Switch Theme:

Why do Chaos Spawn have the very bulky rule?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods




been lurking a while, now I have a question.
I've been reading the Chaos Spawn entry in my brand new Chaos Space Marine codex and thought about transporting them in a daemonically possessed Land Raider coz that sounded fun and fluffy. They've got the very bulky rule so that means they take up 3 slots each, so I can fit a unit of three in my daemon machine. Then disaster, they're beasts... so they can't be carried by transports (BRB 78). Then I thought they must have the very bulky rule for buildings... but buildings use the same rules as vehicles for transport (BRB 93).
So for what reason are they described as very bulky?
Is this an oversight and can I really carry them in a Land Raider? (please, please, please)
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I checked just in case but there was nothing in the FAQ and other documents to suggest this is an oversight, sorry. Without any special rule you can not put beasts into transports, as you are already aware, so you are unable to place them into Land Raider. I do know a few transports are out there which do grant permission to more then infantry types, but nothing on hand that will help you in this situation. Without an exception rule granting you permission to ignore the limitations there is simply no way to get spawns onto land raiders.

As for why they have the rules, they are not alone as many models have the bulky rule-set even though they belong to codex's that do not have specialized transports for them. They could simply be planning ahead for additional models they are bringing out in the future, as they are focused on supplementary books right now and then there is the ever popular forge-world and other expansions. In those case they could have plans or even could have put forth some special rules that would require the bulky flag in order to work, that I am to tired to recall of the top of my head. There is the possibility of quite a few other reasons then just transportation, after all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/06 22:35:13


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The same reason units that have no way to get guns still get a BS. Because they could matter eventually. It may not do anything now but it doesn't mean it won't be important later.

Like before , BS on a gunless unit did nothing. But now you get gun emplacements and that BS now matters.

In this case, a future fortification might allow beast to embark it, or next edition will allow beast to ride in transports. Then they will be set because they already have the Very Bulky rule in place. Or future special rules might have a special effect on units with the bulky special rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/06 22:35:10


 
   
Made in gb
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods




Thanks for the reply. I did scour the internetz for FAQs before posting, alas not.
My daemon machine won't be vomiting forth spawn any time soon. I guess I'll just have to take termies... which opens up a HS slot
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its purely for completeness. In the event a transport comes along that can carry Beasts.

Jump Infantry can't normally embark in transports as only Infantry are normally allowed. Yet they have the Bulky rule.

There are also transports explicitly allowed to carry Jump Infantry. Hence why Bulky is a necessary addition.


Its basically a rule that means "in the unlikely event these guys can embark on a transport they take up more than one slot"

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

I was going to say "to avoid a Chaos Clown Car effect".


Then I actually read the post. I will join with the others and say future planning.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

GW actually did have a unit back in 3rd edition (a Daemon Prince, IIRC) who had a BS 0. They had to change that by way of a FAQ when they introduced minor psychic powers, some of which were shooting attacks that the model couldn't use.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Ghaz wrote:
GW actually did have a unit back in 3rd edition (a Daemon Prince, IIRC) who had a BS 0. They had to change that by way of a FAQ when they introduced minor psychic powers, some of which were shooting attacks that the model couldn't use.


They still do. The Broodlord has a BS of 0, and for bonus points is a psyker who can quite easily roll up a few Witchfires he is then unable to fire. And unable to re-roll, because the only way you get a re-roll is if your maximum Warp Charge is insufficient to cast the power.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except as I stated, they changed the Daemon Prince to a BS of 1 (IIRC) instead of simply saying he couldn't use those powers.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Yeah, and as I stated they still have a BS0 unit. So "GW actually did have a unit .... who had a BS 0." is slightly misleading because they it's not that they Had a unit, they Have a unit, right now. While they changed the Daemon Prince, they've done nothing of the sort for the Broodlord.
   
Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List




Since we're getting off RAW a bit, my instant thought was the potential of rules effecting/not being able to effect units of a certain size in the future (something like upcoming codex specific psychic powers...) .

But this does seem like typical GW rules writing that confuses more people than it helps
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Super heavy vehicles can transport anything, including other vehicles.
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

bone idol wrote:
been lurking a while, now I have a question.
I've been reading the Chaos Spawn entry in my brand new Chaos Space Marine codex and thought about transporting them in a daemonically possessed Land Raider coz that sounded fun and fluffy. They've got the very bulky rule so that means they take up 3 slots each, so I can fit a unit of three in my daemon machine. Then disaster, they're beasts... so they can't be carried by transports (BRB 78). Then I thought they must have the very bulky rule for buildings... but buildings use the same rules as vehicles for transport (BRB 93).
So for what reason are they described as very bulky?
Is this an oversight and can I really carry them in a Land Raider? (please, please, please)


I would let you put them in a land raider, possessed or not(hope it doesnt eat your spawn)


It is there so that they can add rules around it later.
as some people have suggested they could add buildings later that allow beasts but only allow a certain number of models.
They could also make/tweek rules like JotWW/Portal of Exile to effect Bulky and Very Bulky models differently


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Super heavy vehicles can transport anything, including other vehicles.


last I checked they could not transport a Fortress of Redemption

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/08 17:39:10


Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Chrysis wrote:
Yeah, and as I stated they still have a BS0 unit. So "GW actually did have a unit .... who had a BS 0." is slightly misleading because they it's not that they Had a unit, they Have a unit, right now. While they changed the Daemon Prince, they've done nothing of the sort for the Broodlord.


Or for Old Zogwort who has two psychic shooting powers. Poor guy.

DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: