Switch Theme:

Derp question :|  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stalwart Space Marine





Can you take a Dedicated transport without a squad, or do they have to be taken as an upgrade to a squad?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/04 19:29:36


 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

You need to take them as an upgrade to a squad.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

A dedicated transport is a transport bought for a unit. In general if something is only available as a DT (such as a Rhino or DP) it must be bought dedicated.

In the Spearhead game type (rules available somewhere) DTs can be taken as part of a Spearhead, without being dedicated.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Space Marine





Ah, thanks.
I guess my wraiths are walking from here on out :(
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Just because a unit can not purchase a DT, does not mean they cannot use it. The only in-game restriction for DTs is that only the unit that bought it can start in it.

So if another unit buys a DT the Wraiths can still use it (as long as they are allowed to embark).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yeah, its actually fairly common for a unit to hijack another unit's transport and has been a long standing 40k tradition.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Grey Templar wrote:
Yeah, its actually fairly common for a unit to hijack another unit's transport and has been a long standing 40k tradition.


Except in 4th where only the unit that bought a DT could ride in it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Space Marine





Eh, with jump infantry I'd rather have a turn of movement than screwing about car-hopping
In hindsight, a flier is probably too hard to maneuver for a CC unit that probably needs to drop right in the enemies face.
But that's a great thing to think about for later lists, thanks HJ :3
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Happyjew wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Yeah, its actually fairly common for a unit to hijack another unit's transport and has been a long standing 40k tradition.


Except in 4th where only the unit that bought a DT could ride in it.

And 3rd edition as well.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Never played 3rd so did not know that.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







You can buy whatever has an purchasable entry in the army list section. Things like rhinos and other such transports do not get an independant entry in the list and therefore cannot be purchased separately, while heavier transports such as land raiders can be purchased as dedicated transports for some units but also have an independant entry in the list and can be purchased either way.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: