Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 06:53:06
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So I watched a few games at my local independent gaming store this weekend & I watched a IG player go against a Tau player. The IG player attempted to issue Bring It Down order on the Tau Riptide, but the Tau player said because it was accompanied by drones he could not. He said the same was true of Hive Tyrants accompanied by smaller tyranids. Is he correct? Basically the only time this order can be issued is against monstrous creatures that are by themselves/lone vehicles & or vehicles squadrons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 06:58:12
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
I think this goes in YMDC...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 07:03:13
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
The reason Bring it Down doesn't work on a Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard is because it's a Tyrant Guard unit (Infantry) with a Hive Tyrant attached to it as what is essentially an independent character, so you're firing at an infantry unit, not a monstrous creature unit, so if Riptides + drones work the same way, the tau player's right, if not it depends on the wording of the codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 07:05:26
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 07:09:12
Subject: Re:"Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
PrinceRaven wrote:The reason Bring it Down doesn't work on a Hive Tyrant with Tyrant Guard is because it's a Tyrant Guard unit (Infantry) with a Hive Tyrant attached to it as what is essentially an independent character, so you're firing at an infantry unit, not a monstrous creature unit, so if Riptides + drones work the same way, the tau player's right, if not it depends on the wording of the codex. The guard codex is really getting on in years, isn't it even older than the nid one? Maybe they didn't know to account for this. And it says 'or monstrous creature (or unit of monstrous creatures)'. So no real help there.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 07:10:22
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 08:17:08
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Commissar Benny wrote:So I watched a few games at my local independent gaming store this weekend & I watched a IG player go against a Tau player. The IG player attempted to issue Bring It Down order on the Tau Riptide, but the Tau player said because it was accompanied by drones he could not. He said the same was true of Hive Tyrants accompanied by smaller tyranids. Is he correct? Basically the only time this order can be issued is against monstrous creatures that are by themselves/lone vehicles & or vehicles squadrons?
The rule for Bring it Down! is as follows
If the order is successfully issued, choose one enemy vehicle (or squadron of enemy vehicles) or monstrous creature (or unit of monstrous creatures) visible to the officer. The ordered unit immediately shoots at the nominated target, counting their weapons as twin-linked.
It says unit of monstrous creatures, so that's looking like a no. That feels really wrong though, like we should still be able to do the order.
If I was a commander, I wouldn't discount the order to bring it down just because there are tiny drones flying around it.
But we can argue RAI vs RAW all day long. For now, it's probably safe to play it as no, you can't if they have drones (which sucks, because that's one of the few tricks my foot IG has for dealing with those things.)
|
'I've played Guard for years, and the best piece of advice is to always utilize the Guard's best special rule: "we roll more dice than you" ' - stormleader
"Sector Imperialis: 25mm and 40mm Round Bases (40+20) 26€ (Including 32 skulls for basing) " GW design philosophy in a nutshell |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 08:43:03
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Thanks for the feedback everyone. I agree with MrMoustaffa in that it should be able to, but because it is pretty vague in codex that for time being that its a no. Perhaps they will address it in the next update.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 08:43:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 08:50:46
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Not sure if you should post whole rules here, it is generally avoided as much as possible.
Still the reason the ability can not be used is pretty simple, from a Rules as Written perspective. The rule itself only allows you to target monstrous creatures, flying monstrous creatures or vehicles, clearly designed to give additional firepower against these harder foes. Should it be used on mixed units, it is highly likely that it would create additional hits that would then be resolved against unit types that where not named in the rule. As there is no way to ensure the extra hits are directed only at the unit type allowed, the whole rule has to be discarded as the limitations can not be met.
It is clearly an oversight, compounded by old-codex-syndrome, which is why I hope imperial guards gain a new codex sometime in the near future.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 08:55:13
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
The Riptide's attached drones have caused a couple of rules conundrums so far. I hope they get FAQ'd soon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 11:51:56
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
MrMoustaffa wrote:Commissar Benny wrote:So I watched a few games at my local independent gaming store this weekend & I watched a IG player go against a Tau player. The IG player attempted to issue Bring It Down order on the Tau Riptide, but the Tau player said because it was accompanied by drones he could not. He said the same was true of Hive Tyrants accompanied by smaller tyranids. Is he correct? Basically the only time this order can be issued is against monstrous creatures that are by themselves/lone vehicles & or vehicles squadrons?
The rule for Bring it Down! is as follows
If the order is successfully issued, choose one enemy vehicle (or squadron of enemy vehicles) or monstrous creature (or unit of monstrous creatures) visible to the officer. The ordered unit immediately shoots at the nominated target, counting their weapons as twin-linked.
It says unit of monstrous creatures, so that's looking like a no. That feels really wrong though, like we should still be able to do the order.
If I was a commander, I wouldn't discount the order to bring it down just because there are tiny drones flying around it.
But we can argue RAI vs RAW all day long. For now, it's probably safe to play it as no, you can't if they have drones (which sucks, because that's one of the few tricks my foot IG has for dealing with those things.)
If a riptide is dumb enough to bring drones, shoot them out and watch him flee. If he is not, you've still got Bring it Down!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:11:17
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
Purifier wrote:[
If a riptide is dumb enough to bring drones, shoot them out and watch him flee. If he is not, you've still got Bring it Down!
If your opponent has a riptide and two drones and wants to play that ticky tacky....
OK. 2 drones means majority toughness is 4?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 12:11:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:12:48
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Pretty much. DSing stormies can insta gib the riptide in that scenario if they aren't intercepted to death (assuming that they have meltas)
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:14:35
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Temple Prime
|
MrMoustaffa wrote:Commissar Benny wrote:So I watched a few games at my local independent gaming store this weekend & I watched a IG player go against a Tau player. The IG player attempted to issue Bring It Down order on the Tau Riptide, but the Tau player said because it was accompanied by drones he could not. He said the same was true of Hive Tyrants accompanied by smaller tyranids. Is he correct? Basically the only time this order can be issued is against monstrous creatures that are by themselves/lone vehicles & or vehicles squadrons?
The rule for Bring it Down! is as follows
If the order is successfully issued, choose one enemy vehicle (or squadron of enemy vehicles) or monstrous creature (or unit of monstrous creatures) visible to the officer. The ordered unit immediately shoots at the nominated target, counting their weapons as twin-linked.
It says unit of monstrous creatures, so that's looking like a no. That feels really wrong though, like we should still be able to do the order.
If I was a commander, I wouldn't discount the order to bring it down just because there are tiny drones flying around it.
But we can argue RAI vs RAW all day long. For now, it's probably safe to play it as no, you can't if they have drones (which sucks, because that's one of the few tricks my foot IG has for dealing with those things.)
"BRING THAT XENOS ABOMINATION DOWN!"
"We can't sir!"
"By the Emperor, why not?"
"It's got...*gulp* DRONES!"
"Drones!? THRONE ON TERRA WE'RE ALL DOOMED! SAVE YOURSELVES FOOLS! RUN! RUUUUUNNNNNNN!!!"
"Heheh, silly Gue'la."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 12:30:00
Midnightdeathblade wrote:Think of a daemon incursion like a fart you don't quite trust... you could either toot a little puff of air, bellow a great effluvium, or utterly sh*t your pants and cry as it floods down your leg.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:28:08
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
|
^I probably laughed harder then I should have at that
|
: 4500pts
Lothlorien: 3500pts
Rohan: 1500pts
Serpent: 2000pts
Modor: 1500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:30:19
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
The drones that you can get to accompany the Riptide are T6.
For applying the rule... it depends on how you parse the sentence, but surely you fulfil the requirement of targeting a monstrous creature? It doesn't say "the entire unit must be monstrous creatures". Ergo, Bring It Down still allows you to target the MC alone.
That, of course, then plays havoc with wound allocation especially if it's not the nearest in the unit... but I don't think we can count it as a flat "no" just yet.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 12:59:13
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
I am not trying to be snippy here, but what causes this?
Does the riptide have drones with a separate entry from normal drones?
Is there a rule for drones saying this?
Thanks,
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 13:14:48
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Green is Best! wrote:
OK. 2 drones means majority toughness is 4?
Given the HEavy missile drones are specified as T6, no the majority toughness is NOT 4.
motyak wrote:Pretty much. DSing stormies can insta gib the riptide in that scenario if they aren't intercepted to death (assuming that they have meltas)
Wrong, for the reason mentioned above AND for the fact the iD works off the toughness of the model the unsaved wound is applied to, NOT the majority T of the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 13:16:54
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:
motyak wrote:Pretty much. DSing stormies can insta gib the riptide in that scenario if they aren't intercepted to death (assuming that they have meltas)
Wrong, for the reason mentioned above AND for the fact the iD works off the toughness of the model the unsaved wound is applied to, NOT the majority T of the unit.
Huh. That's sure interesting to learn. It's never cone up for me yet, but I'll be sure to remember it if that comes up.
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 13:20:18
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman
Australia
|
Are you not still targeting the monstrous creature though? And the other units just have a special rule that means they intercept?
I get it that its a competitive game but it just takes away the spirit of the game if you would argue something like this.
|
Chris |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 14:02:51
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, you are shooting a "unit". That unit is not a unit of monstrous creatures, nor is it a single unit of "MC". It is currently neither.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 14:40:49
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, you are shooting a "unit". That unit is not a unit of monstrous creatures, nor is it a single unit of " MC". It is currently neither.
So is it correct to simply call a riptide unit "Jetpack"? I mean, that's the only typing that the two share...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 14:51:26
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep, its "jetpack *something*"
The something is undefined
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 15:23:18
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Agreed, but this is YMDC, and that's what YMDC is for.
And if no consensus can be found ("Yeah, that sounds reasonable. I'll allow you to shoot that at my riptide.") then you have to go by the letter. And that's what YMDC does.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 15:40:20
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Can you choose to focus fire to only target the riptide, or do the rules of "Bring it Down!" cause it to still fail?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 15:43:42
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, you are shooting a "unit". That unit is not a unit of monstrous creatures, nor is it a single unit of " MC". It is currently neither.
Not true in the case of Bring it Down!. Initially it doesn't say "target" or "perform a shooting attack", the rule says "choose". Only once that choice is made are we told to shoot at the "nominated target".
Having made that realisation, I'd actually argue that RAW you can specifically pick out a particular MC from a unit of MCs if you really wanted to, though I don't believe that's the intent.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 15:55:59
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You target units. By definition if you are shooting a nominated target, the target is a unit.
Nilok -focus fire is cover saves. No other application.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:00:01
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
What's the unit type of a Riptide unit with drones?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:05:13
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I see what you're trying to ask - I had a look but couldn't find anything in the book to cover classifying mixed unit types. Ergo, the Riptide is still Jetpack MC and the drones are still Jetpack Infantry. (...I think, not sure on the drones.)
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:05:57
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Jetpack *something* - as it is a mixed unit, that isnt an IC, you cannto see which type takes priority.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:07:48
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sure you can - it's the type that the unit was bought as.
The Riptide was bought as an MC. The drones are normal members of an MC unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:09:01
Subject: "Bring it Down!" Is This Correct?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
They arent ICs, so avoid using the "Normal members" line
They are Jetpack Infantry; the MC is Jetpack MC.
|
|
 |
 |
|