Switch Theme:

Firing at units out of range  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





If a unit with longer range weapons fires, are shorter ranged weapons (ie templates) fired as well?

Cheers
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Only if they are in range.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Page 12, under "check range": any model that is found to be out of range of all visible models in the target unit does not shoot.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Cheers for that.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is a puzzling question, as both yes and no come to the same results. Even if you did fire them then, they would be considered automatic failures as any wounds generated can not be assigned to a model. Even if they didn't fire, that model still can not fire during that same shooting phase. This is because the whole unit, not individual models, can only fire once during each shooting phase. The models that didn't fire, through choice or range, do not get to target other units or gain any benefits that I can consider off the top of my sleep deprived mind.

Can you help me understand the nature of this question by telling me the exact situation you where in as there might be a special rule that I am overlooking?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/27 04:00:08


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





He was wanting to fire at a unit (say) 20" away but have his flamers hit the Rippers right in front of his unit.

Which is impossible.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Haven't been in the situation yet, just want to head it off so I know what happens when it does come up.

Essentially, Flamer equipped troops with a shooty character inside a non-vehicle transport. The transport is in close combat but the models inside can fire, as the vehicle counts as a open topped vehicle for the purposes of transport. The unit inside cannot fire their flamers at the enermy who are assaulting their ride, but I was hoping that by targetting a unit that is further away with the shooty character, I could drop half a dozen flame templates on the assaulting dudes.

As it is, I'm pretty sure I could flamer another enermy unit thats within range and hit the attackers as collateral, but I doubt the other guy will be dumb enough to let that happen.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You can't place templates over units in close combat, so whether the unit assaulting your transport are the chosen target or not, this isn't going to work.

 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





feths sake, theres this punk ass kid who did this to me the other day. He also argued that night fighting was a 6+/5+ cover save and not a bonus, and that g2g ended at the end of my next turn when I did it, but the end of his current turn in the following game when he did it.

I need to stop listening to that idiot, and start flipping through the rulebook every time he opens his mouth

Cheers for clearing that up, thats pretty conclusive right there.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/27 04:27:50


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Thanks rigeld2.

I didn't even consider that because it would be an invalid placement for the flamer template. It isn't just about range when it comes to those things, but a whole pile of other limitations as well. Just to make things worse they are scattered throughout the entire book, so it takes more then a few moments to find them all when quarried.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 insaniak wrote:
You can't place templates over units in close combat, so whether the unit assaulting your transport are the chosen target or not, this isn't going to work.


I thought this was only the case if the models are locked in CC. As you can't be locked in combat with a vehicle, the transported unit should be able to fire at the models in base contact. Or have I missed something?

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The question wasn't about a vehicle. He's talking about a Squiggoth.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/27 10:34:52


 
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Could Burna boys in a Squiggoth fire through an assaulting unit at another enermy unit within range?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So long as their templates don't cover any of the models from the engaged unit, sure.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: