Switch Theme:

Do defensive grenades remove furious charge or hammer of wrath?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




And three calls asking the same question are quite likely to get three different trolls and three different answers.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






After how hard its been made to do an assault list I would have no problem allowing them to have rage furious charge or hammer plus it seems that is indeed the clearest interpretation.

Successful trades with: Barksdale, Tigrinus, Color Sgt. Kale, and BunkerBob. 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





 MarshalMathis wrote:
After how hard its been made to do an assault list I would have no problem allowing them to have rage furious charge or hammer plus it seems that is indeed the clearest interpretation.


Furious Charge is not in question.
HOW is debatable.
How do you justify retaining Rage, ie +2 A when charging instead of the normal +1 (beyond "I play Black Templars and would really like to get +2 A when charging")?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Is HoW listed on pg 24?
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Lets see, is HoW a Special Rule that confers an extra attack?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Fragile wrote:
Is HoW listed on pg 24?


I do not believe that page 24 is a complete and exhaustive list of all "bonus attacks" in the game.
I believe it is a list of "bonus attacks" that apply in the basic game rules. I would say that further types/kinds of "bonus attacks" can be added to the list by the advanced rules (such as Rage or Hammer of Wrath) or codexes (such as Mogul Kamirs Cyber-steed).


BTW. Does anybody else have any examples of codex-specific rules that add attacks when charging (and only when charging)?


EDIT. Damn. I am an idiot!

The answer to the question; "Is HoW listed on page 24?" is of course "Yes. Yes, it is".

Thanks AndrewC for the eye-opener.



...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/07 23:23:19


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 AndrewC wrote:
Lets see, is HoW a Special Rule that confers an extra attack?

Cheers

Andrew


Again you confuse "Bonus Attacks in Combat" with "Bonus attack from Charging."

Charging is the first bullet point on that list named +1 Charge Bonus? Do you see HoW there ? Bullet points 2 and 3 do not apply to this conversation.
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Sorry Fragile, are you seriously saying that HoW is a bonus attack in combat and not a bonus attack from charging?

Cheers

Andrew

HoW. BrB. P37

If a model with this special rule charges and ends its move in base contact with one or more enemy models, it makes one additional Attack...


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/08 01:31:01


I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Page 37, is not pg 24. Since grenades only remove the bonus attack from charging that is listed on pg 24, you have proved the point.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Fragile wrote:
Page 37, is not pg 24. Since grenades only remove the bonus attack from charging that is listed on pg 24, you have proved the point.


Incorrect. Defensive Grenades remove any bonus attacks from charging. There is no mention of page number. If it's a bonus attack received from charging it is negated.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

So you fully admit that HoW is a special rule that grants an extra attack as a result of charging, but that it is not applicable because it's not listed on P24.

Is that the summation of your argument?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Abandon wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Page 37, is not pg 24. Since grenades only remove the bonus attack from charging that is listed on pg 24, you have proved the point.


Incorrect. Defensive Grenades remove any bonus attacks from charging. There is no mention of page number. If it's a bonus attack received from charging it is negated.


Perhaps you should reread the rule in question.


So you fully admit that HoW is a special rule that grants an extra attack as a result of charging, but that it is not applicable because it's not listed on P24.


In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Fragile wrote:
In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.


Almost there, you are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel bonus Attacks from charging. Please note the plural. P24 lists three possible sources of bonus attacks, the last of which has a caveat that bonus attacks can be gained from Special Rules. Ergo, Special Rules that grant bonus attacks are also cancelled by the defensive grenades where the bonus attacks are listed as a result of charging, and HoW is.

I think that I have went as far as I can in explaining this to you, most of the other posters seem to understand this argument, so I would suggest that you play the game your way, and I play the game my way and hope that we can both enjoy our respective games.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 AndrewC wrote:
Fragile wrote:
In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.


Almost there, you are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel bonus Attacks from charging. Please note the plural. P24 lists three possible sources of bonus attacks, the last of which has a caveat that bonus attacks can be gained from Special Rules. Ergo, Special Rules that grant bonus attacks are also cancelled by the defensive grenades where the bonus attacks are listed as a result of charging, and HoW is.

I think that I have went as far as I can in explaining this to you, most of the other posters seem to understand this argument, so I would suggest that you play the game your way, and I play the game my way and hope that we can both enjoy our respective games.

Cheers

Andrew


Actually it says models do not get the bonus attacks from charging. It is proper grammar. From GW. Who knew?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Not quite, it would also be the correct grammar to say that Models do not receive the bonus attack, when referring to a singular bonus. By referring to bonus attacks, a plural bonus, then you look at the GW definition of bonus attacks, and there they are on P24.

Which contains the caveat for any special rules.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

 Happyjew wrote:
 AndrewC wrote:
Fragile wrote:
In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.


Almost there, you are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel bonus Attacks from charging. Please note the plural. P24 lists three possible sources of bonus attacks, the last of which has a caveat that bonus attacks can be gained from Special Rules. Ergo, Special Rules that grant bonus attacks are also cancelled by the defensive grenades where the bonus attacks are listed as a result of charging, and HoW is.

I think that I have went as far as I can in explaining this to you, most of the other posters seem to understand this argument, so I would suggest that you play the game your way, and I play the game my way and hope that we can both enjoy our respective games.

Cheers

Andrew


Actually it says models do not get the bonus attacks from charging. It is proper grammar. From GW. Who knew?

For what it's worth, it appears that in translations ( I've been told of the French one at least) it's spelled out as "losing the +1 attack bonus for charging".
that's not worth much I'm afraid though, as I remember the German version lead to think Feel no pain worked differently ...
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I didn't expect this much discussion from asking such a question.

As another has suggested, I emailed GW to see what they say. As the stickies say, this is relatively moot for spoofing and inconsistent replies; however, I'll still reply with their response on the matter once I get the reply.

At the heart of this debate is really the question of if defensive grenades override certain other special rules. We all agree that the +1 for charging is negated. We are assuming Rage is affected because it stacks on top of the removed +1. So with HoW, it boils down to is it considered a bonus attack or something separate. Hard to interpret at this point.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






New Orleans, LA

My take, after reading the discussions here. Defensive Grenades:

1. Deny Rage bonus (I agree that Rage is simply a modification of the +1 bonus from charging)
2. Allow Furious Charge (I can't see any argument against this one, really)
3. I'm on the fence with HoW, but I want to say "denied". It's a bonus attack at I10 that you ONLY get when you charge, correct?

DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 AndrewC wrote:
Fragile wrote:
In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.


Almost there, you are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel bonus Attacks from charging. Please note the plural. P24 lists three possible sources of bonus attacks, the last of which has a caveat that bonus attacks can be gained from Special Rules.

Andrew


And here is your disconnect. P24 lists bonus attacks for COMBAT. Only 1 of those discusses charging. You seem to think that Dgrenades cancel ALL bonus attacks, which they do not.
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

 kronk wrote:

3. I'm on the fence with HoW, but I want to say "denied". It's a bonus attack at I10 that you ONLY get when you charge, correct?


Isn't it a bonus hit, not a bonus attack

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Fragile wrote:
 AndrewC wrote:
Fragile wrote:
In the simplest of terms, sure. You are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel the bonus attack for charging listed on pg 24. You have no permission to apply it to anything else.


Almost there, you are expressly told that defensive grenades cancel bonus Attacks from charging. Please note the plural. P24 lists three possible sources of bonus attacks, the last of which has a caveat that bonus attacks can be gained from Special Rules.

Andrew


And here is your disconnect. P24 lists bonus attacks for COMBAT. Only 1 of those discusses charging. You seem to think that Dgrenades cancel ALL bonus attacks, which they do not.


Your argument has been failing for 3 pages now and you continue to run around in circles without actually addressing any arguments. You'd have better luck claiming an 'extra' attack is not a 'bonus' attack which, though silly, is a much more arguable stance. I'm done with this charade though so good luck in your future endeavors.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Abandon wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Page 37, is not pg 24. Since grenades only remove the bonus attack from charging that is listed on pg 24, you have proved the point.


Incorrect. Defensive Grenades remove any bonus attacks from charging. There is no mention of page number. If it's a bonus attack received from charging it is negated.
Read the rule. It specifically cites a page (24). You have no valid rules basis for your interpretation.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

helotaxi wrote:
 Abandon wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Page 37, is not pg 24. Since grenades only remove the bonus attack from charging that is listed on pg 24, you have proved the point.


Incorrect. Defensive Grenades remove any bonus attacks from charging. There is no mention of page number. If it's a bonus attack received from charging it is negated.
Read the rule. It specifically cites a page (24). You have no valid rules basis for your interpretation.


Apologies, it does state the page number.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I will give a dissenting opinion against the apparent majority of conclusions reached on this well-argued topic.

Here is my interpretation and how I apply the Defensive grenades effect:

First I look at pg.62 under the Defensive Grenades' Assault section:
"Models charging units equipped with defensive grenades do not gain bonus Attacks from charging(see page 24)"

At which point I turn to pg.24 and read under the Number of Attacks section the list of "bonus attacks" (notably this is not a "bonus attacks of charging" list)
"+1 Charge Bonus: Engaged models that charged this turn get +1 Attack this turn."

This entry is the only one in the list of "bonus attacks" on pg.24 that has to do with charging specifically and therefore the only one to which the defensive grenades' effect applies.

The reason for the pluralization of "Attacks" on page 62 is the "Models" at the beginning of the sentence, in the event of a normal charge each model would get +1 charge bonus attack; therefore, in this instance, the models do not get those attacks.

I am anxious to hear your thoughts on my interpretation,
Adversary
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I think that you pretty much summarized my points exactly.

I will also add that D. Grenades would deny the +2 attacks from Rage or any similar rule that specifically modifies the +1 Attack for charging listed on p.24.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





helotaxi wrote:
I will also add that D. Grenades would deny the +2 attacks from Rage or any similar rule that specifically modifies the +1 Attack for charging listed on p.24.


I'd have to agree with that; it'd be hard to apply a modifier to a negated attack.


Edited: Broken quote.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/09 05:18:30


 
   
Made in gb
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





UK - Cheshire

 TheAdversary wrote:
helotaxi wrote:
I will also add that D. Grenades would deny the +2 attacks from Rage or any similar rule that specifically modifies the +1 Attack for charging listed on p.24.


I'd have to agree with that; it'd be hard to apply a modifier to a negated attack.


Edited: Broken quote.


Whats your thoughts on the hammer of wrath? Would you class that as a modifier?

Hammer of wrath hits at I10 in the sub phase, but gets the attack because it has hit the enemy hard and fast with either a bike, jump pack or what ever else has this ability, so assuming the hammer of wrath is allowed against a defensive grenade unit, you wouldn't negate the +1 for charging as the enemy has hit the unit with full force?

   
Made in us
Pile of Necron Spare Parts




Hey guys I found a simple solution!!

Roll a D6 for when you have a problem. 1-3 the answer is NAY- Dgrens do not apply to HoW. 4-6 YAY- Dgrens do apply to HoW.

Leave it to chance....

Heck the next FAQ could answer this ridiculous question.

DT:80+SG+M-B++I+Pw40K10#+D+++A++/sWD-R++T(G)DM+
2000 pts
1000 pts
2000 pts

YouTube

Beer Pong: Tabletop Wargaming without dice and with BEER!  
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine





Wakefield

HoW is a USR. D. grenades do not state, at any point, that they remove USRs.

I would suggest that as HoW is a USR, it is treated separately from the bonus attacks from charging, even though the end result is in fact a bonus attack from charging.




}{ºƒƒ $┴@®®

The last thing i want to do is hurt you. But it is on my list.

 DarknessEternal wrote:
The internet hates everything. It's just a pile of screaming monkeys.
 
   
Made in gb
Implacable Black Templar Initiate





UK - Cheshire

It seems like a retorical question, 41_wargaming I do like that idea though, seems the only reasonable answer for now, but this does need resolving.

Hoff again, you are right that the HoW is a USR, but again, to achieve HoW your jumping, riding or what ever, into combat, which means you pretty much bypass all d.nades, surely you can't allow a HoW, then allow the removal of bonus attacks gained from the charging in,.

Unfortunatey there is no definitive answer to this, so i'll go with 41's idea
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: