Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 04:04:07
Subject: Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The multiple barrage weapons rules state that if you have multiple barrage weapons in the same unit you only place the first template then do the flip stuff with it.
If you put a mortar in the squad with MoO can you fire the Mortar first assuming its closest then use the flip rules from multiple barrage to place the MoO template. I don't see anything in the rules saying you can do this, but it feels a bit fishy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 04:08:31
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
From the IG FAQ:
Q. If you have a Master of Ordnance and a Heavy Weapons Team
with a mortar in the same unit, does the multiple barrage rule take
precedence or does the Master of Ordnance's special scatter rule overrule
this? (p31)
A. The Master of Ordnance’s special scatter rule takes
precedence and the two fire independently of each other (but
both must still fire at the same target).
Of course this is blatantly against what the rules actually say, but that's about what you expect from the incompetent morons at GW.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 04:11:07
Subject: Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Thanks that ties up that in a nice little bow. I didn't even think to check the FAQ, as you stated the rules seem to point a different direction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:25:40
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Peregrine wrote:From the IG FAQ:
Q. If you have a Master of Ordnance and a Heavy Weapons Team
with a mortar in the same unit, does the multiple barrage rule take
precedence or does the Master of Ordnance's special scatter rule overrule
this? (p31)
A. The Master of Ordnance’s special scatter rule takes
precedence and the two fire independently of each other (but
both must still fire at the same target).
Of course this is blatantly against what the rules actually say, but that's about what you expect from the incompetent morons at GW.
People often look less like incompetent morons when you take into consideration their perspective and the reasons why they might make a given decision.
The explanation for this ruling is that their priority is making the rule represent a thing within the world and story represented by the game. Not with making a clean and simple rule system at the cost of fluff. If we were playing Magic; the Gathering, making the Mortar and the MoO's special rule work together would be accepted as part of keeping the rules clean and clear. In 40k, the designers instead say "That makes no sense within the game world; the Mortar is not part of a battery with the off-table arty the MoO is calling in, so should not function as such."
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:32:32
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Mannahnin wrote:The explanation for this ruling is that their priority is making the rule represent a thing within the world and story represented by the game.
And they have a perfectly good way of doing that: errata. The incompetence isn't making a rule that accurately represents what is going on fluff-wise, it's making an " FAQ" that is on the level of "Q: Are bolters STR 10? A: Yes.".
Of course there's also the incompetence in not realizing that the multiple barrage rules work that way in the first place and adding a rule in the codex that the MoO does not fire as part of a multiple barrage.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 05:35:39
Subject: Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Fair enough. Perhaps "morons" was a little hyperbolic.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 10:11:21
Subject: Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Of course back in 5th edition, they explained their reasoning as follows:
Clearly using the mortar to range find for Basilisks
dozens of miles behind the frontlines is silly – that’s
what the Master of Ordnance is suppose to be doing.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 12:19:21
Subject: Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The reason I asked the question is because you can use an acuratized griffon to hit easier with your first shot for a fixed ordnance battery, I was just wondering if you could do the same with a mortar is all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 13:59:17
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
The CCS can always order bring it down on the themselves if your going for a MC or vehicle, to get a re-roll on that  of a scatter. Would that help you at all?
|
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/13 21:04:12
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
I'm just going to save this taken out of context portion as an example of why you can't pull rules off the internet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/14 07:05:06
Subject: Re:Can you utilize a Mortar to remove the scatter penalty from Master of Ord
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Peregrine wrote:Of course this is blatantly against what the rules actually say...
I disagree. The MoO is the more specific rule, and takes precedence, overriding the rulebook rule. That's all.
|
|
 |
 |
|