Switch Theme:

Re-rolls Of One - Gets Hot And Blasts  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Does the ability of re-rolling ones on your To Hit roll allow you to re-roll the Blasts scatter because you have the ability to re-roll to hit and that is all the "Blasts Weapons And Re-Rolls" (pg 33) requires.

Aslo does this allow for the Re-Roll of the Gets Hot roll for Blasts, I am unsure because it is made separately than the roll to hit.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

That's covered in "Gets Hot and Re-rolls".
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Its not exactly clear if the ability to re-roll ones counts, and that s what I am asking.

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Is this using an ability such as "Prefered Enemy"?
If so read this thread:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/536939.page
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




For blasts, the Gets Hot roll is not a To Hit roll of any sort. It's a separate roll. Thus Preferred Enemy does not apply.

The topic of Preferred Enemy permitting rerolling of the Scatter Dice is still a hotly contested issue, and is unclear and unresolved until an FAQ comes out about it. If you want GW to actually put this issue on the FAQ to-do list, please e-mail them at:

gamefaqs@gwplc.com

If enough people ask the same question it's got a better chance of being answered to settle things once and for all, and all for once!
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Lord Krungharr wrote:
For blasts, the Gets Hot roll is not a To Hit roll of any sort. It's a separate roll. Thus Preferred Enemy does not apply.
If you can Re-roll To Hit, you can Re-roll Gets Hot.
So IF Prefered Enemy allows you to re-roll scatter (not saying it does or doesn't) then it would allow for the Gets Hot roll to be re-rolled as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/30 13:13:16


 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

This is more the Earth Caste Pilot Array from the new Farsight Supplement. It allows re-rolls of 1 when rolling to hit

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






 grendel083 wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
For blasts, the Gets Hot roll is not a To Hit roll of any sort. It's a separate roll. Thus Preferred Enemy does not apply.
If you can Re-roll To Hit, you can Re-roll Gets Hot.
So IF Prefered Enemy allows you to re-roll scatter (not saying it does or doesn't) then it would allow for the Gets Hot roll to be re-rolled as well.



No, you don't. Gets Hot! on a blast weapon is not a To Hit roll. If you roll a one, it doesn't miss, it just causes a wound to your model. Now on a weapon like a plasma gun, yes, it is a Hit roll so it may be re-rolled.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Reread the rules for gets hot and rerolls. If you have the ability to rerroll to hit (you do) you can reroll gets hot! on blasts.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
For blasts, the Gets Hot roll is not a To Hit roll of any sort. It's a separate roll. Thus Preferred Enemy does not apply.
If you can Re-roll To Hit, you can Re-roll Gets Hot.
So IF Prefered Enemy allows you to re-roll scatter (not saying it does or doesn't) then it would allow for the Gets Hot roll to be re-rolled as well.
No, you don't. Gets Hot! on a blast weapon is not a To Hit roll. If you roll a one, it doesn't miss, it just causes a wound to your model. Now on a weapon like a plasma gun, yes, it is a Hit roll so it may be re-rolled.
Yes you do.
It's under the rules for "Gets Hot and Re-rolls".
If you can re-roll to hit, you can re-roll your Gets Hot roll for weapons that don't roll to hit.
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior






 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
Does the ability of re-rolling ones on your To Hit roll allow you to re-roll the Blasts scatter because you have the ability to re-roll to hit and that is all the "Blasts Weapons And Re-Rolls" (pg 33) requires.

Possibly see the debate linked above.

 IXLoiero95XI wrote:

Aslo does this allow for the Re-Roll of the Gets Hot roll for Blasts, I am unsure because it is made separately than the roll to hit.

Explicitly yes, check the rules for gets hot.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: