Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 13:12:52
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
I have a tricky combo I'm thinking about testing out that would involve turn-one deep striking.
But just to make sure everything is kosher beforehand, what would and what wouldn't I be able to reroll with the Harbinger of Eternity's Chronometron during the deep strike process?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 13:23:01
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You can't.
The Chrono re-rolls a single die. You must re-roll both dice and the scatter die when resolving deep strike scatter.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 15:57:41
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
^^ What he said. Scatter dice, charge distances, difficult terrain and Leadership tests are the only things that cannot be affected by the chronometron, as they all require both dice to be rerolled.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/12 16:48:38
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 16:25:24
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:^^ What he said.
Scatter dice, charge distances, difficult terrain and Morale tests are the only things that cannot be affected by the chronometron, as they all require both dice to be rerolled.
I wouldn't say "the only" (and you should change "Morale" to "Leadership") and difficult terrain absolutely can be re-rolled (well, one of the two).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 16:48:23
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
rigeld2 wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:^^ What he said.
Scatter dice, charge distances, difficult terrain and Morale tests are the only things that cannot be affected by the chronometron, as they all require both dice to be rerolled.
I wouldn't say "the only" (and you should change "Morale" to "Leadership") and difficult terrain absolutely can be re-rolled (well, one of the two).
Ok, will do.
Can't think of any instance where you are allowed to reroll 1 of the DT die. I know fleet allows you to reroll one of the charge die, but that rule explicitly says you can.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 16:53:41
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote:rigeld2 wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote:^^ What he said.
Scatter dice, charge distances, difficult terrain and Morale tests are the only things that cannot be affected by the chronometron, as they all require both dice to be rerolled.
I wouldn't say "the only" (and you should change "Morale" to "Leadership") and difficult terrain absolutely can be re-rolled (well, one of the two).
Ok, will do.
Can't think of any instance where you are allowed to reroll 1 of the DT die. I know fleet allows you to reroll one of the charge die, but that rule explicitly says you can.
DT isn't a 2d6 roll, it's rather explicitly two d6. Note the difference.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 16:56:59
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Page 5 states the player must re-roll all the dice, unless the special rule about re-rolling tells you otherwise. The Chrono. grants permission to re-roll a single D6. This does not mean it can not be used on rolls that will involve multiple dice, because it fits the page 5's exception. This special rule is specifically telling the player to re-roll one D6, hence they have permission to re-roll just one D6 even if it is a D6 used in a 2D6 or a 3D6 roll. The problem the opening poster faces is the whole 'being on the board' thing. To be able to use this ability the model would need to be on the table first. Truthfully I'm not exactly sure where that is written that a model needs to be on the table to use special abilities. However a lot of people will be up in arms if one was to try and use special rules while still in reserve, even if it doesn't involve measuring distances, unless the rule states specifically it can be used so. So I just assume at this point I over looked a FAQ or a paragraph somewhere. PS: Can someone tell me where that line of text actually is, please? Still back to the problem at hand. As the only time models come onto the table during deep strike is right at the end, when they are physically placed, this special rule can not be evoked till then. Unless the Chronometron has a special rule allowing it to be used during deep strike, and I know it does not, then the Nekron player can not evoke the rule till their models are on the table. At that point, it is a little bit too late to change the scatter dice, but it could still be use it to change dangerous terrain results.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 17:00:45
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 17:14:44
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
JinxDragon wrote:This special rule is specifically telling the player to re-roll one D6, hence they have permission to re-roll just one D6 even if it is a D6 used in a 2D6 or a 3D6 roll.
No. The Chrono says that it can re-roll a single d6 roll. Not a single d6 out of a multi- d6 roll.
Using the Chrono from reserve is fine. Using it on scatter rolls is not.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 18:26:53
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
you can reroll one of your armor saves for DSing into dangerous terrain.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 18:34:49
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Ridgeld2, You know what, I can see it going either way as it does say re-roll a D6 and not re-roll a single dice. Arguments have been formed over less, and this one would come down if you believe rolling a single D6 is the same as rolling a single six sided dice. It would take more energy then I have to research every instance of re-rolling a D6 or single six sided dice that could exist in all the rules and all the FAQ's. I'll leave that to younger players who have far more time on their hands then I do now. What about needing to be on the battlefield to use a special rule? That has constantly been used in arguments, both here and elsewhere. This clearly shows it is well held belief that a model need to be in play, as in physically on the board, before you can evoke special rules related to said model. I have been trying to find where this stems from, believing I have overlooked some rule or FAQ like usual, so you might be able to assist me with some of your own insight on the matter.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/12 18:36:07
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 19:03:27
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
rigeld2 wrote:JinxDragon wrote:This special rule is specifically telling the player to re-roll one D6, hence they have permission to re-roll just one D6 even if it is a D6 used in a 2D6 or a 3D6 roll.
No. The Chrono says that it can re-roll a single d6 roll. Not a single d6 out of a multi- d6 roll.
Using the Chrono from reserve is fine. Using it on scatter rolls is not.
Citation needed. You have permission to reroll a d6, where does this restriction come from?
There is no restrictions of having to reroll all the scatter dice.
You can use the chronometer to reroll either one of the 2d6, just not the scatter die itself.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 19:40:07
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
JinxDragon wrote:Ridgeld2,
You know what, I can see it going either way as it does say re-roll a D6 and not re-roll a single dice. Arguments have been formed over less, and this one would come down if you believe rolling a single D6 is the same as rolling a single six sided dice.
Which was essentially the argument that was laid out and has no basis. And you're probably not much older than many other people here.
What about needing to be on the battlefield to use a special rule?
That has constantly been used in arguments, both here and elsewhere. This clearly shows it is well held belief that a model need to be in play, as in physically on the board, before you can evoke special rules related to said model. I have been trying to find where this stems from, believing I have overlooked some rule or FAQ like usual, so you might be able to assist me with some of your own insight on the matter.
It comes down to the wording of the ability. For example, Hive Commander just mentions being alive.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/12 19:53:23
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Thanks, I will keep that in mind in the future if it becomes an issue. It is very rare though, as most special abilities only come into play within certain situations. Bit hard to meet those conditions when the model isn't on the table to begin with, so maybe that is where the general idea comes from. Instead of realizing the conditional special rule are the exception, the fact they are in the majority lead people to assume they are the normal. Not really important in any case, just trying to figure out where it could stem from and that doesn't have a purpose past curiosity. I can think of more then a handful of special rules that could come into play, which are on models that would benefit more from staying safe in reserves for as long as possible. Might even have to ponder using them in such a method, at some point. In any case, I withdraw the whole 'can only be used on the table' statement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/12 19:55:35
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 00:50:59
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
So just to confirm:
the only way Obyron (who would start ON the table, not be coming in from reserves, btw) would be able to have the Chronometron reroll a die during the Veiling/deep strike process is for the Mishap roll.
He can NOT reroll the-
-scatter die
-one of the two D6 die used for the scatter
Correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 00:52:50
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Correct.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:30:07
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Exactly. The rules for re-rolls clearly distinguish a "d6 roll" as being a separate beast from a "2d6 roll" or "3d6 roll", and they also state that you may never re-roll one die out of a multi-d6 roll unless the special rule in question explicitly grants permission. Fleet, for example, does. The Chronometron does not.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 19:21:34
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mannahnin wrote:Exactly. The rules for re-rolls clearly distinguish a " d6 roll" as being a separate beast from a " 2d6 roll" or " 3d6 roll", and they also state that you may never re-roll one die out of a multi- d6 roll unless the special rule in question explicitly grants permission. Fleet, for example, does. The Chronometron does not.
Can you cite that in the book? Been looking on page 10 as others have suggested and other pages associated with characteristic tests ( pg 7) and even Twin-Linking and not seeing anywhere that explicitly states that 2d6 must be rerolled completely or not at all outside of things like fleet. Ok with either ruling but I don't see that.
I also do not see where a Chronometron allows you to reroll things like reserve rolls or deep striking mishaps. Reserve states that it happens at the beginning of the turn and not at the beginning of the movement phase. I would interpret this as Reserve-related rolls being done out of phase. Automatically Appended Next Post: Nvm - found the "re-rolling all" rule on page 5.
So still am questioning the reserve-related rolls
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/16 19:27:17
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/16 20:33:45
Subject: [Necron] At what points in the Deep Strike process can a Chronometron be used?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Fateweavers re roll specfically says about 2d6 and 3d6 for reference. There is no out of phase, start of turn is movement phase
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/16 20:34:34
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
|