Switch Theme:

Does a Character with Terminator armor transfer Relentless to his unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator





Good Ol' Texas

Does a Character with Terminator armor transfer Relentless to his unit? I know Characters transfer USR but since Relentless is from the characters wargear, I just wanted to check if it transfered to his unit.

An example of this would be Logan Grimnar giving Relentless to Long Fangs without his special rule.

Thanks,

Lucarikx


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Characters do NOT transfer USR's.
If the rule itself says it transfers, it does. Otherwise it does not.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

Doesn't Shadowsun give a Farsight Enclave Stealth and shrouding?

Otherwise, I can't see any reason to take shadowsun over a commander.

4 T5 wounds with 2+5FNP? I'm there!

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Stealth and Shrouded transfer, because the their rules say they effect the unit. It's nothing to do with the character.
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 grendel083 wrote:
Stealth and Shrouded transfer, because the their rules say they effect the unit. It's nothing to do with the character.


Is this in the rulebook? I don't have it at hand I'm afraid. (I appreciate the answer, even though this is a hijack)

 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

You have to read the USR section carefully. Some rules say a model others say a unit with at least one model others are different again.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 liturgies of blood wrote:
You have to read the USR section carefully. Some rules say a model others say a unit with at least one model others are different again.


I preferred last editions method where they just used an asterisk (*) to denote rules that transferred.

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Stealth and Shrouded transfer, because the their rules say they effect the unit. It's nothing to do with the character.

Is this in the rulebook? I don't have it at hand I'm afraid. (I appreciate the answer, even though this is a hijack)

Yes it is. You need to read each rule entry. It is a shame they stopped using the *'s.
So a rule like Stealth transfers, but in the OP's case Relentless most definitely does not.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Lucarikx wrote:
Does a Character with Terminator armor transfer Relentless to his unit? I know Characters transfer USR but since Relentless is from the characters wargear, I just wanted to check if it transfered to his unit.

An example of this would be Logan Grimnar giving Relentless to Long Fangs without his special rule.

Thanks,

Lucarikx


This is a poor example because relentless by itself does not transfer as it says "models with relentless may..."

However, Logan's High King ability allows him to bestow rules upon units, one of which is relentless. So Logan can actually make long fangs relentless, but not via the route the OP is addressing.

Stealth and Shrouding say "a unit containing at least one model with..." so they are shared

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
You have to read the USR section carefully. Some rules say a model others say a unit with at least one model others are different again.


I preferred last editions method where they just used an asterisk (*) to denote rules that transferred.


I don't know, you learn it better by having to read the rules. If you have the asterisk people tend to get lazy about what the rules actually say.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 liturgies of blood wrote:
 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 liturgies of blood wrote:
You have to read the USR section carefully. Some rules say a model others say a unit with at least one model others are different again.


I preferred last editions method where they just used an asterisk (*) to denote rules that transferred.


I don't know, you learn it better by having to read the rules. If you have the asterisk people tend to get lazy about what the rules actually say.


And then once you have read and understood the rules, go get a pen

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

I think people are confusing Relentless with Slow and Purposeful as well. As is stated many times here, Relentless is per model. Slow and Purposeful is one of the Unit containing a Model USRs, so it does "transfer" of sorts. I suspect people hear about that second hand and confuse the two, leading to thinking Relentless transfers when it doesn't.
   
Made in us
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator





Good Ol' Texas

Ah, thanks guys. Should've read the book and not go off what people said.

Thanks again.

Lucarikx


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Yep, good rule of thumb is to verify the rules yourself as people may be mistaken or simply trying to fool you for their own gain.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: