a second unit charge into combat?
-The rule you quoted being the exception to only considered in base to base with... Being only for wound allocation and special ability allocation.

Against being able to charge a challenge: the rule you quoted saying that they can't be In base to base with anything but the challengee. So you can't charge anything you can't get in base to base with.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/04 15:21:52


 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

Chancetragedy wrote:
@loiero95 That's the question ;p. I can see both sides personally and don't have a vested interest in either interpretation.

For being able to charge: the FAQ showing how a separate unit can't leave combat, so why can't a second unit charge into combat?
-The rule you quoted being the exception to only considered in base to base with... Being only for wound allocation and special ability allocation.

Against being able to charge a challenge: the rule you quoted saying that they can't be In base to base with anything but the challengee. So you can't charge anything you can't get in base to base with.


Yes but as Kevin949 has already pointed out, the two models involved in the challenge are considered to be in B2B with each other only for the purpose of who can hit who. This would not prevent models from successfully charging, because they can be considered in B2B contact during the Charge sub-phase, but not during the Fight sub-phase once people actually start punching each other. This does lead to interesting implications as to what happens at the end of the Fight sub-phase when the 3rd unit is no longer in B2B with any enemy models, but does nothing to prevent the charge from succeeding.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/04 17:21:51


Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: