Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:01:18
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
What about when you want to move at the start of the next turn? You aren't told to check. So you're saying it IS a persistent state - you checked last turn at the one point it is explicitly mentioned, and the unit was locked. They are only no longer locked as soon as you check against the definition of "locked" and it is no longer true. Technically you wouldn't even be able to make a consolidation move after combat without checking to see if the unit is still locked. Just face it, there are numerous points where you check to see if a unit is locked besides the start of the Fight Sub-phase.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/19 20:03:05
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:04:24
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
CalgarsPimpHand wrote:What about when you want to move at the start of the next turn? You aren't told to check.
Really? Let's check page 10...
Units already locked in close combat with the enemy cannot move during the Movement phase.
Oh - nope, that statement is wrong.
So you're saying it IS a persistent state - you checked last turn at the one point it is explicitly mentioned, and the unit was locked. Technically you wouldn't even be able to make a consolidation move after combat without checking to see if the unit is still locked. Just face it, there are numerous points where you check to see if a unit is locked besides the start of the Fight Sub-phase.
Yes - and you're told every time. That doesn't mean it's persistent. It means you're told to check and those times you're told to check are the only ones that matter.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:13:36
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
And on page 21, you're told to check before firing Overwatch. How is that any different?
"It's worth pointing out that units that are locked in close combat cannot fire Overwatch"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/19 20:13:58
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:18:40
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
CalgarsPimpHand wrote:And on page 21, you're told to check before firing Overwatch. How is that any different?
"It's worth pointing out that units that are locked in close combat cannot fire Overwatch"
It's not? I never said it is...
Were we violently agreeing?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:22:06
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Probably! I was going for argumentum ad absurdum. A unit that has just been charged is locked and can't Overwatch at a second charging unit instead. You have to check anytime it's relevant, not just the start of the Fight Sub-Phase, otherwise the whole game breaks.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/19 20:29:24
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 20:48:57
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A unit is locked in combat when they are in BTB with an enemy model. pg 23
A charge move allows you to move all of the models in the charging unit into BTB with an enemy model. pg 21.
Charges are sequential, not simultaneous as shown by the order on page 20. specifically #5 Declare next charge.
Models locked in combat cannot fire Overwatch. pg 21.
That is RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:23:57
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
This is a silly discussion. Just because the term "locked" is defined during the subphase doesnt mean thats the only time you check it.
Might as well say you cant shoot with bolters because its defined after the shooting phase in the BRB.
RAW- If you are in base to base you are in Combat. End of discussion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 21:48:25
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote:It's not a continuous effect. It's a rule that explains what locked means. You're told when to check - which means that in your example Player B would be fine.
This is 100% incorrect...
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." (23)
This applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 22:00:29
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote:It's not a continuous effect. It's a rule that explains what locked means. You're told when to check - which means that in your example Player B would be fine.
This is 100% incorrect...
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." (23)
This applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy...
No, that's not true. You must (meaning there is no option) have a reference to apply a rule.
During a charge move there is no reference requiring you to apply the rule.
Prior to making a charge move there is.
Prior to making a normal move there is.
Prior to shooting there is.
Prior to overwatch there is.
You've cited literally zero rules to support this "ongoing state" argument other than the sentence you've quoted. The sentence you've quoted does not say it's an ongoing state/continuous effect/whatever you want to call it.
You've shown zero rules support.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 23:18:42
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The rule either applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy, Or it does not apply at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy
Which is it?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 23:37:34
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
DeathReaper wrote:The rule either applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy, Or it does not apply at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy
Which is it?
The rule applies any time a model is in base to base. The definition for when a model is locked gives no mention of when it is applied or checked; it's a blanket definition.
However, the rulebook gives specific times that you should check to see if a model is locked (before Moving, Shooting, Charging, Overwatch). It also explicitly gives permission to do certain things, like move all the models in a unit when Charging, or Falling Back after losing a close combat (edit: it's not so much permission as instruction, you are REQUIRED to do those things). Those would both be cases of moving models in units that are technically locked in combat - the rulebook specifically tells you to do this. This really should not be contentious, but GW couldn't write watertight rules to save their lives.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/19 23:38:26
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/19 23:45:12
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
So if it applies "any time a model is in base to base"
It applied as soon as the initial charger gets into base contact...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:00:29
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
DeathReaper wrote:So if it applies "any time a model is in base to base"
It applied as soon as the initial charger gets into base contact...
But as the unit moves as a whole. You would move your entire unit it's charge move as pg 21 tells you to, then be considered locked in combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:08:03
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
sirlynchmob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:So if it applies "any time a model is in base to base"
It applied as soon as the initial charger gets into base contact...
But as the unit moves as a whole. You would move your entire unit it's charge move as pg 21 tells you to, then be considered locked in combat.
Except then you would have models making non pile in or fallback moves whilst the unit is locked in combat.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:20:55
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Happyjew wrote:sirlynchmob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:So if it applies "any time a model is in base to base"
It applied as soon as the initial charger gets into base contact...
But as the unit moves as a whole. You would move your entire unit it's charge move as pg 21 tells you to, then be considered locked in combat.
Except then you would have models making non pile in or fallback moves whilst the unit is locked in combat.
Which is fine, since the rulebook very, very clearly tells you to do just that. It even gives really detailed instructions on how to do it. This is what's called an "exception to the rule."
|
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:23:51
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
CalgarsPimpHand wrote: Happyjew wrote:sirlynchmob wrote: DeathReaper wrote:So if it applies "any time a model is in base to base"
It applied as soon as the initial charger gets into base contact...
But as the unit moves as a whole. You would move your entire unit it's charge move as pg 21 tells you to, then be considered locked in combat.
Except then you would have models making non pile in or fallback moves whilst the unit is locked in combat.
Which is fine, since the rulebook very, very clearly tells you to do just that. It even gives really detailed instructions on how to do it. This is what's called an "exception to the rule."
And when you have a restriction, you must have specific permission to override said restriction (which charging does not have).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:29:08
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You have no permission to interrupt the charge move to check for locked.
Charge move is specific permission to move "ALL" of you models into BTB.
Getting more specific, move (movement phase) or shoot (shooting phase) is not equal to "charge move", which is a narrowly defined action.
Finally, your entire argument has zero RAW basis.. The entirety of it is "RAW charge moves dont work so I can fire Overwatch."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:35:57
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Happyjew wrote:And when you have a restriction, you must have specific permission to override said restriction (which charging does not have).
Locked in CC says they cannot move.
Charge Move says you must move them into base contact.
Conclusion: GW rule-writers do not have a Master of Laws academic degree.
Let's do the logical thing and allow the player to finish his charge move, okay?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 00:38:10
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:The rule either applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy, Or it does not apply at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy
Which is it?
It does not apply at all times.
The restriction applies when it is checked for.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 01:24:45
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
So units are not locked when they have one or more models in base contact with an enemy?
The rules disagree.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 01:26:29
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
This thread (just like that last few times it came up) is going nowhere. All relevant arguments have been made. It needs an FAQ (IMO). Can we please just get this locked?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 01:54:38
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:So units are not locked when they have one or more models in base contact with an enemy?
The rules disagree.
That's not what I said. Do not misrepresent my position.
Units are locked when you have permission to check if they are locked.
Cite permission to check during a charge move. You've utterly failed to do so. Instead you've pretended that a definition of "locked" creates a continuous effect that occurs without the rule even being referenced.
How do I know to check for locked status? Why am I checking for locked status without being told to?
Boil it down:
For a rule to apply you must be told it applies.
You are told, explicitly, what rules apply during a charge move.
None of them (that is, not a single rule) refer to the locked status of a unit.
But please - hang your hat on an unsupported hook and pretend you're right. I'll be over here using the actual rules and understanding how a permissive rule set works.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 03:37:48
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:So units are not locked when they have one or more models in base contact with an enemy? The rules disagree.
That's not what I said. Do not misrepresent my position. Units are locked when you have permission to check if they are locked.
The rules disagree with you. Units are locked when they have a model in base contact with an enemy. (Page 23 tells us this) Got anything else because you have shown no rules that agree with your assertation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/20 03:38:00
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 08:12:13
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Its like Synapse. Its always happening but you don't apply the effects until you need to check for Synapse.
When my units are outside synapse range they are subject to Feed or Lurk. The codex tells me when I am considered in and out of synapse. However, I can be outside synapse and not yet subject to feed or lurk, becuase I am not at a point to check for it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/20 08:15:07
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 08:25:54
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
that is not a correct assertion, do not confuse army specific abbilities with core rules for game play, your army specific only applies during a set phase and over-rides the core books normal movement phase.
with regards to the arguement.
I do not see where you are comming from regeld2.
it is very clear on p23 what constitues the locked status, it isn't conditional, and does not apply only when your asked to check. it is very clear when locked status is applied to you.
it is applied once an enemy completes a charge agasint you and is in base contact with your unit. that unit is considered locked until it is either destroyed or no longer in base contact.
the logic of requiring to check if status' apply is very flawed as by it's deffinition no model is wareing armour unless you have to check to see if they do.
also by the same logic, SR's such as furious charge for example would never come into effect as at no point during the charge step are you asked to check if you have such rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 09:41:45
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:The rule either applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy, Or it does not apply at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy
Which is it?
It does not apply at all times.
The restriction applies when it is checked for.
Yet that isnt what the rule states. The rule states they ARE locked. Not, they ARE locked only when you check to see if this condition is true
You have provided literally no rules to support your assertion that they ARE locked only when checked, despite being asked.
Page and graph, or concede you have made up that requirement. Reminders (which is all you have provided so far) do not count.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 12:20:22
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Wraith
|
It's super simple, guys. The 6th edition ruleset was written AFTER 8th Fantasy.
The 8th edition Fantasy rules allow to stand and shoot any unit that charges them and it's written pretty damned clearly. If GW really wanted overwatch to work the same way, they would have.
It doesn't. You either get to fire at the first unit that charges you or risk no overwatch should they make since each charge move is resolved one at time versus that of Fantasy which is simultaneously.
Also, this:
Fragile wrote:A unit is locked in combat when they are in BTB with an enemy model. pg 23
A charge move allows you to move all of the models in the charging unit into BTB with an enemy model. pg 21.
Charges are sequential, not simultaneous as shown by the order on page 20. specifically #5 Declare next charge.
Models locked in combat cannot fire Overwatch. pg 21.
That is RAW.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/20 12:29:10
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 12:25:10
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:So units are not locked when they have one or more models in base contact with an enemy?
The rules disagree.
That's not what I said. Do not misrepresent my position.
Units are locked when you have permission to check if they are locked.
The rules disagree with you.
Units are locked when they have a model in base contact with an enemy. (Page 23 tells us this)
Got anything else because you have shown no rules that agree with your assertation.
You're applying a rule without it being referenced. That's not how the rules actually work. It can't be.
Page 23 defines locked. It does not say that it's a continuous effect. Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:The rule either applies at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy, Or it does not apply at all times when a unit has a model in base contact with an enemy
Which is it?
It does not apply at all times.
The restriction applies when it is checked for.
Yet that isnt what the rule states. The rule states they ARE locked. Not, they ARE locked only when you check to see if this condition is true
You have provided literally no rules to support your assertion that they ARE locked only when checked, despite being asked.
Page and graph, or concede you have made up that requirement. Reminders (which is all you have provided so far) do not count.
No, I won't concede. You're asking me to quote something that is a basis of a permissive rule set - that you only apply a rule when it's referenced.
How does the Doom of Malantai allocate wounds?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/20 12:27:48
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 12:30:05
Subject: Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Wraith
|
Anywhere he damn well pleases... from my experience.
|
Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/20 12:35:36
Subject: Re:Is this blog post right? have we been doing overwatch wrong?
|
 |
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Regardless of whether the first model to make contact during a charge locks the unit (I actually believe it DOES lock the unit), the rulebook very clearly and explicitly tells you to move the rest of the charging unit, and gives detailed instructions on how you must do this. This would override any generic rule such as the definition of locked. The only reason this is still an argument is because some people are being intentionally obtuse.
|
Battlefleet Gothic ships and markers at my store, GrimDarkBits:
|
|
 |
 |
|