Switch Theme:

Warpflame strike, vehicles and passengers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Sneaky Kommando




Gothenburgish

So, tried out warptalons the other day, and a couple of questions came up:

Scenario is that they DS within 6" of a transport

1. Is the vehicle affected by the warpflame strike? Either no, as it doesn't have an I value, or automaticly, as it doesn't have an I value.

2. Are the passengers affected?

3. Do you test on the highest I in the unit, or majority?

Sincerely
Cale

 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I don't have any of the books to hand, so... please remind me what warpflame strike does!!

I can answer 2 and 3, though - to affect the transported unit, it would have to state as much. They're not on the table, so you can't use their bases for any kind of distance measurement and (if it's relevant) they can't be targeted either, since there's no line of sight.
You test on the highest Initiative - again I don't have the page handy, but it's very early on in the rulebook, under the section for Characteristic Tests.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

Test highest, unit inside unaffected, and I think in the BRB FAQ says if no "I" value than unaffected.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1. Unaffected

2. No

3. Highest.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As the passengers are a unit within 6" h
(measuring to embarked units, page 79 or so?) they would be affected, something about blind or the talons special rule says otherwise
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

nosferatu1001 wrote:
As the passengers are a unit within 6" (measuring to embarked units, page 79 or so?) they would be affected


This doesn't exist... you're given instructions on how to measure from Fire Points to make shooting attacks, and area effect bubbles are specifically FAQed to work from the hull. But those are specific examples and using the embarked unit as the source, not the target.

The vehicle and the embarked unit are still two separate units, so to measure to the latter you need to check the distance specifically from their bases (Measuring Distances, page 4) - which of course, you cannot do.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Super Ready wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
As the passengers are a unit within 6" (measuring to embarked units, page 79 or so?) they would be affected


This doesn't exist... you're given instructions on how to measure from Fire Points to make shooting attacks, and area effect bubbles are specifically FAQed to work from the hull. But those are specific examples and using the embarked unit as the source, not the target.

The vehicle and the embarked unit are still two separate units, so to measure to the latter you need to check the distance specifically from their bases (Measuring Distances, page 4) - which of course, you cannot do.

You really should read page 78.
BRB Page 78 wrote:If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Which ignores all the precedents of special abilities not affecting embarked passengers. How does one hit an embarked unit with a weapon ?
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Huh... thanks Rigeld! And apologies Nos. Not sure how I a) missed that earlier and b) didn't already know it...
In which case I see nothing stopping Warpflame strike from affecting embarked units.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Fragile wrote:
Which ignores all the precedents of special abilities not affecting embarked passengers.

Like SITW, oh wait...


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Fragile wrote:
Which ignores all the precedents of special abilities not affecting embarked passengers. How does one hit an embarked unit with a weapon ?

SitW, for one

Because this rule says they are hit? Find a rule against it. Until FAQ'd otherwise, if at all, this is RAW correct
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





 Super Ready wrote:
Huh... thanks Rigeld! And apologies Nos. Not sure how I a) missed that earlier and b) didn't already know it...
In which case I see nothing stopping Warpflame strike from affecting embarked units.


By this logic the GK Calidus Assassin can use Polymorphine to affect embarked units, then use its NS to affect them again.

I'll put it this way. If the models are not on the board whether in a transport or in reserve there is no way to harm them, other than to explode the transport unit, unless specifically stated that said Special Rule can affect units in transports.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/01 20:56:29


3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gets Hot! on an embarked unit. Tried that one?

You dont actually have ay rules to back up your position, so will assume you are breaking the tenets and are instead making a "HYWPI" argument.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Gets Hot! on an embarked unit. Tried that one?

You dont actually have ay rules to back up your position, so will assume you are breaking the tenets and are instead making a "HYWPI" argument.


was not sure if you were referring to my comment. If you were not then

If you were, I was referring to the fact that other than a Special rule like "Gets Hot" which effects the unit inside, as the unit is causing an action that can wound itself, and is caused by using a weapon with the "Gets Hot" Special Rule, I have yet to find an attack that allows a player to target both the Transport and the unit inside at the same time with one attack.

If you could target both the unit and the transport then All blast/template weapons would require not only penning roll's but also wounding rolls.

I'll put it this way can you draw LOS to the embarked unit inside a transport in any, way, shape, or form so that wound allocation can occur?

Just wondering.

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You generally can not target a unit inside a transport as they are out of Line of Sight.

However Aura's work as per the Measure from the Hull as quoted earlier.

So if you have an Item that gives FNP to all units within 6 inches, and a Rhino is within 6 inches and has 2 Plasma gun Marines inside, if one of the Plasma guns overheats and the armor save is failed you would be able to take a FNP roll because you measure to the Hull to find out if the unit in the transport is within 6 inches of the item that gives FNP.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Sinister Chaos Marine





 DeathReaper wrote:
You generally can not target a unit inside a transport as they are out of Line of Sight.


Luckily warpflame strike does not mention targets or even requiring line of sight!

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

WangoFett wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
You generally can not target a unit inside a transport as they are out of Line of Sight.


Luckily warpflame strike does not mention targets or even requiring line of sight!

I was simply answering BLADERIKER's question.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Bladeriker - you made a couple of statements that had no rules backing. Namely a special rule (Gets Hot!) CAN affect a unit in a transport without specifically stating it can. You said this couldnt happen.

This aura does not target, and so RAW certainly CAN affect units inside a transport, unless a change to the rules is made via FAQ
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: