joe_deman wrote:sounds like it might be right... i've always wondered how it works with challenges. Because if your scattered out of the challenge, does the challenge end?
The challenge ends only, if after you scatter and then pile-in, you are disengaged from the combat. The
FAQ and codex have no mention of what happens near the board edge (and it is not a special deep strike). This is really a grey area in this wargear. I would say that it would be like falling back (pun and literal) of the table and the unit is considered destroyed.
Of course, it can easily be house ruled to make it so that the unit goes into ongoing reserves (because the unit wasn't destroyed or falling back, so one can assume the character would want to head back to the battlefield).